We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maximilian Hotel to your Saves list
Maximilian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I was at the Maximilian for a long weekend with my family. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Very attentive and caring service. Confortable, clean and perfectly quiet room. The breakfast was wonderful. The location is great, a few minutes by walk from the old town square. Very high value. I was very glad to be there and I defintely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Alexander T,

We were pelased to read your kind review, thank you very much for posting it on our TripAdvisor!
It was delightful to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we would especially like to thank you for the nice feedback about our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    328
    31
    12
    3
See reviews for
202
758
90
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had a wonderful experience at The Maximilian! Hotel has a friendly and helpful staff, nice and spacious rooms and fantastic breakfast buffet. Will go back next time we are in Prague. Definitely try The massages at the hotel spa. Hotel location right in The old town.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Gido V,

Many thanks for leaving your feedback on our TripAdvisor page about the Maximilian Hotel.
It was our great pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the service our staff provided you with, our breakfast, location and the massages at the spa.
We are glad that we had the opportunity to have you staying with us in Prague and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I had initial trouble finding the hotel, as we needed to get our bearings amongst the back lanes of Prague. We finally found the hotel after a 20 mins walk, in the light rain.

Depending on who sits at the reception, you can generally expect a good and friendly service from the reception staff. I don't believe the hotel has a bellboy, as we had to carry our own luggage up to the room by ourselves.

The room was fantastic. The bed was comfy enough and the pillows were good to sleep on. Coffee and tea making facilities were available. And to top it all up, they provided us with a pet gold fish to keep us company in the room throughout our stay. It was a pleasure having a pet fish in the room, especially after a long day's walk.

The best part of the hotel though was the breakfast room! Their service staff would brighten our morning with smiles and greetings each time we walked into the room, without fail. The breakfast room was brightly lit and the breakfast buffet spread was just too tempting for us not to try every single dish on offer!

Location-wise, you can actually walk to most tourist attractions without much trouble. Getting a stroll is the best way to enjoy this charming city. And there are bars and restaurants within 5-10 mins walking radius of this hotel. Just spend some time to get to know its surroundings, and you will be rewarded for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear SwirlingTraveller,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your review on our TripAdvisor page!
It was lovely to read how much you liked our breakfast and also that you appreciated the kind help of the staff in the restaurant. We would also like to thank you for mentioning that you liked your room and the amenities and our location.
We were sorry to hear that you were not provided with help carrying your luggage to the room; please accept our sincerest apologies for not having assisted you with this after your check-in. Your feedback is important to us and your comments have been shared along with the concerning department for further discussion.
Thank you once more for your review and for sharing your comments with us. We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Front desk staff were very friendly, informative and helpful. Booked us on to a walking tour on our day of arrival and gave us accurate information about travelling to Cesky Krumlov for the day on another day. First thing in the morning there was coffee and take away cups at the main door and later in the day fruit infused chilled water and home made chocolate chip biscuits. I enjoyed having a goldfish in the room. The location is fabulous as it is only a short pleasant walk away from the old town square.

Room Tip: We liked being in the only room on the 6th floor, although the lift stops at 5 and there's a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, General Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Brenda B,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post the above review on our TripAdvisor page regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with so many features here and your kind feedback will be shared along with the entire team.
I look forward to having you stay with us again!

Best Regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We are discriminating travelers who initially booked an Air B&B in the the center of Prague. Needless to say we were completely disappointed and jumped ship. We fortunately landed at the Maximilian hotel just minutes away and from the get go we were blown away by the level of service. My gal Sonia, loved her, was so nice and accommodating and we stayed 4 nights in suite 406, a huge room with a great church view. Breakfast was included and awesome. To top it off you can request a pet goldfish for your room. Don't miss this great hotel with fantastic service.

Tom & Shervin - San Diego

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Tom and Shervin,

Many thanks for your fantastic feedback about your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel!
It was delightful to read how much you enjoyed our facilities and we are proud to know that we managed to contribute to a pleasant stay in Prague. Thank you also for mentioning Sonia for the service she provided you with, she was so happy to see her name in your review!
It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back for a future stay with us!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights June,2014. They had bubbles and chocolates waiting for us in the room as it was our honeymoon.

They put us on the 6th floor. Pros of that = only room on the floor, good exercise (if you like to keep fit), very quiet.
Cons= if you have knee problems do not stay on the 6th floor as you have to take the stairs from the 5th floor.

Great location, there's a laundromat around the corner, and grocery store half a block away.
Breakfast was one of the best I've ever had, in terms of service and food. They even had breakfast ready for us at 430am when we had to check out early to catch a flight!
Every staff we encounter are super friendly.
You can also request to have a gold fish in the room!

Room Tip: Ask for a gold fish!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Il0verice,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback as well as for having chosen our hotel for your honeymoon!
We loved to read your feedback and we really appreciate your kind comments about all the aspects you liked about your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We hope to see you again soon in Prague!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We arranged to be picked up by the hotel's transfer service; the driver gave us a note explaining that "technical" difficulties made our room unavailable and took us to an alternative hotel, the UNIC, for the first night. Actually, the UNIC room and breakfast were great, but the front desk service was what might be characterized as "surly", so we were happy to get to the Maximillian the next morning. The Maximillian upgraded our room and gave us a small bottle of wine for not having our room available. The room was quite large, quiet, and comfortable, and the breakfast was great. But by far the most outstanding feature was the service provided by the front desk/concierge. They helped us (without charge) to purchase opera tickets and arrange a tour of Terezin, among other things. Also, the hotel is very well located for walking to just about anywhere. It is right in the middle of Old Town and the Old Jewish Quarter, but close to New Town and the Castle District as well. One thing to avoid -- visiting Prague on May Day weekend, which is what we did! It seemed like all of Europe descended on this fairly compact city.

Room Tip: Our deluxe room was facing the back, and even though it was next to the elevator it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear frugaltraveler2014,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback about your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel on our TripAdvisor page.
We are pleased to know that you had a nice experience here and found so many aspects to your liking despite the inconvenience in the beginning of your stay.
It was especially nice to hear your feedback about the service our staff provided you with; we are so happy to know that you appreciated their kind efforts in making your time in Prague pleasant and enjoyable.
We all look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#31 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#19 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#14 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#11 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Prague
#19 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#20 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#21 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury hotel designed by Eva Jiricna, provides a stylish, relaxed and cozy atmosphere in the heart of medieval Prague: 1 suite, 70 rooms, all rooms are equipped with Nepresso Coffee Machine or Tea & Coffee facilities, WiFi connection. Conference room with terrace. Breakfast restaurant: 6.30 - 11.30 on weekends till 12.30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximilian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.