We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 star” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aida to your Saves list
Aida
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kubisova 1953/23, Prague 18000, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Apollo) (Praha 8)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Kerava, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1 star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We trusted the 4 star rating, but the reality was something else. It was more like 1 or 2 stars. The beds where hard, the rooms where standard and there was no ac. The front dest guy didn't speak english. The breakfast was in a dining area thas was like scholl cafeteria. The walls had some straige splatter marks and the food serving look unhygienic. Really far from center of Prague ( outside tourist maps) but relatively easy to get to by tram (20min from center). Good if you want a place to sleep with tight budjet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    95
    47
    35
    24
See reviews for
36
98
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Very good acomadation bit far out not suitable to elderly people but would recomend Adrian & anna

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I chose this hotel because it had a '4 star' rating. Under normal circumstances one would think that it would be very good to have earned a '4 Star' rating - how wrong can you be! Situated well outside Prague it will cost between £10 and £20 per taxi trip to get to and from the city. This depends on how much the driver wants to rip you off, or indeed, if he will take you at all. There is no lift to get you up to your room. The 'twin' room was tiny and resembled what I would imagin a prison cell to look like. A small tv (about 12 inch screen) was stuck on a wall, no volumn control and only CNN in english (American). Does not cater for English speaking tourists as all other tv channels were in czech yet no Czechs were staying there. The shower cubical was so small one could not turn around in it. Luckily the shower head was faulty and sprayed water in all directions. The complimentry toiltries consisted of a plunger type bottle of 'all in one' shampoo and body soap! The tea and coffee supplied in the room was not replenished in the three nights we had there. Breakfast was disgusting and every effort should be mad to avoid it. My sister became ill after the second and last attempt at eating it. There is no restaurant or bar, air conditioning or room service. The person on reception was very helpful but if you can not find the receptionist, bang on the door behind the counter as they will be asleep in the room. I do not know who gives out 'star' ratings or how anyone would think this is a good hotel, it is not.

Room Tip: A room in a different hotel would be my advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Hotel was perfect for a cheap city break if you are on a budget. Booked package through Easyjet and cannot fault Easyjet. Arrived at airport on a late flight and transfer was there waiting for us (name on board in arrivals). Got to hotel at about 10 pm and the lady at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Was given a city map and several booklets about the sights etc. Was also given a little map to help and find the nearest metro station, pub and shop. She explained where nearest metro station was. You turn right out of the hotel, take the next right up the hill past Hotel Troja then turn left past the tram station and then take the first right and the metro is in front of you. However, tip for when you come out of the metro station: when you come off the metro from the city centre (old and new towns) turn left on the platform and that is the exit that you need as we turned right once and come out the other side and got lost, trying to find our way back to hotel! We got a 3 day pass and was reasonable. Allowed us to travel around as much as we wanted. However, don't forget to validate your ticket at the top of the escalators in the metro station. You only need to do it once at the start of your journey to get the date stamped. We though you had to do it every time you entered a metro station so we ended up with quite a few stamps!! Got asked for tickets twice on whole 3 day break and inspectors were really nice about it and just told us not to stamp anymore!!

Room was lovely and clean. Basic but what else do you need for a city break where you hardly spend any time at the hotel! Heating was handy especially when one night was cold. Cleaners come round every day. Fridge was always stocked up with cold drinks but remember you do have to pay for anything you have at the end of your stay.

Breakfast was basic but ideal. Hot and cold food. Myself and my husband are not big breakfast eaters anyway but we just had a roll or something just to keep us going until lunch.

We were thoroughly pleased with the hotel and how close it was the nearest metro station and tram station. We only used the metro during our stay. Changed money up at the hotel reception and got a good rate.

Transfer picked us up at abut 7 am to go back to Prague airport. Check in at Prague airport was easy and quick.

Would def travel with Easyjet again and book a package holiday with them. Husband didn't like the rushing and queueing to board the flight but that can easily be overcome by purchasing "speedy boarding passes".

Room Tip: If you are a couple and wish to have a double bed, you will not get this here. We had two single be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

When traveling, we look for relatively near hotel, with a good price and that allows us to sleep in comfortable and clean rooms. If this is your case as well, this hotel it is a good deal for you.

Location: The hotel is really close to metro Kosybili (which is 10 minute away from center). Since public transportation has a excellent price in Prague (Less than 5 euros a 24 hour pass, including bus to airport), it is actually a good deal to stay in this hotel.

Food: Their continental breakfast, which is included, it is not much diverse but is pretty good. During our stay they had scrambled eggs, bacon, differents types of bread, jam, cereal, cheese and ham. Drinks: coffee, tea and apple juice. Yogurt as well. You can eat all that you want since it is selfservice, so this can really help you to save money during the day.

Not a luxury hotel: Regarding the 4 stars branding, definetely this can tend to confuse people in comparison with other hotels, for instance in the US or France. Beware, this is not a luxury accomodation. Nevertheless, it is, both, nice and comfortable.

Traveling means not spending much time in the hotel: When we travel, we want someplace nice and close to return and rest, after walking all day long. Therefore, under these considerations we would definetely recommend this hotel. However, if you are like my dad, and you just like to stay in the hotel all day long, while the rest of the family tours around a great city like Prague, you wont probably like this place (because the TV is small, and strangely placed in the corner, the shower is small, and you listen everyone walking in and out).

Conclusion: Great hotel, for its price, location, and breakfast.

Room Tip: Couples should ask at the frontdesk for actual queen bed. We had two twin beds next to each other, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stay in this hotel for three nights in March on our first visit to this beautiful city of Prague. We arrived by Easy Jet on a late flight at around 10pm. Check in was quick and easy, we stay on the third floor, there's no lift, the stairs was a little struggle but we manage ok. The room was rather small but clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was standard continental style and plentiful. We discoverd a restaurant on top of the underground station ( Kobylisy) which serve excellent meal at a very reasonable price and a pint of beer at £1.40!! For those traveller who arrive on earlier flight can by a day travel pass in the airport terminal for 110 Koruna and take the 119 bus to Dejvicka Metro station and change to the Red C line at MUZEUM to Kobylisy whick take 15 minute. The hotel is only 10 minute walk from the station. Publis transport near the hotel is well connected to the city. We love this hotel and will use this hotel when we visit Prague in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Advertised as only 5 stops away from the main attractions, this is true but is in quite a derelict area miles away from anything with minimal amenities aka in the middle of no-where. What there is, is hard to find. The hotel is basic, rooms are basic and small. A double is just two single beds together and the beds were squeaky and rock hard. Lampshades missing off the lights in room and shower room. No english channels subscribed to in room.

A receptionist with a fridge of refreshments with a few tables and chairs was all the entertainment the hotel offered.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aida

Address: Kubisova 1953/23, Prague 18000, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Apollo)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#143 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aida 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly reconstructed hotel, situated in an attractive area overlooking all Prague, the Aida is just 5 subway stop from Wenceslas Square, the main Prague boulevard with many shops, restaurants and open air markets. The Hotel offers 47 rooms all comfortably equipped with modern furniture, bathroom (shower or bath, WC), complimentary toiletries, flat screen TV/SAT, direct dial phone, hair dryer, ceiling ventilator, in-room safe, minibar, high speed internet connection and tea & coffee making facilities free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aida Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.