We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... very attentive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Josef Prague

Save Saved
You added Design Hotel Josef Prague to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rybna 20, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 668 hotels in Prague
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great location... very attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband & I stayed 3 nights for my birthday and had a wonderful experience. The room was spacious, brightly decorated, quiet and clean. Our only complaint was the cost vs. the quality & quantity of the buffet breakfast. It was too expensive and everything was cold. I have had Eggs Benedict many, many times and I have never had it served completely cold with only one egg.
Loved the location... short walk to Old Town Square and lots of good restaurants within close proximity to hotel. We will definitely stay here again... just skip the breakfast.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Operations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear luxpoet,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your review on our TripAdvisor page about Hotel Josef. We are delighted that you have chosen us for such a special occasion as celebrating your birthday. It was great to read your kind comments regarding your spacious and quiet room and our prime location.

We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of our breakfast and the dish that you had ordered. We take great pride in our extensive breakfast selection which contains cold and hot food prepared to order and is included for all guests who book directly with us. We are sad to read that in your case we could not meet your expectations. Your comments have been taken on board and passed on to our head chef.

Once more, thank you for providing us with your feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Florentine Rehm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,157
    322
    39
    11
    9
See reviews for
143
727
82
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed in an apartment most of our time in Prague but booked this hotel for the final three days and were very happy! The hotel is in a great location. Just a short walk to Old Town Square. The staff were very helpful and friendly. If you don't want to book an apartment, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear 11Wanderlust11,

We would like to thank you for sharing your nice review with us on our TripAdvisor page! We are glad that you liked Hotel Josef and enjoyed many aspects of your styay with us.
It was delightful to read how much you appreciated the location and that you were also satisfied with the assistance of our staff.
We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I spent 3 days at this hotel with my wife, my in law and 2 children, one is still a baby. we had quite a large room. I love that our room is equipped with Nespresso machine and the Nespresso is re-stocked everyday.

I also liked that the staff is very thoughtful, they provide a baby basinet for our baby...although we end up not using it, its the thought that counts.

The hotel it self is very modern, quite a contrast to the old prague. It is also very clean and neat.

The breakfast was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Ken I,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay at Hotel Josef. We pride ourselves in proving the best service at all times and I am very happy to hear that we have exceeded your expectations regarding so many aspects.
On behalf of the whole Josef team, I would like to thank you for being our guest and I hope to see you very soon for a future stay.

Best regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We got a great deal for a long weekend, incl. breakfast and parking (which is not a bargain in Prague). At arrival, our luggage was unloaded by a staff member who showed me the parking place as well. The employee at the reception desk was also very friendly.

The room (no. 502, street view) was very spacious, but a little bit noisy. However, as the traffic during night time is very limited, it was not a problem to get a proper sleep. The bed was also very cozy. The bathroom offered a nice shower.

Buffet breakfast was really great, offering a wide choice of bread, cheese, eggs, cerials,.... An additional plus - you can make your own fresh fruit juice. The staff was very attentive, asking if we would like to have an omelette, fried eggs,... They have an Nespresso machine to make coffee on your own, or you can simply order one.

The location is realy a big asset of Hotel Josef, as it only takes you some minutes by feet to get to the city center, a metro station is also within a short waling distance (Namesti Republiki, line B).

The only thing that does not allow an "excellent" rating is the fact that our room showed some damages on the furniture and dirty spots on the carpet, something you would not expect in a hotel of that category (

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Christof B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay in Hotel Josef.
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed the friendly attitude of our staff and the breakfast. Our team strives to provide guests with the best possible service at all times and we are glad that we succeeded in these aspects of your stay.
We are also happy that you appreciated the spacious room provided to you as well as the central location of Hotel Josef; however we are sorry to hear that you found damages in the room. Thank you for pointing this out; we are currently working on renovating the hotel rooms by replacing the damaged furniture and carpets.
The whole team at Hotel Josef would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in Prague and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel has a great location. It is very close to old town square, the tram stop to the castle and a short walk to the metro. It is safe and modern, and the service is friendly and efficient. It is also right next to a great restaurant, Lokal. We had a relatively small room, about the size of the W in New York, with no view. We had an excellent breakfast included, but I have stayed in better hotels for the price, about $260 per night. The carpet on the floor in our room was dirty, which is a pet peeve and something that could have been fixed with a shampoo prior to our arrival.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Dadmeister,

We would like to thank you for your review about your recent experience at Hotel Josef. We are really glad that you liked our prime location, the design, the service and breakfast.
We always look to exceed our guests‘ expectations at every detail, therefore we are really sorry that this time we did not manage to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We truly regret that you were not satisfied with the size of your room and we are sorry that you had to experience some inconvenience with the carpet – we are aware that some of them need changing, and we are currently working on this issue by replacing them.
We do hope that you had a great time in Prague and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here just one night - New Year's Eve - but we will certainly be back. We had room 806 which is one of the rooms with a balcony, and it was fabulous.The hotel staff made us feel like we were the most important guests that night. By booking at the hotel website, we could choose one "freebie," so we chose lunch. The menu is limited (3-4 items I think), but the food was delicious (I had a Thai dish that was a lunch special that day). Breakfast was included and was also great.

Room Tip: Our balcony room overlooking the small interior lawn (garden?) was really nice - floor to ceiling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Samuel_Hanson,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us this wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast, welcome meal and your room with a balcony, and thank you also for mentioning how much you appreciated the efforts of our staff to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
I hope to see you again very soon in the future!

Best regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The service supplied by the staff at Hotel Josef is outstanding, up with the best that I have ever experienced. The location is ideal for those that want to be very close to the old town (3 minutes walk) and the secure parking is perfect if you are arriving by car. The breakfast is one of the best I have had at any hotel I have ever stayed in. I stayed during the Christmas break and found the best deal was to book directly on the hotels own website. There are booking options available on the website that I could not find on 3rd party booking sites.

When I arrived by car a staff member noticed us and came immediately to the car park entrance at the front of the hotel. He already knew my full name and booking details without having to consult any documents and directed me to where he knew there was space in the car park. When we arrived in reception he was waiting for us again and the check-in was smooth and trouble free. The room was clean and spacious. This is not a huge hotel so the service is very personal. The breakfast is amazing to say the least and it was free when we booked on the hotels own website. You will want a decent breakfast before you start walking around this amazing old city. Be prepared to walk some miles, there is a lot to see. We booked 2 nights but wished we had booked an extra 2 as well.

Although the hotel is not directly in the old town centre it is only 2 blocks away and takes no more than 3 minutes to walk to the main square. This is better than being in the old town area because you don't have the crowds and the noise all the time but you are still so close that you have the convenience. It is also the closest I could find that has secure parking if you are coming by car.

I struggle to find anything negative about the hotel that is not being unfairly picky to the hotel staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear IanLL,

Thank you for sharing your gorgeous review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor; we are delighted that you chose us in Prague during Christmas.
We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the booking options offered on our website, and appreciated the personal and efficent service our staff provided you with. We are also really happy that you found our location, breakfast and parking to your liking.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 20, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Prague
#16 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#17 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Josef Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.