We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic / Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Unitas Hotel to your Saves list
Unitas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bartolomejska 308/9 | Old Town of Prague, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Free Airport Pick Up
Ranked #8 of 661 Hotels in Prague
midwest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantasic / Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great location in the heart of Old Town, although still quiet as its on a side street. We had a 2 room suite for 4 people; would have slept 5 people very comfortably as the rooms are quite large. Breakfast is very good. Front desk staff are very helpful in arranging reservations at restaurants around town and getting transportation to the airport. Wifi stopped working for the last 2 days, so had to use Lobby wifi which was a bit choppy, but we made do. Overall would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    117
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
120
618
43
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is very nice and has a central location in the old part of town. The surroundings are quiet and without noisy traffic. The room was quite large, however, the decoration was rather plain. The reception staff is attentive and friendly, helping you with anything you may need. The breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful find for us. Not being familiar with Prague at all, we were unsure where to stay. This place has outstanding service, is clean, elegant and updated (despite the age of the building), and has a very interesting history behind it. We couldn't have been more pleased!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a really great Hotel and I would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay near Prague City Centre. The welcome was first class - we arrived early but they were happy to store our luggage whilst we explored the City. On our return to the hotel later in the day we were offered some bubbly as a welcome drink and our suitcases had already been delivered to our room. The room was large clean and warm and nicely furnished. Bathrooms were huge and well appointed. As everyone has said the tea and coffee making facilities are at tea/coffee corners on each floor but this wasn't a problem. Breakfast is fantastic with loads of options from cereals, meats, pastries, etc.
We went to Prague mainly for the Xmas markets which were a bit disappointing compared to German Xmas markets. The stalls all seemed to sell items such as lighters, fridge magnets and other tourist items. Very few had traditional Xmas decorations so I wouldnt recommend going to Prague if you are just wanting the Xmas market experience. However overall its a great city and the Unitas Hotel was marvellous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We've just returned from three nights in the Unitas and were exceptionally pleased with it. The booking was easy and the hotel arranged for a pick-up at the airport. The hotel itself is a really interesting building and manages that balance of being a modern style within an old building, without becoming cold or austere. We were offered a welcome drink on arrival and the room was perfect.

Breakfasts are a nice buffet with plenty of choice and given it is a tourist hotel, breakfast is available through to 11am which can mean a nice lie-in when not at work! Too many hotels seem to stop breakfast early.

The hotel is only a very a short walk from the main square and the old town so it's no trouble at all to head out for a bit, back to the hotel and out again so you don't feel as though you are leaving in the morning and have to stay out until bedtime as it's too much trouble to walk back to the hotel again. Probably only five minutes walk from the Old Town square and same again from Wenceleslas square.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back here and strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Unitas is one of the best run hotels we've ever stayed at. It has understated elegance, and is spotlessly clean. Everything is geared to customer comfort from the outstanding hot and cold breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi, to the tea service on each floor. At the front counter Petra took the role of our concierge, looking after all of our needs and requests. All of the staff provided professional, friendly service.

Look no further. Unitas is a great hotel in a quiet neighborhood close to everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

From the minute we booked this hotel (on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews!) I felt confident that we had made a good choice.

Having contacted the hotel prior to our arrival to arrange airport transfers, I was impressed by the service they offered. i would thoroughly recommend the taxi transfer as it was lovely to arrive and be met and taken straight to the hotel. We arrived quite late and checked in to our large, comfortable room. Just enough time to pop out for a quick glass of wine before bed!

Breakfast was ample and delicious, the hotel is stylish and spotlessly clean. Despite being extremely central it is surprisingly quiet, we were given a room at the front of the building and slept very well on a Friday night. An issue with a vent in our bathroom meant that we had to change rooms on day two of our stay, but this was handled exceptionally well and at no point did we feel 'put out'. The second room was HUGE, and because it faced into the courtyard was very quiet. Overall I cannot fault the hotel on accommodation in any way.

We took the hotel's recommendations for dinner on night two, and were treated to an amazing meal at a family restaurant literally round the corner. We tried to visit the second recommended place on night three but despite being a rainy Sunday evening, they were fully booked! Clearly a popular choice. Everything the hotel recommended that we did we thoroughly enjoyed and felt we received great value for money.

As for Unitas Hotel itself, we felt very fortunate to have been able to stay at such an exceptional hotel and should we return to Prague would not hesitate to stay again. The reviews definitely lived up to expectations.

Room Tip: For a really peaceful nights sleep - Courtyard facing rooms would be more suitable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Address: Bartolomejska 308/9 | Old Town of Prague, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#7 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#50 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in a former jail! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unitas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.