We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague to your Saves list
Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Janackovo Nabrezi 15 | Prague 5, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We came to Prague as a couple and the hotel was perfect. Service is amazing, the rooms are clean, big, well decorated and fully equiped. We ate in our room the first night and it was really nice. The location is great because not too far from the old town and in a calm enough area to enjoy a break from the very busy touristics areas.

Again a special thanks to the the great people working in this hotel that are not only comptent but very nice and friendly. The car service is perfect as well. We'll totally recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear valued traveler from Paris,

thank you very much for spending time and writing your review on Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague here on Tripadvisor.com.

We are very happy to see your satisfaction with overall stay, service, especially with location that several travelers criticized lately, comfy room, car service - great decoration and equipment - and last but not least staff, that made your trip even more enjoyable.

We look forward to possibly welcome you in Prague on your future trips.

Kind regards and all the best to France,

Tibor BIELIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    259
    59
    13
    5
See reviews for
69
533
34
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, lovely views from window, great location - 20min walk to most sites and good restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff - able to print stuff off post postcards and car to airport and back. Only criticism is lack of privacy for bathroom who wants to see and hear me pee? Haha :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear valued traveler, dear Princess P,

thank you very much for writing such a positive review on Tripadvisor.com regarding your visit at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague.

I would like to thank you for kind words first of all on location, room in general with lovely views and last but not least our helpful staff. We appreciate very much your experience and I will personally share your review with our team members.

I am also very sorry that you had not felt enough privacy in our bathrooms.

We look forward to welcome you in Prague if your travel plans ever bring you back to our beautiful capital city.

With kindest regards,

Tibor BIELIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

First visit to Prague. A beautiful city with lots to see and do. Stayed at the Mamaison Riverside. A lovely cosy hotel. It's situated by the river and easy to get to all the tourist attractions. The staff are very friendly. The hotel is immaculate and would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear valued traveler from Bagshot,

thank you very much for spending time and writing your review on Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague. We truly appreciate your contribution.

We are very happy to see your satisfaction with overall stay at the hotel and city as well. Thanks for pointing out the location at the river bank and great staff that is so much focused on personalized service.

I am myself very grateful that since it was your first ever trip to Prague we have been part of your adventure.

We look forward to possibly welcome you in Prague on your future trips.

Kind regards and all the best to the United Kingdom,

Tibor BIELIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our first time to Prague, we used the hotel chauffeur as we didn't know bus/tram system. Also we wanted to get to the hotel safe. Cost was about £25 25min drive. The driver told us where to go and visit he was very friendly.
Hotel was clean and very presentable. We didn't have any change to give to the porter, so make sure you have Czech Koruna! Unless you have money to give away.
We had a room over the river which was nice.
The room was lovely, bathroom was too, but found it hard to climb in and out the bath to get to the shower I thought I was going to slip. They do have anti slip mats at reception if you do need one. Tea and coffee and fruit teas were on the tray. Bed was very comfy which I was hoping for otherwise I cannot sleep. The only problem we had was the air conditioning didn't work it seemed to never cool down. Staff were friendly enough. Breakfast was simple but it was enough choice for our 4 day trip.
We paid our bill at the end, when I booked the hotel they invoiced us in Euros, but when they charged us at the end of our stay it was in Czech koruna we believe that their currency rate was very high.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear valued traveler, dear Angela from Rome,

thank you very much for a beautiful review on Tripadvisor.com regarding your recent visit at Mamaison Riverside Hotel - Prague.

First of all I would like to thank you for your comments on hotel in general, breakfast, room with the riverview and last but not least our comfortable bed - we understand the importance of sleep quality and therefore are very happy to see your positive comments.

We appreciate very much your experience and I will personally share your review with our team members.

We look forward to welcome you back if your travel plans ever bring you back to Prague.

With best regards to Italy,

Tibor BIELIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I really wanted to like this hotel, but we struggled to find it anything other than average. We booked 3 nights with Jetcom, we were looking forward to our visit, as we have visited Prague before and knew it was a wonderful city for a mini break. Sadly the hotel lacked the finer details for us. Firstly the room we were given was frankly dark, small and poky (the smallest hotel room we have ever had). We had no views other than the back of apartment buildings in a central courtyard, there was a nice garden at the bottom, from the 4th floor however the view was bleak and quite unattractive. Tip for other Jetcom travellers upgrade as you will get the most basic of rooms!!. We didn't complain or ask for an upgrade as our stay was to be a short one and we figured we'd spend little time in the room. There are some positives however, the bathroom for all it was small was really well presented and felt fresh, the housekeeping did an excellent job of cleaning the room.
Sadly this hotel lacked any amenities, there was a very small lounge/cocktail bar, which in our opinion was not pleasant, forget sophisticated and elegant cocktails in up market
surroundings, this was more like someones lounge. The bar stools were very uncomfortable, there were no bar snacks, no music and generally no atmosphere what so ever. We sat and waited for drinks one night, no bar staff around so we went elsewhere.

On our first morning we decided to try the hotel breakfast, (why did we bother?) it was dreadful. This may have been an off morning for the staff, but at 30 euros for the 2 of us, we had hot drinks and a slice of toast, plus a croissant. There was a food warming container for the bacon, eggs, sausages, now either someone had not switched on or the hotel staff think perfectly acceptable to serve stone cold food. The bacon, eggs etc, were not just warm, they were freezing, quite unbelievable actually, why were they in a food warmer. Anyway we did not complain I guess we are too polite and don't like a fuss, also the orange just was rank and we could not drink it. This was the worst food in our 3 days in Prague, needless to say we ate out and glad we did as we had some wonderful food elsewhere.

