We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, strong WiFi, iPod docking in room (upon request)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Josef Prague

Best prices from these 5 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Design Hotel Josef Prague to your Saves list
Design Hotel Josef Prague
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rybna 20, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 666 Hotels in Prague
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“good location, strong WiFi, iPod docking in room (upon request)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Pros:
- good location (3 minutes walk from metro)
- strong WiFi signal (in all areas, including the room)
- Bose iPod docking station in the room (upon request)
- at breakfast you have products and equpiment to make your own smoothie, shake (e.g. banana, watermelon, etc.), or juice (e.g. carrot, cuecumber, etc.)
- some fitness equipment can be borrowed in room (upon request)
- small gym, small sauna

Cons:
- no bath tub in the room (but there is a good shower)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear elodTlv,

thank you very much for your nice comment on Tripadvisor! We were all very happy to read that there were many points you enjoyed about your stay.

Hotel Josef has rooms with walk in showers and with bath tubs. We have these different rooms to try to make sure everyone gets a bathroom according to their preference. In order to arrange this, it's best to book directly with our reservations team or speak to the staff at reception.

All the best from Prague

Florentine Rehm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    325
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
167
775
84
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Well another day another hotel and trip on my mini-EU tour. So to give you a bit of insight into the title of this review - I booked 3 nights in Praha and as soon as I arrived to Hotel Josef (not late in the evening in fact it was 11 am during the day time) I was told initially that the was a heating problem and that they would need to shift me to a sister property that was literally a 3 min walk away. Okay....I was like now I know that is a lie - you oversold the hotel and therefore are shifting me. I did not read this piece previously on another reviewers feedback but that is in fact what they do....

So off I went with the nice concierge guy, Mohammed, to Maximillian. From the outside and lobby Maximillian looks just fine. However, all comparisons to Hotel Josef stop right there (I am going to review the Maximillian in another post). Suffice it to say - stay far away from the Maximillian!!

In fact, I first thought of not moving back to the Josef but since I need to work out everyday I made it a point to ask if there was a gym at the Maximilian-thankfully they said well you can Go to our sister property....um not in -10 degree weather am I sweating up a storm than coming back in frigid weather to get sick. Ultimately,, this was a blessing in disguise!

Back to the Josef, when I arrived back the next day approximately 9:30 am was told that a room was not ready and I would have to wait approximately 1 hour. Okay fine, I will do some browsing And reading / work. Again, the super nice Mohammed came by to ask if I wanted a free cappuccino or some other beverage. About an hour and half went by and I noticed another guest who came in after me was specifically approached and given his key - not me! Wait a minute here! I had to go back up and ask and the same girl was like oh yes here you go. This was the same lady that I dealt with twice before so do expect a bit of extra care... At this point you must be thinking why am I giving Hotel Josef a very good rating - simply put from this point forward the Hotel Josef sparkles for its modern and immaculate interior, location, value for price and amenities. I say go ahead and book and enjoy- just make sure you don't get shifted to the Maximilian! The only redeemer at the Maximilian is the Planet Zen Spa - amazing massage services!

The breakfast is great and buffet style. When I finally got to my room and came back there was a complimentary bottle of wine and almonds. The rooms are hip and freshly decorated - bright and clean! The work out room is great with free water and vita water and all the normal work out amenities. The business center provides all the essentials with 4 Apple desktops for you to browse and so any Internet work you need. There is complimentary wifi in your room and lobby. They even have a car service for approximately 800CZK (~40 USD, reasonable since it is a 30 minute drive to the city center of Praha). On my trip in it was about 700 CZK so of course you can call the local taxi service but for me reliability and peace of mind is key. I had a very early AM flight at 6 am to Zurich so wanted to have a reliable service and they can add It to your bill versus cash/credit card). All sites are very close from Josef 5-10 minute walk.

I highly recommend the Josef but NOT the Maximilian (for detailed feedback on Max,please my post under reviews for that hotel).

Enjoy Praha - lovely little quaint city!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear JamieN_Global_Sole

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback about your stay at Hotel Josef and Maximilian Hotel. We really appreciate your points and are glad you returned to Josef and enjoyed your stay with us.

It is also great that you liked the room we chose for you. To apologise for the inconvenience, we allocated one of our city view rooms for you and this is why it took a bit longer for the room to be ready.

