We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maximilian Hotel to your Saves list
Maximilian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Small and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just returned from Prague 3 nights Christmas markets and sightseeing Maximilian spot on for Old Town Square markets. The hotel staff are great the room was warm spotlessly clean ..the breakfast room was light and roomy with a buffet central area and good selection. If we return some day I would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Catsparkey,

Thank you for recommending the Maximilian Hotel on TripAdvisor! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here, and that you had a nice time in Prague visiting the Christmas markets as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    301
    28
    12
    3
See reviews for
188
687
81
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the Maximilian hotel for five nights.
This is a very nice hotel located very close to the Republic square (Palladuim mall) , to the Old town square and to the Jewish quarter .
The room was very nice and comfortable and also very clean .
The hotel serves a rich and full breakfast .
The staff is professional and kind .
We really reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Amashiah,

Thank you for such nice feedback! It is delighftul to know that you enjoyed staying here and that you found your room comfortable and our staff professional and kind. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the Maximilian for a week in August 2012. It is one of the best hotels we have stayed at anywhere. The rooms are comfortable and stylish, as is the hotel as a whole. All staff - from the front desk to the breakfast room - are friendly, accommodating, and very helpful. The breakfasts were great, with a wide variety of food available, and the menu changed from day to day. The Maximilian is located on a quiet square, just a quick walk from the historic centre of Prague. Many good restaurants are a stroll away. We would definitely stay at this fabulous hotel again if (when) we travel back to Prague.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear West_coast_17,

Thank you for your nice review!
We were happy to read that you found the atmosphere friendly and accommodating, and that you liked our breakast, the staff and the location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maximilian Hotel in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is a gem. I found this hotel when in Prague using the TripAdvisor App and 'Near me now'. Wow... what a find. From the minute we walked into the reception to enquire about a reservation we knew we would stay. The staff were so pleasant and helpful from the first minute to the end of our stay.

The hotel in general is so bright and warm which is just what you require in the cold weather. We were moving from a nearby hotel and enquired on availability, price, and they even let us check the room before confirming. We went to drop our bags at 10am but in fact they allowed us to check-in at that time. The room was really nice, a fine comfortable bed, and a really big desk to work at and free wifi. All was exceptionally clean and really 4 star plus standard. They have free DVDs in English which you can borrow and watch really comfortably in your room - either from the bed or the couch. When we were leaving for the evening we would pick a DVD and they would bring it to our room while we were out.

The breakfast was really lovely. And ran till 11.30 if you wanted a late one! Fresh fruit, specials you can order from the menu (no extra cost) and the standard pastries, juices, cold meats, hot buffet, teas etc. The staff were great in here also and I would say again closer to 5 star standard than 4 star.

The location here also is perfect, only 3-4 min walk to the Old Town Square. But at a price which is more than acceptable.

I really haven't come across such great staff in such a long time. We used the hotel driver to return us to the airport and again a great experience. The hotel is a credit to the team, really really comfortable, clean, and has everything you would need. The staff here really make this a very very pleasant stay. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear RoisinOD,

Thank you for recommending the Maximilian Hotel on TripAdvisor!
We are glad to know that we made your stay pleasant and that you liked so many features here, such as the atmosphere, your room, the complimentary DVDs, our breakfast and the hotel car service.
We hope you will choose us again if you are planning to return to Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in Prague, look no further. I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights during our time in Prague and we could not have chosen a more wonderful and accommodating place. First of all, we booked our room using the online "chat" session, where someone from the hotel answered all of our questions about location, price, etc. Upon arriving, we got a short tour of the hotel and were showed the complimentary bar, a lounge, and the breakfast/dining area, all very contemporary. During our stay, the staff was knowledgeable, friendly, and offered to make dinner reservations for us at different recommended restaurants. Our room had a beautiful street view, wonderful shower, and flat screen TV with several channels. You can even ask for a complimentary goldfish in your room - which we did :)

Be sure to head downstairs for the complimentary breakfast. The hotel has an amazing breakfast buffet, but also has a menu of omelets, fruit crepes, smoothies, etc. Everything was amazing! Five stars.

PS- Walking distance from Prague Castle, Old Town Square, Dancing House, Pubs/ Restaurants, and Train Station

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear jnm88,

Thank you for recommending our hotel on our TripAdvisor page!
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay here. We are glad that you found the chat service useful and our staff knowledgeable. Thank you also for mentioning that you liked your room, the goldfish, our breakfast and the location of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had 3 nights here. Large, very comfortable room. Excellent breakfast buffet, served till late morning. Really helpful pleasant staff (thanks Andrea!). All the main sights are in easy walking distance, and there are some excellent restaurants nearby for an evening meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear John J,

Thank you for your nice review! It is delightful to know that you liked your room, our breakfast and that you found our staff helpful. We are really happy that you enjoyed staying at the Maximilian Hotel.
We definitely look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, UK
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

You get the feeling that this hotel is that bit different as you check in at the office style desks where you sit down and are offered fresh coffee, apple cinnamon tea, hot chocolate or lime water to drink. The staff speak perfect English and are very friendly and helpful. We arrived at the hotel at about 11 am and had no problem checking in early. The hotel had a modern feel to it with very comfortable furniture and fittings. The heating/air conditioning system was powerful and very effective with everything finished to a very high standard from the bed sheets to the toiletries and even the toilet paper being thick and soft. The rooms had thick bathrobes and slippers to use as well. In reception and the honesty bar hot drinks were free all day and cake/strudel was brought out at around 5pm. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of teas and coffees to drink a large buffet table ranging from fresh fruits to cereals, smoked salmon up to eggs and sausages. A printed menu was also available which included omelettes, pancakes, eggs benedict etc all cooked to order and brought to your table, all of this was included in the breakfast.
The overall feel was of relaxed class and comfort with the feeling that they were not trying to get every extra penny they could out you
This hotel is in an excellent location for the old town and old town square with plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance and Prague’s good public transport network close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear HairyO,

Thank you for taking your time to post such a nice and detailed review!
We are delighted to know that you liked the refreshments during check-in, your room, our breakfast, the atmosphere and the location of the hotel. We also appreciate your nice words about our staff, and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#21 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#21 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury hotel designed by Eva Jiricna, provides a stylish, relaxed and cozy atmosphere in the heart of medieval Prague: 1 suite, 70 rooms, all rooms are equipped with Nepresso Coffee Machine or Tea & Coffee facilities, WiFi connection. Conference room with terrace. Breakfast restaurant: 6.30 - 11.30 on weekends till 12.30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximilian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.