We also noticed there seemed to be no public areas other than the small lounge, forget impressive lobbies and inviting sitting areas, this hotel had no other communal areas.

The staff generally were pleasant, a few miserable faces, but still quite helpful, housekeeping were very good.

This hotel is located a good 20mins form Charles bridge, for us it was that little bit too far from the attractions, that said we did find some excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. We would not stay at this hotel again, it would be ok for some people who don't mind the extra walking involved and are not bothered by extra hotel facilities, however I would say it is vital to ask for a room with a view of the river, why call it the Riverside and then put quests in rooms with no view.

I do recommend Prague however as a fantastic city to visit, so much to see and do and it really is very attractive, with lovely architecture both old and new and wonderful historic buildings to explore.

Room Tip: Must have a room with a view of the river!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear valued guests from Newcastle,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to comment mostly on your three points, room, location and breakfast. But first - I will start with the hotel in general.

Mamaison Hotel Riverside is a upscale boutique hotel built in Art Nouveau style designed by well known French designer and architect Mrs. Pascale de Montremy together with London based architect studio Jestico & Whiles. All details, including small cozy bar and no huge open space common areas are build like this on purpose. We do not want to be impersonal huge hotel without soul, that is why we invested in design that will create cosines and intimacy. I am sorry you were not able to absorb some from that shared english / french feeling and ambience that makes Hotel Riverside unique.

You have booked and been given Superior room /no. 401/ – as per your reservation made by Jetkom /Hotelbeds/ clearly described as a room with a courtyard view. There was a chance for an upgrade to Deluxe with a view which would also then include discounted breakfast for 10 EUR a person instead on 15 EUR which you did not take advantage of. To your question why do we call ourselves Riverside – yes, we are Hotel Riverside as we are one of few hotels located directly at the river bank, but we are not Hotel Riverview, building has of course different wings and faces north, east and south so despite the fact that the river flows in front of the hotel, it is impossible to have the riverview from all the rooms. I am really sorry – but I cannot imagine a building set at the riverbank to have the riverview from all sides.

As for location – unfortunately, this is something that will never change. Presumably, 99% of guests check first where exactly is the hotel located before they book. By booking the stay you are actually acknowledging the fact that you are familiar with room, terms, conditions, services, amenities and location where you are going to spend your short break, vacation or business trip.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the complaint on the breakfast buffet issue, and spoken with the employee in question. By reading all other great reviews from fellow travelers you have probably witnessed very unusual situation. But we will use your feedback as an example for training and making sure these comments would not repeat again. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our services with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed and satisfied.

Last but not least – let me just share final thought – all these issues above would have been completely out of the question if you would talk to any of our staff members. By being polite and not to share your opinion or concern only leaves bad aftertaste of your trip – we together could have made it one to remember – I am sorry that we did not have the chance to discuss those together as at the moment I am not able to fix your disappointment anymore.

If you come back to our hotel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best

Kind regards to the UK,

Tibor BIELIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Excellent location overlooking the river,just far enough from the old town not to be affected by price hikes. Room very comfortable, quiet & really clean; staff helpful & friendly, breakfast fresh & generous although the breakfast room a little small in busy periods (but that was the only criticism, which I suppose is a little nit-picky) Close to tram & metro (10 mins) otherwise 20 minute walk to 'Old Town'. Wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend to anyone

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear valued traveler, dear Charlie,

thank you very much for writing such a positive review on Tripadvisor.com regarding your visit at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague.

I would like to thank you for kind words first of all on cleanliness of the hotel and the room but also on location and last but not least staff. We appreciate very much your experience and I will personally share your review with our team members.

We look forward to welcome you in Prague if your travel plans ever bring you back to our beautiful capital city.

With kindest regards to the UK,

Tibor BIELIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I found Mamaison Riverside hotel during and internet search and chose it essentially due to my fellow trip-advisor reviews. Riverside is really well located about a comfortable 20 minute riverside walk to the old city. Breakfasts are fresh, tasty and generous (although can be crowded in the small room when organised tours are staying...beware). The rooms are large,clean and quiet.
I don think anyone would be disappointed staying here.

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear valued traveler from Newcastle,

thank you very much for spending time and writing your review on Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague here on Tripadvisor.com. We truly appreciate it.

We are very happy to see your satisfaction with overall stay, breakfast, especially with location and comfy room.

Thank you for your trust - we will do our best not to disappoint any guest"

We look forward to possibly welcome you in Prague on your future trips.

Kind regards and all the best to the Australia,

Tibor BIELIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague

Address: Janackovo Nabrezi 15 | Prague 5, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Prague
#78 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#82 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#100 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located and boasting award-winning Art Nouveau-style design, the upscale Mamaison Boutique Hotel Riverside Prague provides ideal accommodation for both leisure and business travellers in the trendy Smichov district of Prague. Charming and sophisticated, Mamaison Hotel Riverside Prague enjoys close connections to the city’s business districts, the airport and its main cultural attractions. With elegant accommodation, views and top facilities, the hotel offers fantastic rates for city stays in stylish and historic surroundings, making it one of the most charming boutique hotels in Prague and number one for your Prague hotel reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Riverside Prague
Prague Mamaison Riverside Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.