We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and breakfast fit for kings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maximilian Hotel to your Saves list
Maximilian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Location and breakfast fit for kings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during July. It is a great hotel, excellent location close to the center of the city and surrounded by restaurants and shops. The staff was very nice, always provided a helping hand.
The lobby has a very cool ambience, clean and bright.
The rooms are not that big, this is after all a hotel perched in the middle of a medieval city. But that room has it all Tv, a/c, nice bathroom with bathtub a great place to rest after hours of walking and exploring the city.
The breakfast was Amazing! Great variety of quality foods. We had such good breakfasts every day, that we skipped lunch and only had a snack. Highly recommend the ham they sell by the astronomical clock as the snack to go to.
We also decided to take care of one of the fishes they have in the hotel. That was an added bonus for our little one, who is a great traveler and she always remembers this hotel for her pet fish, Mabel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, General Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Josearnaldo,

Thank you very much for having chosen us in Prague and also for leaving the above review on our TripAdvisor page.
It was my pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay at the Maximilian Hotel. I truly appreciate your positive comments about all the features you were satisfied with and I am glad you also liked the goldfish - it is delightful to know that we made your child's stay more memorable with this experience.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay!

Best Regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    301
    28
    12
    3
See reviews for
188
687
81
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savsjo, Sverige
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated in old town, we walked around Prague every day. No need for taxi at all!!! We booked a room with a view of the church and it was super, big windows in which we sat at night looking out and read a book or paper. We also booked a golffish, our little pet which we enjoyed talking to during our stay :-)
The breakfast was excellent!! So nice with the window roof! You even had a meny where you could order your own omelettes and smoothies!
The staff are all very serviceminded and helpful!!
I can recommend this place if you're going to Prague.

The spa is great, but the staff at the reception is not as serviceminded as the hotel staff. Do not order treatment by the Indian male, he has a very strange mindset regarding womens rights.
Make sure that you only book treatment through the hotelwebsite or the hotelstaff themselvs!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the old church, big windows! Dont forget to order the free of charge go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear nattro,

First or all, please allow us to thank you for reviewing our hotel and for providing us with your really nice feedback.
We were delighted to read your kind words regarding our location, breakfast, the nice view from your room and our staff. We are also really happy that you had the chance to have one of our pet goldfish in your room and we are happy you enjoyed its company.
It was our pleasure to hear that you liked our spa, however your feedback about the massage therapist really surprised us as we had never heard of such experience before. Thank you for bringing it to our attention - the issue has been discussed with the concerning department.
Thank you once more for your comments regarding your stay at the Maximilian Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very close to Old Town. We even walked to Prague castle from here. Breakfast was wonderful, a lot to choose from, and you could even order omelets. A great King size bed too. Good size bathroom, but the towels were a little worn. There is no closet with a door, but a rod where you can hang your clothes. The "closet" has many shelves to place folded clothes on. We were there end of March, and the room was a little too warm for us. Though we adjusted the thermostat, we couldn't get it cool enough, so we opened the window for coolness. Our only disappointment was on our last day there. The night before we asked for a breakfast to go for the next morning, since we were leaving at 5am. Unfortunately, on the morning we left, the receptionist told us that he knew nothing about the breakfast, so we left with just an apple.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear ataylornana,

Thank you for your feedback on our TripAdvisor page regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We were really happy to read your positive comments regarding our location, breakfast and your room - it is great to know that you enjoyed so many features of our property. We would also like to thank you for your honest feedback about our towels.
Please allow us to apologize for the inconvenience regarding the negative experience you had on the day of your departure. The concerning department has been informed and we will do our best not to have this issue occur again in the future.
Thank you once more for posting your review and we hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The service we received at the Maximilian hotel was second to none. From our initial booking of our room through to checkout nothing was a problem, you could not have asked for more.
Every person we met during our stay, that represented the hotel, greeted us with a smile and could not be more helpful. From the front desk, restaurant and even the cleaner all were very friendly and professional.
I'd like to thank Tomas on reception for a smooth check in and departure. I would also like to thank whoever arranged for a cake and wine to be left in our room to celebrate my wife's birthday. I had not asked for this to be done and shows that the hotel staff really want to make your stay an enjoyable experience.
The hotel itself could not be in a better location with nearly all of the sightseeing reachable by foot. The hotel is very clean and is of a very high standard. My wife travels through Europe with work and always comes home complaining of uncomfortable hotel beds. Not this time, she thought it was probably one of the most comfortablest she had ever slept in.
I have told friends and family that if they are ever lucky enough to visit Prague then they should book into the Maximilian Hotel. They will not be disappointed. I know my wife and I will return.

