We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maximilian Hotel to your Saves list
Maximilian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 662 Hotels in Prague
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2006

Just returned from a superb long weekend based in the Maximilian. Selected the hotel based on a combination of good reviews on Tripadvisor; having an interest in the modernist style; and, crucially, finding a three-nights-for-two deal!

We were initially looking for a more traditional hotel in the usual beamed-ceiling Prague vernacular, but having tried and failed to find something just right in Mala Strana we decided to try something a little different. Just remember that once inside this hotel you could be anywhere, as a previous reviewer mentioned.

Booking through Expedia we requested a romantic superior room as shown on the Maximilian's website gallery and were fully expecting to be disappointed. Repeated the request when we emailed to re-confirm our reservation two days before arrival, and were delighted to receive a mail by return telling us we had the romantic room reserved for us. Yes *the* romantic room - there is only one! So if you want a balcony, it has to be room 206. Not sure if any other rooms (apart from the suite) have the glass-walled en suite bathroom either, but ours did and it was rather stylish too.

The bed was huge and extremely comfortable, and whilst the room itself is not notably spacious it is not cramped in any way and it was nicely lit and furnished. There were a couple of dings in the wall finish and a squint bedside lamp cover which I didn't expect, but nothing to really detract, and everything was very clean. Good view out of the window across the quiet little square towards the church opposite.

The public areas were all immaculate and the glass-walled library and lounge are pretty dramatic, although obviously rather cool in feel and only lit by skylights and spotlamps. The library is particularly inviting having colourful seating and an interesting selection of books on modern architecture. The honesty bar is a good idea and the complimentary tea, coffee, and cakes are a welcome touch.

Breakfast was superb with most things you could wish for being on offer, all fresh and constantly replenished. It is served until extremely civilised hours too - up to 11:30 weekdays and 12:30 at the weekend. Perfect after succumbing to the lure of Prague nightlife. In theory - and hangover permitting - you could get up and do a morning's local sightseeing and come back to take it as brunch instead.

The location is excellent, not quite drop-dead gorgeous but pleasant and very quiet, with a bit of a neighbourhood feel, and amongst older buildings very close to St Agnes convent. And yes Old Town Square is only 5 minutes walk away.

Hotel staff were very courteous and attentive - no complaints here.

There are a number of restaurants close by, of which we tried Chez Marcel and were impressed - pretty good value French bistro fare. Recommended.

Any complaints? Well, the honesty bar was closed when we returned towards 1am on our first night (yeah I know - lightweights!). This was disappointing, although perhaps not surprising... The night porter said it couldn't be opened. I'm kind of used to the British way of guests being allowed to get a nightcap from the hotel bar pretty much whatever time it is. Never mind - I'll remember to stock up from the mini-market at the end of the street next time, or spring for the mini-bar in the room. Not much else really, maybe the aforementioned need for a quick bit of decor maintenance (a very minor niggle). That's about it.

All in all then thoroughly recommended for mid-range accomodation with some style. You will be looked after and rested, and well placed to explore the city. It's a bit expensive at the full rate, but I would certainly stay again if I couldn't get what I wanted in Mala Strana and the price was right.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    328
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
202
755
90
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

Using Trip Advisor reviews as a guiding reference we booked 2 nights in Hotel Maximillian. It easily lives up to all expectations - Overall Design, Bedroom comfort, Quietness, Excellent breakfast and friendly helpful staff. The Hotel is located in a wonderfully quiet location an easy 10 min walk from Old Town Square - although there is no shortage of good bars and restaurants within lesser walking distance. Try NOSTRESS French-Asian restaurant on corner of Dusni and V Kolkovne (5 mins from hotel) Highly recommended. Also more formal fish restaurant RYBI TRH in Tynsky dvur - just off Old Town Square. One small query - why are there no spirits in the mini-bar? Beer Yes, Wine Yes, Tonic Yes - but no Gin etc. Returning late one night when the Honesty Bar was closed, we were denied a G&T and thus had tonic on its own as a nightcap. A small but puzzling issue. We thoroughly enjoyed the city and this hotel in particular.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2006

