We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of the river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague

Save Saved
You added Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Janackovo Nabrezi 15 | Prague 5, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 668 hotels in Prague
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great place as a home base for your trip to Prague. We stayed here when we were getting married, the hotel staff upgraded our room and made it a very relaxing and stress-free stay. had gorgeous views of the river. And it's easy to walk to almost any parts of the city, although we took the trolley for which the hotel had easy access. We will definitely look at staying here again when we come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    583
    242
    55
    13
    4
See reviews for
63
468
34
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Esher
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We arrived at 10.30am prepared to leave our bags, but as I'd emailed the hotel prior to travelling they took on board our early arrival time and we were fortunate that our room was ready ! We stayed in a Deluxe Riverview room on the second floor. It was very comfortable ---- the best bed we've slept in for some time ( 2x3' beds together.) The room was large, clean, well furnished, with a modern bathroom ( although this was not very brightly lit ). Good tea- and coffee-making facilities with a lovely range of teabags to choose from. I shall now have trouble sourcing Red Orange in England ! We managed to follow part of the French Open Tennis on Eurosport on the large flat-screen television when we rested following a hard day's sightseeing.
Re: Sightseeing Allow 20-30 minutes walk on cobbled paths, some quite steep slopes, unless you are brave/confident enough to use the tram or metro ! I followed advice of other travellers and wore trainers. Would also recommend a river trip ------ we took an evening river trip with guide and buffet dinner, including pick-up and return to the hotel. The Reception staff were very helpful and booked this for us. They can arrange airport transport but we had booked this via the internet with pragueairporttransfers : 530 Ck. Would thoroughly recommend a trip to Prague for many age groups/interests, but a word of advice : you need to be fit for walking !!
Buffet breakfast at the hotel was varied and plentiful and thoughtfully served until 11am daily.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is very well placed, five minutes walk from the closest tram stop, ten minutes from the closest metro and with views across the river. The hotel offers a good range of food though room service is limited by time, it stops at 01:30. The decor is very nice and definitely has that European style about it. The rooms are well appointed, the bathrooms clean, modern and spacious. My only gripe about the place was no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. There is that time at the end of a long day's sightseeing when you just want your room and a cup of tea on hand, no such luck here I'm afraid. The staff are unswervingly efficient and polite, true professionals. A very nice long weekend's stay was had.

Room Tip: All rooms have 'double - double' glazing so the traffic outside can't be heard. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Prague was full of tourists, more than i could have imagined. around the bridge area there were hundreds of tourists shops. the people were extrememly friendly though and could not do enough to help. food very meat orientated, even pouring meat gravey over salmon!!!!

Room Tip: the hotel was fantastic, expensive but we were upgraded for free to a suite. fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a week over New Years (10/11). Prague wasn't as busy with stag do's etc. and I've previously experienced and was by far better for it!

New Year was spent on Charles bridge for the fireworks display with a bottle of champagne. All the boats on the river pulled in and it was a great atmosphere. Prague is beautiful with snow.

The hotel was great, staff were very helpful and even provided a New Years gift in the room (a small ornament)! Great location directly on the river and a short walk to Charles Bridge.

I would recommend anyone going seeks out the Globe Cafe and book shop; Papa Giovanni italian restaurant; and the Christmas Market if you're there at that time of year.

Will definitely return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Mamaison Riverside Hotel (MRH) turned out to be my "mystery" 4.5-star hotel on Expedia, and I was looking forward to my stay after reading the mostly positive TA reviews -- and glad that I'd gotten a good price ($390 for 3 nights, including taxes and fees).

Overall, I had a good stay at MRH, starting with my e-mail to the hotel early last week requesting a hotel-car pickup from the airport. The reply was prompt, and the quoted fare (780 kr) wasn't that much more than what I'd read a taxi would cost. My driver was waiting for me at Prague Airport arrival, and the car was a nearly new and very comfortable Mercedes sedan. The drive into Prague took about 30 minutes, and the driver, who spoke very good English, provided interesting and useful information about the city.

