We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bussines trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel Prague to your Saves list
Central Hotel Prague
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rybna 677/8, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bussines trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I recently visited Prague for business purposes and I chose Central Hotel, which lies almost in the center near the Old Town square. I was very surprised to receive a great staff, quality service and very tasty and rich breakfast. During his next visit to Prague is a very clear choice of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    182
    68
    11
    9
See reviews for
56
138
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The people who give this place a very good rating must either work there or be comparing it to sleeping rough. If I paid 40 or 50 euros a night it might be acceptable, but for 90 euros it's a ripoff.

The beds are really really hard, a double room = 2 single beds pushed together with single duvet, the walls are so thin that you are kept awake just by people talking in the next door room, the towels are so thin they must be 10 years old. I don't even know how a towel can be that free of pile.

When we were staying there was constant road works outside (starting 7.30am) and the water was cut off on Saturday morning (not their fault but you think they would have maybe offered some compensation)

When I checked out I complained about how much we were kept awake by the next door room and asked for some money off. They implied I was lying by the fact that I had not phoned the reception at the time. I was not going to complain as the people next door were only talking but this was enough to keep us awake.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel but if you have already booked stay away from the street side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

10 nights is hardly long enough to enjoy all that Prague has to offer. The location of the Central Hotel made it easy for us to walk to pretty much every site we wanted to see. We were even able to walk to and from the State Opera late in the evening and felt very safe. The hotel staff was generally very helpful, especially Charlie, who maintained a very efficient dining rom. The breakfast was hot with lots of variety. The room was big enough for the three of us without feeling we got in each others' way although the carpet needs to be replaced. I wish it was a non smoking hotel, but don't know if those even exist in Europe! Too bad!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Pros: Great staff. Great location. Great Breakfast.
Cons: Hard bed, Noisy

Noisy rooms with thin walls. We were separated from the next room by a maids closet and we could still hear the two teens in the room talking until late at night. You could hear every hallway noise as well. This is the only downside of this particular hotel. Everything else was nice and we had a great time.

I am not a light sleeper so the noise was rather loud to disturb my sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Nice,clean hotel with perfect location in historical centre,near all sights and shopping mall Palladium. Rich buffet breakfast,excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel is very nice. We were there for 3 nights and we used to hotel only to sleep there. Small, but clean rooms. Nice breakfast. Very helpful staff. All of them spoke English and some of them additional languages (German, Italian, etc.). They were very polite and helpful.
If we go again to Prague, it is very possible to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Excellent location, a really beautiful view from room 511, really clean room, bed, and bathroom, breakfast better impossible, really quiet. Is not a luxury hotel but is a perfect place for someone who is looking for something simple, clean, cheep and good located! I really recoment it! (I stayed march 2012)
Ps: front desk people not so friendly but they did their job good)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Prague

Address: Rybna 677/8, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#141 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Prague 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Central Hotel Prague with long tradition since 1931 has one of the best location in Prague, just a few steps from the famous Prague's Old Town Square, located in Rybna Street, within walking distance to the main sights as Astronomical Clock, Charles Bridge, Powder Tower as well as shopping mall Palladium and Kotva department store. This unique central location is very convenient not only for visiting all important historic sites of the Old Town but also for enjoying countless cultural events or famous night life of Prague. In the nearest neighbourhood of the Central Hotel, you will find historic buildings, theatres, cinemas, restaurants clubs and discos as well as shopping malls and banks. The hotel offers 51 comfortable rooms, all with private bath or shower and WC, equipped with SAT-TV, direct telephone line and private safe. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel, and in addition there is computer corner with printer in hotel lobby available for our guests free of charge. An excellent breakfast with wide choise of cold and warm buffet is served in our new refurbished Café Bar Central, daily from 07.00 to 10.00. Come and enjoy large selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and cocktails in our Café Bar Central, where you can relax after a busy day or watch the sports matches on the plasma TV screen with your friends.The central location of the hotel combined with the comfort of its rooms offers an ideal place for your pleasant stay in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Central Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Central Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.