we stayed at the Maximilian for four nights and had a really enjoyable stay. I pondered for ages whether to go for a typical Prague Hotel with decorative ceilings etc. but ended up going for the modern style of The Maximilian.Having read all the reviews, I'd say we got exactly what we expected - we booked a superior room and were a little disappointed as it seemed pretty 'standard' - only a few rooms come with the opaque bathroom and balcony and ours had neither. It was however, spotlessly clean and a good size (I think the size is the only difference between Standard and Superior rooms)and had everything we needed.
despite being more expensive, we opted for the hotel's airport transport and didn't regret it - we arrived at 20:40 and wanted to get to the hotel asap, and it was lovely to be greeted by a nice man in a shiny car holding our names up!
breakfast really was fantastic - anything you could wish for! It's worth staying there for the breakfast alone! And it's worth spending the £2 or so to have it brought to your room as a treat! They'll bring everything you ask for!
As for location, this is great too - I was worried it was too far away but it was so close to all the sights! Literally a 5 min stroll to Old Town Square. There are plenty of lovely places to eat nearby too - we had great food (and reasonable!) in Escape, Chez Marcel (next door) and Les Moules on Parizka.
Right, I'm going on now so I'll tie this up - if you want traditional Czech with a personal touch, this isn't the place for you -this hotel could be anywhere. But if you want a great hotel with a modern style I can highly recommend this hotel. If you want super sleek, maybe go for the sister hotel, The Josef, just down the road - The Maximilian has the feel of a hotel which has been 'done up' whereas the Josef seems purpose built.
there are some really nice touches here though - there's free coffee, lovely teas and pastries all day, the honesty bar is a nice idea and the Thai Massage downstairs is great. Would I stay there again? I think we'll probably go for something a bit different when we go to Prague again (we wanted to go back as soon as we got home!), just to try something new, but I'd definitely send a friend there.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Maximilian from Feb 3 to Feb 6, 2006. Based on the reviews in Trip advisor and on looking at the hotel's own website, we arrived with reasonably high expectations. The lobby was very clean, bright, and modern, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

But once we saw our room, we were slightly disappointed. Although the room had modern furnishings, they showed signs of wear and tear and the walls were cracked. The TV and some of the fixtures in the bathroom were the same as prior to renovations, as was the worn-down elevator in the lobby. The ultramodern bathrooms pictured on the hotel website were only in select rooms, whereas all other rooms had only standard bathrooms. In addition, the cleaning staff failed to provide more soap and shampoo each day, as is standard practice in most hotels. The bed was extremely comfortable, but there were stains on the overlying blue blanket.

Breakfast, however, was great, with an excellent selection of hot and cold foods. The lounge was very warm and inviting, and the complimentary tea, coffee and pastries were a welcome treat after a long day of exploring the city. The location was excellent, only a few minutes from the Old Town Square and Charles Bridge. The hotel was easily accessible from the airport by bus and metro; it was only a 5 minute walk from the metro station (and only 20 Czech crowns to get from the airport to the metro stop near hotel vs. 480 crowns to take the airport shuttle bus).

Overall, it seemed like this was a 3-star hotel patched up to simulate a 4-star. The lobby was beautifully redone, but the rooms were not up to the same level. For the same price, there are better 4-star hotels out there.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2006

Stayed here for 4 nights from Jan 27th and it proved to be a really great choice. Hotel is very modern, immaculate, minimalist type decor with very nice rooms. There's a DVD player in the room which also plays CD's. Fantasic showers. Location is 2nd to none, just 5 mins walk from Old Town square with some great bars and restaurants about 2/3 mins walk. Breakfast buffet is superb with everything imaginable - lots of fresh fruit, bagels, bacon and eggs cooked to order. Serve til 11.30am on weekdays and 12.30 at weekends. Hotel generally very quiet - we slpet really well because of this and also the fab beds and duvets.

We arrived at 8.30pm and found our way around to Restaurant/Pub Kolkovne which was ideal and then stumbled across Tretters bar by chance across the road which was hopping on a Friday night.

You really can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2006

Can't say enough about this hotel. It really was fabulous. We got a great deal on a standard room as it was and then when we arrived we were actually upgraded to a superior room, which made the stay even more enjoyable! The breakfast room was really well laid out, the lounge and complimentary internet access area was very comfortable. All the staff were extremely friendly. It's in close proximatey to everything, so walking everywhere is fine!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

The wife and I stayed there for a week over New Years. We found an incredible rate there, especially considering the holiday. This hotel is in an outstanding location, on a quiet street within walking distance to everything. The staff are helpful. Free internet, and they'll even lend you an ethernet cable and an outlet adaptor if you forgot them at home. Breakfasts were outstanding as well. Our room was a little on the small side, but fully functional. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#8 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#34 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#19 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#14 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#12 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#19 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#21 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury hotel designed by Eva Jiricna, provides a stylish, relaxed and cozy atmosphere in the heart of medieval Prague: 1 suite, 70 rooms, all rooms are equipped with Nepresso Coffee Machine or Tea & Coffee facilities, WiFi connection. Conference room with terrace. Breakfast restaurant: 6.30 - 11.30 on weekends till 12.30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximilian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.