We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Prague” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Josef Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Design Hotel Josef Prague to your Saves list
Design Hotel Josef Prague
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rybna 693/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great stay in Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the Josef, after researching TripAdvisor. It is very well located, with beautiful amenities, service and food (get breakfast included). It provides a great overall experience, as you get great value for your money. Rooms are spacious, clean and modern. The service from the time of reservation and during our stay was very good. As many people have said before, the location is close to all attractions without the noise and the traffic.

We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Tony_Francesco,

We were pleased to read your kind review on our TripAdvisor page, thank you for sharing it with us!
It was great hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Josef and we look forward to seeing you whenever you visit Prague again.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    367
    43
    13
    8
See reviews for
199
875
94
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A thoroughly "designed" space with a nice room and a great bathroom. Lobby is very modern and overall the property is very clean. Location was perfect for a quick walk to Old town square with lots of good restaurants nearby. Parking was available and, while not cheap, felt reasonable considering the location.

Another plus was the WiFi. Some hotels require you to enter an access code, and on an iPhone you may end up having to enter this code over and over again. No codes at Hotel Josef.

If I were to return to Prague I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear kpedad,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your review on our TripAdvisor page.
We were happy to read that you had a great experience here and liked so many aspects of your stay.
We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel shows how customer service should be done. I booked directly on their own website and requested a higher floor room with a shower (not bath) asked for a view towards the old town square. We got exactly what we asked for. Also, we received a welcome cocktail from the bar. The breakfast was one of the best we've had. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The room was spotless, likewise the bathroom and shower. We were in the block above the main entrance but there was no issue with road noise nor noise from the lifts or other rooms. If we return to Prague then I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear 07Neil,

Thank you very much for your gorgeous review on our TripAdvisor page!
It makes us proud to know that we managed to contribute to a pleasant stay at Hotel Josef and a great time in Prague. We also appreciate your kind comments regarding all the small details you found to your liking.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Perfect hotel
Made our romantic getaway
Perfect location, great staff, breakfast lovely, stylish rooms
Gave us a ipod doc on request with no issue
Staff can't do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble,even unannounced free popcorn with our movie we rented one night. Book them!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Hineybaby,

We were so happy to see your positive feedback on our TripAdvisor page! Thank you for posting it, as well as for having chosen us in Prague.
It was great to hear how much you appreciated our service and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. It is also nice to know that you liked the popcorn that came with the movie.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is located in a short walking distance from the old city , Jewish museum and the castle .
The hotel is very modern with lots of glass walls and mirrors . Rooms in the floors 7-8 in the pink house are the best rooms and room 801 is the best room with a balcony ( big ) viewing the monuments of the old city. Breakfast is very good and the service is general is good and helpful . Highly recommend .

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Davel123,

Thank you so much for your positive review that you posted on our TripAdvisor page; we are glad to know that you had a great stay at Hotel Josef.
Should you visit Prague again, we would be happy to see you again.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay at Hotel Josef. It is SUCH an amazing deal -- wayyy overdelivered for the value. I was impressed with them during every touchpoint and interaction, from the friendly front desk to the great variety in rooms (my married friends got a great large deluxe room, and I had a value single room).

The single room was a great find and I really appreciated the unique proportion of the size of the room area vs. bathroom. The bathroom was relatively large and comfortable, and the single bed + desk and living space was exactly what I needed. Typical single rooms have tiny bathrooms so this was a great surprise.

We ended up spending much more time in our hotel than expected because of the wonderful "extras." The breakfast is not to be missed!!! Loved the espresso and egg options made to-order. Also, the bar is fantastic and we actually got to know the bartender pretty well.

Overall the hotel is of course modern and well thought-through from a design standpoint, but it was also like they were "in my head" and knew exactly where to invest with extra little touches (e.g. an electricity converter in the room -- just little things) that really made a huge difference.

I will stay here for sure the next time I get to visit Prague, and would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out, so if you want to be close together make sure to request that
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear montanaphx,

We would like to thank you for your very nice and detailed feedback about Hotel Josef.
It was delightful to read how much you appreciated so many aspects of your stay and we are proud to know that we managed to contribute to a great time in Prague.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Arrived early morning after quick cab ride from train station, a room was ready for us despite the early hour. There was a bit of a mix up with the room, and the only reason for four stars was that I felt the front desk clerk was not the friendliest, put me off a bit at first. However, the rest of the stay was pleasant. Enjoyed the modern room, quite large. We stayed on the other side of the river our first time in Prague and wanted a bit of a different location, quite nice, easy to walk to sites, close to shopping. Staff recommended a great restaurant for dinner, and packed a breakfast to go on the way to the airport in the morning. Would stay again, and recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Tamra W,

First of all, please allow us to thank you for your kind review as well as for having chosen us in Prague.
We were really happy to read your comments and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Josef.
We were sorry to find out about your bad experience upon your arrival; thank you for your feedback, we already informed the department concerned.
We truly hope to have the chance to see you again for a future stay!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Prague
#16 Family Hotel in Prague
#22 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#23 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Josef Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.