MRH was indeed just opposite the river, at the western end of one of Prague's main bridges, and about a 20- to 25-minute walk to the eastern end of Charles Bridge. The hotel itself is housed in lovely older building (as one sees in much of Prague), with an appealing modern interior decor that nonetheless echoes some of the hotel's original design features: lots of reds, golds, and crystalline lighting fixtures. The receptionist gave a key for a room (702) on the top floor; as I'd anticipated, it wasn't a river-view room, but I didn't expect one given the Expedia/Hotwire price.

The room was quite large, with two twin beds, a newish LCD TV, and plenty of room for storage, work, etc. The decor was all modern and nicely done: again, various reds and several wood tones, including wooden flooring. The bathroom was also large and well equipped, with slate floors and walls, and a large tub and separate shower (sharing a swinging, snugly seated door with the toilet area).

The room only had two small windows -- skylights, actually -- which opened and closed via electric up-and-down switches. Effective pull-down blackout shades kept out light in the morning. While the skylights were too small and high to afford any real view, I could glimpse a bit of the river and skyline if I stood on a chair: in any event, not important, and a river-view room (which wasn't available at any rate; MRH was fully booked for my stay) would have cost much more.

The room featured a minibar (which I didn't use) and basic (instant-) coffee and tea service (which I did). Housekeeping didn't replace the coffee, creamer, or sugar after the first day; I had to call reception both subsequent days for refills. Again, not a major problem, but indicative of the (not very good) service I'd encounter throughout Prague during my stay. Housekeeping also had an odd sense of what and what not to replenish: after the first day, they provided a complete new set of bath amenities (shampoo, conditioner, body gel, hand lotion) but no new soap. (And the provided soap bar was tiny -- nonetheless, I made do with it and the plentiful toiletries.) Also, housekeeping decided I didn't need a bathmat after my second day.

I didn't eat at the hotel -- breakfast would have cost 15 euros -- as Prague is filled with good cafes, bakeries, and restaurants; and I was full each morning from my two cups of instant coffee.:D

I tried the receptionist twice for restaurant reservations: Kampa Park (see my separate view), for which I got a Sunday-night reservation; and the terrace restaurant at the popular U Prince Hotel on the Old Town Square (which I didn't get; fully booked). I found the receptionists to be polite if not overly helpful.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay at MRH, and I'd probably return, especially with a good Expedia/Hotwire rate. Based on my experience, though, I'd say it's a 4-star hotel; I didn't see what merited the extra half-star.

Room Tip: Ask for a river-view room; otherwise, 7th-floor (top-floor) rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

It was our first time staying in Prague and picked this hotel because of its good reviews on this site. It did not disappoint! This hotel is perfectly placed as its a lovely stroll down the river to get to everything Prague has to offer but is not in the hustle and bustle like a lot of hotels we looked at.

The welcome was warm and friendly, being able to leave our bags before and after check in/out was fantastic, the staff were lovely and really helpful with anything you could possibly want!

I will be recommending this hotel to all my friends and family when I force them to visit this beautiful city. We saw a lot of hotels which we'd checked out on trip advisor but none of them were a patch on what we got here at mamaison! You will not be disappointed! Its a little further out but is truly worth it for a special experience!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. I would suggest trying to get on floor three as there is potential for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague

Address: Janackovo Nabrezi 15 | Prague 5, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Prague
#58 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#63 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#65 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located and boasting award-winning Art Nouveau-style design, the upscale Mamaison Boutique Hotel Riverside Prague provides ideal accommodation for both leisure and business travellers in the trendy Smichov district of Prague. Charming and sophisticated, Mamaison Hotel Riverside Prague enjoys close connections to the city’s business districts, the airport and its main cultural attractions. With elegant accommodation, views and top facilities, the hotel offers fantastic rates for city stays in stylish and historic surroundings, making it one of the most charming boutique hotels in Prague and number one for your Prague hotel reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Riverside Prague
Prague Mamaison Riverside Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.