We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Unitas Hotel to your Saves list
Unitas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bartolomejska 9 | Old Town of Prague, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“clean, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location was good and walking distance to most of the sights (I like walking) and also the train station. I staff were really nice and friendly and willing to help most of the time even though they are not that informative in terms of money exchange or other specific tourism related question but you can find those answers online easily. They have transportation to airport for 550 kc. The rooms are clean and spotless. Minor problem I found was that shower water isn't really hot, it's warm ish but not hot if you are looking for hot showers after walking outside in the cold all day. Also very basic but had most bathroom amenities (no slippers). Rooms were really spacious. Breakfast was good...the usual choices. For the price, it's definitely good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    133
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
135
726
50
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at Unitas for 7 nights recently and we were very impressed with the Unitas Hotel. It is in a great location, a few minutes walk from the Old Town square. From the moment we arrived until we left we experienced exceptional service from all of the staff. Whether it was in reception, housekeeping or in the breakfast room, the staff couldn't be more helpful. They assisted us with booking tours and recommended local restaurants etc. As soon as we arrived we were given a welcome drink of sparkling wine, which was unexpected but gratefully accepted. The building used to be a convent, and a brief history is available from reception (which is very interesting). The rooms are huge (not as per your average European hotel room), and the area is very quiet. Decor is very modern and practical. Breakfast hot and cold buffet as well as a la carte menu is available daily in the breakfast room. Tea and coffee corners are located on each floor which was very handy. There is also a DVD and book library located in the lobby. DVDs are loaned for free and many movies in the collection were filmed in and around Prague. There are many good books on the local area and attractions to borrow as well. We will definitely stay at Unitas Hotel again when we next visit Prague.

Room Tip: We had a room with windows facing the central courtyard. I think that most rooms do face the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent a very enjoyable long weekend at this hotel. The atmosphere was calm and relaxing, the staff helpful and friendly and the food excellent. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The small touches, including the tea time canapes were very welcome after a day's sightseeing. The hotel is in a good location and has some good eating places nearby. Overall, if you want a peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre this is the hotel for you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Unitas Hotel for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. We cannot fault it. It is a short taxi ride from the airport (about 25 minutes), and within walking distance of the main attractions (Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Prague Castle etc.). When we arrived we were greeted with a smile and a welcome drink by the staff, who were all very helpful and friendly.

The hotel was fairly quiet as, from what we can make out, January is one of the less popular months to visit Prague. The street that Unitas is located on is very quiet, especially as it is opposite the Police Station.

Our room was huge, and cleaned to perfection. We had two single beds pushed together, which were incredibly comfortable, a desk, seating area, tv, dvd player (with dvd's to borrow at reception), a fridge and a wardrobe. The en-suite was large and luxurious, with a bath, shower over the bath, huge sink and a hairdryer.

The reception has books to borrow and a computer to use free of charge. Between 4pm and 6pm reception also has a few nibbles and drinks for guests.

Breakfast was fantastic, and definitely set us up for long days of walking (and the cold!!). The breakfast buffet included cereals, cold meats and cheeses, fruit, yogurt, juices, tea, coffee, bread, pate and hot food, such as scrambled eggs, sausages, tomatoes, bacon etc. You can also order omelettes, pancakes or boiled eggs. There was traditional Czech breakfast samples to try too, such as pickled sausage and fish.

The hotel is huge, and decorated to a high standard. On every floor there is a tea and coffee making area, with magazines and chairs.

We were extremely impressed with Unitas, and would definitely return. It was worth the money to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I loved everything about this hotel. They were extremely nice and helpful, very clean, beautiful site. I would stay here over and over again. Definitely worth the price. Breakfast was delicious and the location was more than perfect. Very safe with the police station right across the street! This has probably been the most welcoming hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glastonbury
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We revisited The Unitas for Christmas and new year 2012 for our delayed 1st wedding anniversary and were not disappointed (other than by the lack of snow which the Unitas has no control over!). Katka, one of the receptionists, recognised us from our wedding stay in 2011 and gave us a lovely smile and welcome back. We had the honeymoon suite as before for sheer indulgence!
The staff here are second to none, always polite and willing to go the extra mile to help. Lenka too was amazing as were the lads, the night staff and porters! Breakfasts couldn't be bettered and set us up for the days' walking ahead. Excellent!
Our only grievances are minor...our room was stiflingly hot although to be fair the weather was exceptionally mild perhaps...but we had to turn radiators off and open windows daily...unusual for me as everyone who knows me will agree, I am normally never too hot! our only other real grumble was it's a shame the 'library' is close to the computer for guest use...I was upset on several occasions to have people hovering around behind me wanting to use the computer but lingering looking at the books and videos when I/we were trying to check financial and private matters..I felt hurried and intimidated by this. On no occasion did I stay on the computer for long lengths of time and on most occasions had only just got onto it myself after waiting a considerable time but it isn't something I would do if waiting, I prefer to give people their privacy or would, if desperate, just ask if they would be long so I could go away and return! Maybe this could be bettered but this is more the fault of the guests than the hotel...still maybe a little notice asking guests waiting to use it to respect the privacy of those on the computer wouldn't go amiss as also maybe limiting the time at any one sitting to half an hour might help perhaps? (one guest, during our stay was just playing games on it for ages and in another instance the user wasn't even staying in the hotel but waiting for a guest who was!).
We cannot fault the hotel itself though, Staff are all lovely and we hope have become friends, we will return again and again. It is central for walking to most if not all of the tourist sights, clean, spacious, good food, great friendly, knowledgeable, helpful staff who really cannot do enough for you! We thank them all as it is they who make the stays so enjoyable.
Top rate!

Room Tip: The hotel is solid with thick walls, it is exceptionally quiet!. the honeymoon suite is huge and bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in September 2011. Loved, loved, loved the hotel. The location was perfect (very quiet street within walking distance of all the attractions), very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, lovely rooms (high ceilings, sitting area, comfortable bed), and very good price. If I ever return to Prague, this is where I'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Pod Vezi
Pod Vezi
#3 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,388 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#10 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#15 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Address: Bartolomejska 9 | Old Town of Prague, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#8 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unitas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.