Mark Q, Slough, UK.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear 555MarkQ65,

We were so glad to read your wonderful comments on our TripAdvisor page regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel! Thank you very much for posting your review here.
It was our great pleasure to have you staying with us for such a special occasion as celebrating your wife's birthday and we are truly happy to know that you appreciated the surprise we left for her in the room.
We are delighted to know that you found your bed so much to your liking and that you were satisfied with other features of our property as well. Thank you also for your kind recognition of Tomas for the the efficient service he provided you with, it is a great motivation for him to read such nice feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Located on a quiet street, across from a church, yet just blocks away from the main square and many, many cool (and hot) bars. Property has an intimate feel. Staff is knowledgeable, helpful and efficient. Breakfast was very good. Loved being able to walk out right into heart of Prague, and loved being able to come home to great place for great night's sleep. Overall a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear COtraveler09,

Thank you for sharing your really nice review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.
It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, and we would like to thank you also for your kind words regarding our staff.
We look forward to seeing you again in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We really wanted to try a Boutique Hotel in Prague, we selected the Maximillian Hotel for the good reviews, tiny prices and location (the hotel is 5 minutes walking distance from the Old Town Hall Tower & Astronomical Clock, so convenient for a weekend there).
And we were not disappointed at all!

Prior our check in, the Guest Relations were really helpful and fast to answer for details arrangements.
We ask for a pick up car from the airport that was really convenient after our flight (approx. 30€).

We were welcomed by sweets birthday amenities in the bedroom and it was so kind of the Maximillian Staff to organize this (thanks for the happy Bday written on the helium balloon!).

Buffet breakfast was just beyond expectation, just the perfect way to start your day! And staff very kind!
Also, I had a full body traditional Ayurveda massage (90’), nice spa, experience and Asiatic Staff.
We really enjoyed the coffee breaks available each afternoon at the lounge and fell in love with the White Tea Fujian Peach.

The only point to comment was regarding the in room details. We had a rose on the bed upon our arrival and put it in the Champagne Ice bucket for the night, the bucket stayed there during our 4 days stay with the used napkins and bathroom amenities kits were not remplaced after being used…

Well, to conclude a really nice hotel in Prague to recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Camille_LRL,

First of all, please let me thank you for providing us with your detailed feedbak and for taking the time to write and post this review on our TripAdvisor page. I would once more like to thank you for having chosen us for such a special occasion as celebrating your birthday and I would like to congratulate to you on behalf of the whole team.
I am so happy that you were satisfied with the communation prior to your arrival and thank you also for mentioning how much you appreciated the surprises in your room. It was aso great to hear that you enjoyed our prime location, the wide breakfast selection and the 5 o'clock Coffee and Tea in our Honesty Bar - by the way, the White Tea Fujian Peach is indeed really nice! I am also glad that you also had a nice experience at the massage center.
It is my pleasure to know that you had a nice birthday celebration, however I am truly sorry to know that the issue you mentioned in the last part of your review caused some sort of inconvenience. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, because this will give us the chance to improve and we will do our best to avoid further occurence.
I look forward to seeing you again in Prague whenever you decide to return!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I am very happy that I decided to stay this hotel (I normally stay with major 4 star hotel as Marriott, Westin, Hyatt)
If I will come back again, of course I will choose this hotel again, excellence !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, General Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Lisa C,

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel in Prague as well as for leaving your feedback on our TripAdvisor page.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#20 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#22 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury hotel designed by Eva Jiricna, provides a stylish, relaxed and cozy atmosphere in the heart of medieval Prague: 1 suite, 70 rooms, all rooms are equipped with Nepresso Coffee Machine or Tea & Coffee facilities, WiFi connection. Conference room with terrace. Breakfast restaurant: 6.30 - 11.30 on weekends till 12.30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximilian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.