We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!! little touches make all the difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maximilian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastalska 14, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 668 hotels in Prague
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wow!! little touches make all the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed at the Maximilian weekend just gone, It was beautiful, the staff were great, friendly ans would bend over backwards to help. breakfast was brilliant stuffed before evening leaving the hotel for the day. it was the little things that made the hotel though, chocolates left for us on arrival, the spa treatment was amazing and to top it off I mentioned that my little girl wanted a photo of Max the fish. the receptionist organised a tank for me with a fish just so I could take a photo this was way beyond the call of duty fabulous place

Room Tip: ask to stay in the red house it was very very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear suzstow,

We would like to thank you for posting such nice feedback about your stay at the Maximilian Hotel! We are pleased that you mentioned how helpful our staff were with organizing the fish tank so your daughter could take a picture of our Goldfish.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    831
    258
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
136
545
64
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rossett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have stayed here many times, the location is good, not too far from Old Town Square.
The honesty bar is an interesting elelment of quirkiness but it seems to work.
Breakfast is excellent being served all morning so you can have a leisurely lie-in. Though there is no On site restraunt for dinner. That said a few steps outside the door and you are spoilt for a choice of restraurants.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear flowersrus,

Thank you for another a nice review! We are delighted to have you as a returning guest at the Maximilian Hotel, and we always appreciate your feedback. See you very soon for your next stay in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked the hotel based on the reviews and it didn't disappoint. Really friendly staff, very clean and comfortable room in a quiet square. Walking distance to all the tourist areas and restaurants. Good breakfast with as much fresh coffee as you can drink as well as daily specials (good eggs Benedict). All in all a good hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear mrheid,

We would like to thank you for posting your nice review on our TripAdvisor page! It is delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay here, and we hope we will see you at the Maximilian Hotel again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and it was the perfect location to visit Prague. Modern and really nicely furnished. We are big fans of the Small Luxury Hotels of the world and this hotel is no exception. great breakfast with a vast choice of additional meal on top a rich buffet, room were really nice and cosy and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear COTWGaParis,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Maximilian Hotel, and we would like to thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor!
We look forward to welcoming you back, should your plans bring you to Prague again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Really nice hotel, within walking distance of the Old Town Square and the main sights. Rooms are clean and well-equipped, I stayed in a superior (I think) room with Nespresso machine and balcony. Breakfast decent, and open late; honesty bar and lounge area pleasant enough; wifi included. Staff all extremely friendly and helpful.

Next door is Lokal, with its own beer on tap, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear James R,

Thank you for posting your review about the Maximilian Hotel on our TripAdvisor page! We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay here, and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Prague!

Kind regards,

Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for many nights in January at this gem. Prague is naturally a very walkable city, and the Maximilian is located very near the Old Town square. Bars, restaurants, and many tourist destinations are only a short walk away. We stayed in the red house section of the hotel. So clean, the cleaning staff was accommodating and very friendly. The concierge and front desk staff made us feel welcomed and comfortable. S many delights at this hotel: a spa, fabulous European style breakfast bar, an honor bar (you can trust us, really!), and a business center. The wait staff in the restaurant were so friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the room - a complimentary powe converter was in the room, and the aveda products were a nice touch. Next time we are in Prague, we plan to check out the sister hotel, the Josef, which is just around the corner from the Max. One of my best personal hotel experiences. Ever.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Randy B,

Thank you for such nice and detailed feedback about your stay with us! We are glad to know that you liked so many features and had a great time here. It is delightful to know that you are planning to come back, and we definitely look forward to seeing you again in Prague either at the Maximilian Hotel or Hotel Josef!

Kind regards,

Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Fantastic room. Clean, spacious and very confy. The heater system worked perfect. Nice details.
All the necesities you need and if there is something else you might need, they will help you.
Fantastic breakfast, very well replenished and with great variety of items.
Great staff, very friendly and always helpful.

A MUST if you ever visit Prague.

Room Tip: Book the superior class. It includes a bigger room, better view, nespresso, dvd rentals, etc. Boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Nicolas P,

We would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Prague, and also for your feedback and taking your time to post your review.
It is delightful to know that you liked the Maximilian Hotel! We were all really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated the details and the helpfulness of our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#19 Business Hotel in Prague
#25 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury hotel designed by Eva Jiricna, provides a stylish, relaxed and cozy atmosphere in the heart of medieval Prague: 1 suite, 70 rooms, all rooms are equipped with Nepresso Coffee Machine or Tea & Coffee facilities, WiFi connection. Conference room with terrace. Breakfast restaurant: 6.30 - 11.30 on weekends till 12.30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximilian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.