We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great staff,great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maximilian Hotel to your Saves list
Maximilian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 662 Hotels in Prague
south carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great location, great staff,great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2006

My wife and I spent four nights at the Maximillian recently. It suited us perfectly! The room was comfortable with a small balcony overlooking a quiet square. The Hotel is located very close to the Old Town square but is very quiet and calm. The staff was genuinely helpful and showed extra initiative in helping us with our car rental. I don't normally get excited by breakfast but the buffet at the Maximillian was very good. There was an excellent assortment of fruit, cereal,pastries and hot items--served in very pleasant surroundings. We also got coffee brought to our room while we were waking up. A really pleasant stay in a great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    301
    28
    12
    3
See reviews for
188
687
81
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2006

We booked this hotel after reading numerous favourable reviews on Tripadvisor, and the best price for us was obtained using the hotel’s own website. The Maximilian is very well located, only a short walk from the Old Town Square, with all the main sights within walking distance. Bear in mind when packing footwear that many of the pavements are cobbled.

We used the Cedaz minibus service to travel from the airport to the City Centre (V Celnici street) which is only a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. We found this to be a convenient and cost effective option.

We were impressed by the overall cleanliness of the hotel, and the bedroom was immaculately presented and maintained. The electrically operated shutters help ensure a good night’s sleep, and the rooms appear to be well soundproofed as we were situated next to a lift, but were never inconvenienced by this.

Free internet access in the lobby area is a useful feature, and the nearby lounge area includes an honesty bar where you can avail of complimentary tea or coffee. An impressive breakfast selection was included as part of our package and is available until late morning if you’ve overindulged the night before.

We would recommend Chez Marcel for a convenient and reasonably priced dining experience just two doors away from the hotel, and Café Louvre (20 Narodni Trida) for an atmospheric lunchtime venue. Culinara (9 Skorepka) is a delightful deli which offers light lunches and an impressive selection of pastries.

Our only disappointment during a three night stay was a planned trip to see a water and light show at Krizik’s fountain within the Exhibition Ground. The venue is quite dated, poorly signposted, and is not worth the effort involved in getting there. We opted not to buy tickets for the show after seeing the surroundings and getting a sneak preview of the performance from outside the venue. If you decide to try it, take the metro to Nadrazi Holesovice station and on exiting the station head towards a pyramid shaped building in the distance, about 15 minutes walk away. Ensure you have enough coins available for the metro as the ticket machines don’t accept notes.

For anyone with a fear of heights, climbing the tower at the Old Town Hall is an ideal choice. You have the option of ascending on foot using a wide staircase or using a lift. At the top you can avail of the views from a spacious enclosed viewing gallery.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

This hotel is gem. It is located on a quiet, cobblestone street in heart of Praha 1 near all major attractions. The rooms are small but cozy with contemporary decor. Added bonus is a 24 hour Internet cafe. The free breakfast with eggs made to order, fresh fruit and pastries was excellent. Service was not warm. but accomodating. They even do free money exchange at the front desk. There are many fun bars and and cafes within walking distance. Try the Bombay Club for large drinks and dancing. This is a fairy tale city and the Maximillian in a great place to stay after a busy day exploring the sites. A warning, if you use a taxi, always ask how much before you get in. We had many drivers try to rip us off by charging outrageous prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

We took advantage of the specilal offer which applies for stays of at least 4 nights and thought it was exceptional value, especially as we brought along our 6 year old daughter. Its location is superb, a mere 5-minute walk from the main square, yet very quiet and residential and away from the toursist crowds. The breakfast buffet was a delight and something our daughter looked forward to every morning! We also appreciated the free internet access and wi-fi library space.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

We chose the Maximilian after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. It was wonderful. A charmingly authentic exterior led to a modern, functional but tasteful interior. The staff were delightful and our room was comfortable and spacious. The bed, which was huge, proved to be conducive to a good night's sleep and the bathroom was great with a superb shower. There was open plan hanging space and a safe which was fine once you got the hang of it. The breakfasts were fantastic - you name it , they had it (right down to Actimel, of which a surprisingly large number and variety of nationalities were taking advantage) and you could have freshly cooked food too if you needed it! Depending on your capacity, you could have eaten enough healthy food to keep you going most of the day! There was a pleasant lounge with games, newspapers and reference books. There was a second lounge with complimentary tea and coffee and an honesty bar. The hotel is situated in a quiet area opposite St Castellus Church and just a couple of minutes from St Agnes Convent which houses a fantastic collection of medieval art - don't miss it. It is less than five minutes walk to Old Town Square. Don't be tempted to stay near or on Wenceslas Square - it is pretty horrid! Yet all of Prague is very compact so it is easy to walk to see all the main tourist areas, from this hotel, if you are reasonably 'sightseeing fit'.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

We stayed 5 nights in the Maximillion and have only good things to say about the hotel. The rooms are very clean and modern, the bed was huge and comfortable, they have free internet access in their business center with two computers, a library and lounge; and a great breakfast. Great value, I would definately stay here again or recommend the hotel to a friend. Great location for everything, right off of Old Town Square.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2006

My wife and I recently stayed in the Maximillan to celebrate out first wedding anniversary. We stayed for five nights and cannot fault this hotel, the customer service was so good. They even up graded us to a suite for 4 of the 5 days of our stay. It is within walking distances of the old town square and there are lots of bars and restaurants nearby. We found the Bombay Cocktail bar had a great atmosphere. The hotel was very very clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was very good with everything you could ask for.

Would I stay there again ? Without a doubt,

Hotel taxi service I would recommend also.

The little touches made all the difference.

Well down Maximillian.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#20 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#22 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury hotel designed by Eva Jiricna, provides a stylish, relaxed and cozy atmosphere in the heart of medieval Prague: 1 suite, 70 rooms, all rooms are equipped with Nepresso Coffee Machine or Tea & Coffee facilities, WiFi connection. Conference room with terrace. Breakfast restaurant: 6.30 - 11.30 on weekends till 12.30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximilian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.