Thank you for pointing out Mohammed’s service. He was very proud to read his name on Tripadvisor!

All the best from Prague

Florentine Rehm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

First trip to Prague and Hotel Josef proved to be a great place to stay! 5 min walk to Palladium Mall(Czech Republics biggest shopping center), 5 min walk to Old Town Square, police station couple doors down! Extremely accommodating at the front desk-helped us out ALOT. Clean,modern,minimalistic room with comfy beds and duvets. Great price and had good view of the entire street from our room. Definitely recommend it. Only issues we had were the coffee not being restocked in room (which was rectified very quickly),and the parking attendant parked someone elses car BEHIND ours in the underground garage-so we were blocked in and delayed 30 min until they moved the other vehicle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear 1158-dm,

Thank you for your nice comment! We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Josef and that you liked the location and the service we provided.

Thank you also for pointing out the minor issues you had, this feedback is important to us and helps us to improve our service.

Kind regards from Prague

Florentine Rehm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I were there for 10 days after Christmas. We had a nice room facing the old town. The location of Josef is perfect, within walking distance of the main attractions in magnificent Prague.
The only thing I didn´t like about the Josef was the name of a drink they offer in the bar: The name of the drink is INCA, and the base of the drink is TEQUILA. I´m a proud Mexican, and I spend alot of time teaching people that México is more or less 8,000 kms away of Perú. The Aztecs were the last pre-hispanic civilization in México, and the Incas their equivalents in Perú. Also, México is in North America and Perú is in South America, the same continent yes, but with the equator in between, and of course the one and only real TEQUILA is 101% MEXICAN!

Room Tip: If you can choose a room with view of the old town, will be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear ZopiloteMojado,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Josef on Tripadvisor. We really enjoyed having you and your wife staying with us and hope you have many good memories of your time at Josef and in Prague.
After you pointed out the incorrect cocktail name during check out, we changed it and it is now renamed Aztec, as you suggested!

Kind regards

Florentine Rehm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nice and modern hotel with hospitable staff. Breakfast buffet is outstanding and well above average. Have experienced very small rooms so if you like your room to be big, ask!.
Rooms are well utilized and clean and have seperate bathrooms/showers. Easy accessable thruogh multiple elevators. Light and sizable lobby, not very private though as it is facing the street through open windows.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear oclaassen,

thank you for recommending Hotel Josef on Tripadvisor! We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast
We have different room categories and big rooms are available. It's best to speak to our reservations team to make sure you get the room that you are looking for.

Kind regards

Florentine Rehm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed one night for business. Very impressed. Very modern and contemporary. Room was excellent. Very spacious and modern design was really refreshing. Certainly not your run of the mill hotel room. The large glass walled bathroom was amazing. Room service was excellent. Breakfast and lunch were also very good indeed but beware huge portions of food!!
Internet was by wifi - fast, easy to connect and free.
All staff were polite and very efficient indeed. All spoke superb English.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Nscc2,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! We are very happy to hear that we were able to impress you and that you will recommend us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards from Prague

Florentine Rehm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Design Hotel Josef in October 2012 during a 4 night trip to Prague. I chose the hotel based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor, the location, and the price. I'm happy to say that the hotel met all of my expectations and more. The location was ideal for exploring the Jewish quarter and the central square of Prague, both of which were in walking distance. It is also quite close to the Municipal Building which I have to say is a must-see in Prague if you enjoy Art Nouveau architecture. I was also pleasantly surprised by the breakfast that was included in the rate of our stay. We were able to order eggs, cappuccino, and other breakfast items in addition to the buffet. The rooms were modern and quite large and our bathroom had a rain shower which was a nice touch. All in all, a great hotel.
One note - I would agree with some of the other reviewers about using the taxis at the airport instead of using the hotel car. As long as you make sure to take a AAA taxi you should not have any problems with being overcharged and it is definitely less than what the hotel car costs. However, it is convenient to use the hotel car when you might need to travel to another part of Prague when it's cold and dark outside!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear jessieclaire,

thank you very much for your nice feedback about your stay at Josef. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your visit to Prague and Hotel Josef! Thank you also for pointing out our breakfast - it's always included if you book with us and will last you for a long time while you visit Prague's many sightseeing spots!

Best regards from Prague

Florentine Rehm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 20, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#16 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#17 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#23 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Josef Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.