We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great value and highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maximilian Hotel to your Saves list
Maximilian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastalska 14, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great value and highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We recently stayed at this hotel, and it was by far the best for the value of all the hotels we stayed at, including some five stars. The location is on a quiet street, but very close to all the main tourist sites. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and their recommendations for restaurants were top notch. Our room was very clean and comfortable and quite large for European hotels. They had a library that actually had English newspapers that were free, as well as free coffee in the morning. The Breakfast was very plentiful and excellent as well, and was included in the price of the room. We were traveling with two adults and three college age kids and everyone liked the breakfasts. There was also an honor bar which was fully stocked and even had an ice machine available. Our entire family said it was one of the best hotels we had stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    277
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
165
619
75
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I have recently returned from a 6 day city holiday in Prague, where I celebrated my 60th birthday. We stayed at the Maximilian Hotel 4* and would like to add my own personal review of this oustanding hotel. The breakfast catered for all tastes with its eye boggling variety of high quality food. There were immaculte silver domed containers and inside were cooked foods. Also, a massive array of fresh fruit, again presentation was awesome. Selection of bread,crackers, rolls, cheeses, dried nuts, jams, yoghurts, with fruit. Every single item of food was quality. Of course, tea many varieties, coffee and juices.The high standard of cleanliness, to the constant care and attention by the staff who ensured that there were never any spillages or areas that need refills. The efficiency of the staff on arriving at the breakfast room was acceptable. The opening times of the breakfast was none I have ever encountered.

On arrival at the hotel a young man jumped to our attention and carried out cases into the hotel. In fact we felt like celebrities! Reception was efficient and helpful. We asked during out stay for an adaptor and there was no hesitation in lending one.

Room service was excellent with clean towels daily. My nightwear presented on the bed in a neat fashion. Tea and coffee refreshed. Complimentary items were available like coffee, milk and pastries. Internet service although there was a problem with emails not being sent from the hotel' server. There was a huge blacklog of emails in the outbox and due to the problem anyone could read these and some were urgent. We did point this out to hotel staff and during our time the problem was not rectified.

The hotel was in a prime location very peaceful and considering its closeness to the city centre it was so quiet. The hotel presents as a pristine, smart and contemporary in its design. The loung area was comfortable and plenty of reading material.

I would not hesitate in recommending this place to stay and my friend and I are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We just returned from a 4-night stay at the Maximilian Hotel in Prague. We paid 100 Euros a night for the hotel, which was a great deal. When we arrived, they had booked our room as a single instead of a double, and the only room available was an upgraded room! We were on the 6th floor which was the highest floor, so it was very quiet. Our room was very large and very nice. Great amenities in the room including WiFi, a nice tv, bath supplies, hairdryer, etc. The housekeeping service didn't refill our soap or shampoo at all, so we had to take it from the cart when we saw it, which was sort of a nuisance. Also, there were a few times during the day when we were resting and housekeeping attempted to come in, which surprised us considering the room had already been cleaned for the day - it bothered me a little as to why they were trying to come in again and made me feel like my privacy was being invaded.

The hotel was in a great location, about a 5 minute walk from the Old Town Square. Our rate included breakfast, which was convenient and good, but not necessary considering it was about 10 Euros and there were plenty of bakeries around that had nice products as well. But, it was convenient and a nice breakfast.

We booked a car service to the hotel for 780 coruna, and were a little disappointed that the hotel charged us a service fee in addition to this (I think it was 5%).

Overall, we would recommend this hotel. It was in a great location and a good rate for Prague and for what we received.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

I was impressed by the Maximillian Hotel in Prague. The location in the old town area was fantastic. It was withing walking distance of the major sights as well and dining and entertainment options. The room was large by European standards and came with all the usual amenities plus a large flat screen TV. The bathroom was also large although instead of a shower curtain they just had a glass partition that only covered about 1/3 of the shower/tub area. I'm not normally one to sit in the hotel and watch TV while on vacation, but there was some bad weather while we were in town that threw a wrench in some of our sightseeing plans, so it was at least nice to have a distraction while waiting for the rain to stop. The breakfast included in the room price was outstanding. I found the hotel clientele to be very diverse and from many different countries. Overall I consider it to be an excellent place to stay and worth returning to without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

This hotel is in a great location, close to the town square but far enough away to be quiet. Also within 10 minute walk of metro station.
Typical boutique hotel with some strange designs. The hotel appears to occupy two old buildings and access was via strairs to the lifts. Could be a problem if you were disabled. Two nice quiet areas with books and an honesty bar and free internet was a nice idea. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable with room safe and coffee/tea facilities.
No hotel restaurant but plenty of good restaurants nearby.
The breakfasts were excellent both in quality and range.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Although my single room was quite small, it was quiet. The reception staff was quite helpful and pleasant. The buffet breakfast was generous.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Located in the jewish quarter just 5 min from the old city-square this hotel is a gem. Helpful staff, comfortable n/s rooms with a/c, outstanding breakfast, garage, quiet area.
Very recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Prague
#18 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#26 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury hotel designed by Eva Jiricna, provides a stylish, relaxed and cozy atmosphere in the heart of medieval Prague: 1 suite, 70 rooms, all rooms are equipped with Nepresso Coffee Machine or Tea & Coffee facilities, WiFi connection. Conference room with terrace. Breakfast restaurant: 6.30 - 11.30 on weekends till 12.30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximilian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.