We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Kampa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice to your Saves list
Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vsehrdova 450/16, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hotel Kampa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 214 between 15th and 18th July. Room was a basic twin room, clean and tidy. Ideal location for Charles bridge and the castle. Breakfast I must say is not the best to be honest. Depending on what time you come down for it. Dried bacon, eggs, spicy sausage (yuk) cereals varied, fruit, yogurts. We even had on offer what looked like sliced pork and mixed vegetables, probably leftovers from the previous night. You also have the pleasure of an annoying pianist over breakfast. Might be ok for some people, but when you have been out drinking until late the previous night, you can do without it. Hardly Liberace!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guests, Thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..) We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    222
    96
    23
    18
See reviews for
42
265
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honefoss, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

An exellent hotel really close to Charles Bridge in the old town. The service is great, and the breakfast in the big ballroom accompagnied with live piano-music was beyond deeams:)
The room was well furnished, and we were two friends on this trip and got two queensized beds.
The hotel is close to everything, and is situated in a calm street close to all the embassies.
The price was wery cheap! 135 € for 2 persons 3 nights!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

First it was not easy to drive the car to the park place of the hotel because the little streets are a difficult labyrint in Prague. When the car was parked our short trip of 2 days started. Helpful and friendly staff in the hotel. Special place. Just a castle decor. Very real,! special atmosfer.... a room on a quiet place in the hostel. Comfortabel room....... The breakfast is more than good,evrything was there....so much different things to eat and drink....very friendly helpfull staff..... The eatingplace is just like in a castle.... Very beautiful walls..... real castledecoration. Many tables and places for a romantic breakfast. The carparking was the most luxe. And the friendly helpfull staff super!

Room Tip: Ask a quiet place for the room far of doors and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is close to all magnificants points of interests in Prague. Room is too small but clear. Very good breakfast. Eggs, in many varietes, bacon, sausages, cheese as you wish, fruits, cereals and fresh pancakes. The staff is maybe little to serious. Very old fashioned lift.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear guests, Thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..) Our hotel staff are regularly trained. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

To keep it simple; highway robbery to ask €90 for rooms in such a state! Don't waste your time here; this will only dampen a stay in such a beautiful city as Prague. Awfully located, this is not a hotel for the business traveller.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for feedback and let me reply to your review. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay with us.We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc.). Our hotel is located in the historic centre of Prague, near Park Kampa, Charles Bridge, and about 5 minutes walk from the National Theatre. Free Wi-Fi is avilable all over the hotel free of charge. All our staff make the best to make your stay comfortable and due to **** standards. We really hope your next stay will be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We arrived in Prague by train - so we had to figure out the tramline quickly. The hotel had provided good directions and luckily, we encountered helpful locals. Dragging our bags from the tram stop down the cobblestone streets to the hotel was a challenge. But the reward is that its a quiet location, overlooking the river and the park.
The rooms are nice sized, but some mattresses rock hard. The shower cabinet is very small, buit not unusually so - most places we stayed on our trip had tiny shower cabinets.
The front desk can get slammed during morning check out. When they are not slammed they are very helpful. Our visit would have been far more diffcicult without their help.
Breakfast is in the vaulted ceiling, medieval hall, with live piano music - an amazing touch. Wandering in late means many of the treats are gone, and only staples remain. We tried to balance being lazily on vacation with early arrival - sometimes we succeeded, sometimes we missed out.
The location usually meant walking through the park to the Charles bridge area - what a nice way to start a day of tourist mayhem. There is always some sort of local event going on in the park. Nearby, up on Uzjed, is a great Thai restaurant, that's open late. And just up river is the Jazz Dock, well worth the walk and cover charge.
All in all a great location with a helpful staff making for a memorable Prague vacation experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have 'the view'. If you like lots of fresh air, then a room with two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation. Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer and with the certificate for the hotel use. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at Hotel Kampa. Both times I have been very pleased with the rooms and the staff. Breakfast is ok, not anything special, but served in a nice setting.
Free wifi is free of charge wich is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Přemysl M, Manager at Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice

Address: Vsehrdova 450/16, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#153 Business Hotel in Prague
#161 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#162 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kampa
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.