We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but too cosmopolithan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Prague

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Prague to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Prague
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parizska 30, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #103 of 668 hotels in Prague
rochester, ny
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice, but too cosmopolithan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2006

A very nice hotel and good service. I do appreciate a formal approach of czech personelle as opposed to friendly/intrusive attitude in the US. The decor is very cosmopolithan, no local flavor whatsoever, but of a very high quality. The breakfast buffet was nice, but overpriced. You will get a much better value if you cross the plaza in the back and go to a little coffee shop. Good location. Great health club, i especially enjoyed the sauna. swedish massage was also good. all in all i do not mind staying at this hotel, but for my next trip to prague i reserved a more atmospheric hotel. will let you knwo how it turn out.

  • Stayed May 2001, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    386
    94
    24
    11
See reviews for
119
380
59
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

The hotel is a refurbished and upgraded Intourist from the Communist era, hence the horrible monsteresque building. Those who care about style and design would stay clear of thise hotel - it's a fairly standard 4-star (pretending to be 5-) "chain" hotel - bland but comfortable enough.

As I travelled to Prague on business, and my business partner booked the hotel, it delivered what is promised - nothing more and nothing less.

The only issue I have with the hotel is the attitude of certain members of staff. Upon checking out (7.30 am) I was literally "attacked" by the bell boy wanting to help me with the luggage (i.e. collect his 5 euros). Fair enough, I'm not tight, but as I only had a small case I felt perfectly able to wheel it the 10 meters from the check-in (-out) desk to the cab waiting outside, so I politely declided the bell boy's offer. To my great astonishment he then went on to INSIST on giving me a hand with the luggage and I as I was in no mood for this sort of behaviour - especially not at that hour - I had to raise my voice and tell the guy that I needed no help "thank you very much!". The bell boy, point taken, cleared off - but the receptionist - having observed the short ordeal from a short distance - in what can only be seen as a move of solidarity with her colleague, she decided to just leave, having checked me out, without even saying goodbye. Extremely unprofessional and unecessary to say the least. After all it was the Bell boy who'd put me in the awkward situation in the first place. Next time I'll stay at the Radisson.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2006

The InterContinental is at a great location for seeing Prague by foot. Easy access to inexpensive trams (#17) just across the street. Easy walking to all sites in Prague. The hotel is modern, spacious, and clean. We had a very comfortable stay and would select this location again if we were to return. It is recommended that you avoid taxi's in Prague - the hotel car to the airport is about $30. Tourist note: On the palace side - trams #23 and 22 will get you up and down the road to the palace easily - buy a few passes.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2006

Great location, easy walk to Old Town Square, and shopping, shopping, shopping. Service was very good. Room amenities are wonderful. My only hesitation is breakfast buffet. At $25 per person, it's pricey (as is Internet in room service). but there are numerous cafes and internet businesses nearby which offer you a reasonable alternative.

All things considered, I'd return there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2006

Excellent location, good value. Was there 11/05 for a 200 delegate business meeting. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
186 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
478 helpful votes 478 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2005

We spent two nights at the Intercontinental Prague from 12/21-12/23/2005. Paid a little more for a Deluxe Riverview Room. Simply gorgeous view out of our windows, worth every cent!

Other than the slightly smallish room, the other problem seems to be a fire bridage engine or an ambulance nearby pertually sounding its sirens during the day. Luckily, its very quiet during the night.

The Hotel serves a very good spread for its breakfast and reception was great in acceding to our request of an early check in at around 10am, much to our surprise! Maybe its winter time and more rooms are available, but its really important to us especially we had just flown some 15-16 hours from Singapore, in Asia. God Bless us!

Location of the Hotel is also very good, tram 17 is only two stops to Charles Bridge and some stops to the Lesser Quarter. To the Old Town Square, it is only a good 5-7 minutes walk, on the beautiful Pariska Street where you can find branded names like LV, Hermes, Chanel etc.

Christmas time in Prague is simply magical, but be sure to choose a hotel with good location as the taxi drivers are notorious in asking for ridiculous prices. A 5 minutes journey can easily costs you 250 crowns when a call to the taxi centre only costs some 120 crowns. Thus, be prepared to do some walking, or take trams by all means. Avoid taxis, if you can.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2005

Just got back from spending 4 nights in Prague. Stayed at the Inter-Continental right next to Old Town as we are being relocated there by our company for 2 years. Was not keen to go as we had previously lived in Paris and in my mind, nothing could be better than Paris. Boy was I wrong. The hotel was wonderful and Prague is amazing. We got upgraded to a suite after the staff insisted on showing us several different options. Then got a lovely basket of wine and fruit and goodies. Breakfast was included and what a spread was put on. Maybe a little too smokey, but hey, we are in Europe, small sacrifice. The hotel is centrally located to everything. The staff are without exception friendly and helpful. There was no price gouging of any kind, including the car to the airport. Request a corner suite with a view of the river. Everyone told us to get a view of the old town but there is no such view - it just looks onto a courtyard and apartment building. The view of the river and the castle is gorgeous. The pool is chilly but nice. The gym is wonderful. We plan on staying there again very soon as we continue our house search.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Prague

Address: Parizska 30, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Prague
#52 Business Hotel in Prague
#73 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#86 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#87 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Prague 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presiding regally above the hilly banks of the Vltava River, the InterContinental Prague is the landmark choice of Prague hotels, providing a sophisticated setting for all types of travel. Experience the City from its premier location - in the heart of the Prague’s historic Old Town. Magnificent accommodations provide the perfect base from which to explore the shops, restaurants, and architectural treasures that give the region its distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Praha Hotel Prague
Intercontinental Hotel Prague
Intercontinental Hotel Praha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.