We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service With Character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Josef Prague

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Design Hotel Josef Prague to your Saves list
Design Hotel Josef Prague
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rybna 693/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
210 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service With Character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

As a family, we have travelled throughout Europe once or twice a year. Josef is amongst the top, the best. Cheerful staff, excellent room, great location, attentive to details, nice breakfast. Value for money. Responsive. We chose Josef because we researched TripAdvisor. We had also previously stayed at other Design Hotels. Czech hospitality is wonderful. Josef is a hotel that has character. Highly recommended to travellers from Asia and all over.

Room Tip: Take 803 as this room faces the Prague skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Edmund K,

I would like to thank you for your review and having chosen our hotel for your stay in Prague.
Your feedback is a great motivation for us. We always strive for excellence in our service, therefore I am pleased to know that you and your family had a great time here and were satisfied with many aspects of your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Kind regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    400
    51
    13
    10
See reviews for
212
927
99
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Fantastic hotel. The design is striking and functional. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The location is also great - about five minutes to the Old Town. Very good restaurants within close vicinity. The staff was very helpful and spoke great English. You feel pampered in the hotel. Would definitely come back again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Bettercallpaul,

Thank you so much for your positive review that you wrote about your stay at Hotel Josef.
We are really happy that you liked our hotel and found our staff helpful. We are also pleased to know that you were satisfied with our recommendations for restaurants.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel - modern, well located, good food, excellent service. They upgraded us to a larger room and it was fabulous. It's a very well designed hotel with many thoughtful features in the room. The old town square, the Charles Bridge and the Wenceslas square are all walkable from here. The concierge did a great job of booking us on the walking tours. Overall a very satisfying experience and we shall definitely come back here should we visit Prague again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Freelander270,

First of all, please allow me to thank you for having chosen Hotel Josef in Prague and also for sharing your great review with us on TripAdvisor.
I was pleased to hear that you were satisfied with features of our property such as the breakfast, design and location.
It is at the core of our service to contribute to a great experience here; therefore I am especially grateful to know that you appreciated the service provided by our staff and the complimentary room upgrade.
I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Best regards,
Manfred Tobolka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the Josef, after researching TripAdvisor. It is very well located, with beautiful amenities, service and food (get breakfast included). It provides a great overall experience, as you get great value for your money. Rooms are spacious, clean and modern. The service from the time of reservation and during our stay was very good. As many people have said before, the location is close to all attractions without the noise and the traffic.

We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Tony_Francesco,

We were pleased to read your kind review on our TripAdvisor page, thank you for sharing it with us!
It was great hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Josef and we look forward to seeing you whenever you visit Prague again.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A thoroughly "designed" space with a nice room and a great bathroom. Lobby is very modern and overall the property is very clean. Location was perfect for a quick walk to Old town square with lots of good restaurants nearby. Parking was available and, while not cheap, felt reasonable considering the location.

Another plus was the WiFi. Some hotels require you to enter an access code, and on an iPhone you may end up having to enter this code over and over again. No codes at Hotel Josef.

If I were to return to Prague I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear kpedad,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your review on our TripAdvisor page.
We were happy to read that you had a great experience here and liked so many aspects of your stay.
We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel shows how customer service should be done. I booked directly on their own website and requested a higher floor room with a shower (not bath) asked for a view towards the old town square. We got exactly what we asked for. Also, we received a welcome cocktail from the bar. The breakfast was one of the best we've had. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The room was spotless, likewise the bathroom and shower. We were in the block above the main entrance but there was no issue with road noise nor noise from the lifts or other rooms. If we return to Prague then I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear 07Neil,

Thank you very much for your gorgeous review on our TripAdvisor page!
It makes us proud to know that we managed to contribute to a pleasant stay at Hotel Josef and a great time in Prague. We also appreciate your kind comments regarding all the small details you found to your liking.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Perfect hotel
Made our romantic getaway
Perfect location, great staff, breakfast lovely, stylish rooms
Gave us a ipod doc on request with no issue
Staff can't do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble,even unannounced free popcorn with our movie we rented one night. Book them!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Hineybaby,

We were so happy to see your positive feedback on our TripAdvisor page! Thank you for posting it, as well as for having chosen us in Prague.
It was great to hear how much you appreciated our service and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. It is also nice to know that you liked the popcorn that came with the movie.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#21 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#34 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#22 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#19 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#29 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#30 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#33 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Josef Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.