We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, location and bf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maximilian Hotel to your Saves list
Maximilian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastalska 14, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 661 Hotels in Prague
New York
1 review
“Great service, location and bf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I came here for our "baby moon" and really enjoyed everything about this hotel. The free breakfast every morning was delicious, the staff was very courteous and helpful in booking our tour reservations, the rooms are very clean and the location was absolutely ideal to all the sites we wanted to experience. Personally I felt the bed was not super comfortable but aside from that we really enjoyed our stay. Also, When you check in try to get a room with a view.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear ManiPR,

We would like to thank you for your nice review regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel. Thank you also for having chosen us for such a special occasion as your ''baby-moon''. Please allow us to congratulate to you on behalf of our entire team!
It was delightful to read your kind comments about our location, breakfast and staff, and we also appreciate your honest feedback about the bed in your room.
We look forward to seeing you again in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    277
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
165
619
75
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

we stayed at this property in september and were very pleased. The hotel has large rooms, friendly service and a great location that allows you to walk to all the major sites while at the same time the hotel is on a quiet side street.Great restaurant Lokal just 2 doors down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear thecatMiami,

Many thanks for your positive review about the Maximilian Hotel!
We are glad that you have good memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you would return to Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have been to Prague for both business and pleasure, and I must say that the Hotel Maximilian (and it's sister Hotel Josef) are atop my list of places to stay when in town. The staff are ALWAYS courteous and friendly, they provide a reasonably priced taxi to and from the airport, and their breakfast is actually excellent. Don't let most map software fool you; this hotel is right in the mix of everything you want and need for business or pleasure, and it is very competitively priced.

I also like the little things that this boutique hotel offers, such as having a goldfish as your "pet" during your stay. It's corny, but it is a nice little touch. I overwhelmingly suggest this property to anyone visiting Prague.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Matt K,

We would like to thank you for sharing your really nice review with us on our TripAdvisor page!
It is our great pleasure to know that you have chosen us for both business and leisure stays in Prague before and we are delighted to know that the Maximilian Hotel is one of your favorites during your trips.
We are glad that you like our prime location, breakfast, hotel cars, the service provided by our staff and also our pet goldfish.
We look forward to your next stay with us!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our stay at the Maximilian was excellent. The location was right by the Old Town and the Jewish Quarter, an easy walk to all the sites. The value couldn't be beat! It's a well-run full-service hotel with staff always ready to help you. The common rooms were cozy and a nice touch. The hotel was very clean and the room was decorated in a modern way with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was excellent--American favorites like scrambled eggs and sausage available, but also a great selection of cheeses, meats, breads, and yogurts. Breakfast started early for those with early days (business/sight-seeing/flights). They'll also help you book anything you need, including a car to the airport--this was a great way to begin our long trip home to the U.S.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear mungersmurf,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor!
We are truly happy to know that you had a pleasant stay at the Maximilian Hotel and we appreciate your kind comments regarding about all the features you liked here. It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and location and also that you were satisfied with the service our staff provided you with.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Very friendly staff, great location, clean rooms and the choice of buffet breakfast or something cooked for you at no extra cost. The common room with informal drinks and nibbles was a chance to meet other guests and plan the next day. Definitely recommend

Room Tip: Look for a floor that is serviced by the elevator - the top ones require you to use the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear 2wiseib,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post this review on our TripAdvisor page. We are pleased to hear that you found so many features of the Maximilian Hotel enjoyable. We are also happy to hear that you were able to relax and socialize in the Honesty Bar.
We look forward to have you as a guest at Maximilian Hotel in the future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great hotel. Clean, comfy and with a good location. Wifi in rooms, marvelous breakfast and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Thumbs up also for the restaurants nearby, especially La Degustation. Lokal and Kolkovna for tradiotional food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, General Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Ville S,

On behalf of the whole Maximilian Hotel team, I would like to thank you for leaving this kind feedback on our TripAdvisor page. It is great to hear such positive feedback about the service my team have provided you with. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the internet connection in your room.
We look forward to having you as our guest at the Maximilian Hotel in the future!

Best regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Loved our stay at The Maximilian Hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly( except spa staff). Location is perfect within strolling distance of restaurants, bars and The beautiful Old Town Square. Breakfast is excellent, love that it is served until 12.30 at the weekends- it really fills you up for the day!! My only negative comment is about our experience in the spa. Be warned that the massages given are very deep and are very painful,and ours actually gave us bruises, definitely not a relaxing experience.Shame.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear macidublin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post the above review on our TripAdvisor page regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and our breakfast. We were also really happy to read that you appreciated the service our staff provided you with.
We are truly sorry to know that you did not have a relaxing experience at the spa, however the massage center located in our hotel does have some really nice soothing therapies. Your comments have been taken on board and discussed with the concerning department.
We hope that you still had a great time in Prague and we hope to see you again at the Maximilian Hotel.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Prague
#18 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#25 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury hotel designed by Eva Jiricna, provides a stylish, relaxed and cozy atmosphere in the heart of medieval Prague: 1 suite, 70 rooms, all rooms are equipped with Nepresso Coffee Machine or Tea & Coffee facilities, WiFi connection. Conference room with terrace. Breakfast restaurant: 6.30 - 11.30 on weekends till 12.30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximilian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.