We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3 star experience for a 4 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice to your Saves list
Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vsehrdova 16, Prague 1, Prague 11800, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Prague
1 review
“A 3 star experience for a 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Breakfast staff not polite or friendly .. Quality of breakfast very poor .. Everything tasted cheap .. Orange juice not fresh .. On second day choose to go out for breakfast rather than eat in hotel ..
Poor lighting in bedroom . No light beside second bed .. We had a twin room ..
Pillows needed replaced .. Reception polite & helpful enough ..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay with us.
We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..)
Rooms are equipped with standard lifting for hotels.
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    210
    91
    23
    18
See reviews for
38
252
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Interesting place in many ways - breakfast a surreal experience in a highly decorated room complete with suits of armour, and accompanied by a frantic pianist. As already mentioned beds are on the stone side of hard but the Kampa is in a good location and all areas of the city easily accessible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer and with the certificate for the hotel use.
We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..)
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great place to stay if you are here for a few days, easy to walk to the main attractions and close to the main tram lines. They obviously major on short break visitors so its the basic bed and breakfast thats provided. Rooms are roomy but beds are hard so be prepared! Also pillows could do with replacing and as someone else mentioned there is no bath (at least in our room) which would have been very welcome after 8 hours walking around the city. We ate out on the three evenings we were there but a slightly more welcoming bar area would have been good. Could try harder but its a good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer and with the certificate for the hotel use.
Bathroom is equiped with all the basic hygienic needs – other products are availabe at the reception desk.
Our hotel staff are regularly trained
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydd, Uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very gentle staff, very nice room, beautiful breakfest with musician , worm and cosy. The only downside: no bath, which we required ., and oher guests in the room next to ours talking late in the night so we could hear each word ( no insulation between the rooms).
Thanks for everything.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We chose the Kampa for a short break to Prague to celebrate my father's 70th birthday, and had two rooms for my parents and myself/wife. The location proved to be excellent - down a quiet side street but only 2 minutes walk from a tram stop for the numbers 12,20 or 22 trams. The staff were attentive and professional - not always a given in Prague! Requests for extra pillows and airport taxis were promptly dealt with etc.

The room was a good size - large twin beds and a decent bathroom. The mattresses are a little firm, but did not give either of us a bad back and in fact were more comfortable than I expected. The decor is extremely quirky around the hotel. Suits of armour, swords and crossbows abound. It gives the place great atmosphere.

Breakfast is excellent - a wide range of items including cooked, with the bread always fresh and tasty. You can either jump on the tram 1 stop or walk to the Charles Bridge. Tram tickets are available from the little shops on the main road - a day ticket for all trams, metros, buses and the funicular is only Kc 110. Dont forget to validate it - I we saw a large group of Russian tourists buy tickets for the funicular, fail to validate them and then they were met by two ticket inspectors at the top - a straight Kc 900 fine I believe!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face Kampa island - a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is very well located, central and not far from the main atractions; the area is one of the most beautifull of the town. The quality is very good: rooms are nice and well equipped, breakfast restaurant is ok and the food quality is very good. The staff is very well prepared and also very kind.
My general opinion is very good!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your nice review and recommendation.We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..) We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location in the beautiful Kampa area, but still walking distance to all touristic attractions.
Large, clean and cosy rooms. No trafic noise. Reception room could be more convenient.

Kind and service-minded personnel, good breakfast.
Only minus: hard beds = to sleep like on a stone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice

Address: Vsehrdova 16, Prague 1, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#142 Business Hotel in Prague
#149 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#164 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kampa
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kampa - Stara Zbrojnice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.