We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Prague - THE place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Palais Art Hotel Prague

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Palais Art Hotel Prague to your Saves list
Le Palais Art Hotel Prague
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   U Zvonarky 1, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #38 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Gem in Prague - THE place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Incredible. This hotel sets itself clearly apart from any other we are aware of in Prague. The level of service is far above any standard expected, the rooms are delightful and the staff overwhelming. You will not go wrong here if you choose to stay, which basically is a must!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    109
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
86
389
30
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I believe I may be echoing the words of many other reviewers of Hotel Le Palais but when the truth is there it can't be ignored. From my first moment of contact with the Management and Staff of this fantastic hotel to the very last moment when I left every single member of staff whom I encountered worked as if I was the only guest in the hotel. They were attentive, informative, entertaining, professional, immaculately presented, knowledgeable and welcoming at every instance.

Sometimes staff in top end hotels are highly trained but rarely is there the feeling of warmth and being part of a team dedicated to customer care like I have encountered at Le Palais.

The decor and rooms in this superior old hotel arre outstanding as is its location on the perimeter of the Old Town centre. Trams are available within metres of the front door and the efficient metro connections only a five minute walk away.

The breakfasts are sumptuous and served expertly with great care taken in preparation and presentation. Also the view across the city from the restaurant adds to the whole feeling that you are in someplace special and not another anonymous hotel.

My recommendation is simple; if your budget allows you the luxury of staying at Le Palais, do not miss the opportunity.
Someday I hope to return for more of this unique Prague delight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have never stayed in a hotel where every single member of the staff was: pleasant, eager to help, friendly, and welcoming. The room was lovely, the bathroom was a treat (heated floors AND ample space), the breakfast was the best of our european vacation. But the real difference was the staff. Like the other reviewers have said, they go out of their way to be as helpful as possible and make your stay comfortable.

While yes, the hotel isn't in the center of the old town sites, the experience at the Palais more than makes up for it. We took advantage of the public tram system and were pleasantly surprised on how easy it was to get back to the hotel at night.

Highly recommended, we really can't say enough nice things about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed four nights in September on a jet2 package. Everything about the Hotel is good - service, food and rooms. Location might not suit all as it is 20 minutes walk to Wenceslas Square, 10 minutes to the Metro or 5 minutes to the tram. We enjoyed the neighbourhood, coffee at Pauls by Pavlova metro and dinner at Sapori which is on Americka and not where it says on google.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We did n't book his hotel. We only stayed here for 1 night because our original hotel sent us here. However, it's a great hotel. On arrival, we were met by friendly staff, one of whom gave us a tour of the hotel. She took us to our room and got out a map of Prague and explained where the hotel is in relation to the sights, restaurants etc. We were told that we could have a complimentary drink in the bar when we were ready. Not only that, but there was also a free well stocked mini bar with a couple of bottles of beer, a couple of small bottles of wine (1 red & 1 white), some water, coke, fruit juices and some nibbles etc.

The room was nice, and clean, and the bed was comfortable. It's a quiet hotel in a residential area, so we had no problems sleeping that night.

After freshening up, we went out to dinner. On our return to the hotel, we went to the hotel bar for our complimentary drinks. It was a nice, relaxing, comfortable and well decorated bar. We stayed for a couple of drinks, before going up to our room.

We had breakfast in the hotel the next morning. The selection of hot and cold food was great, and they even has Prosecco available, which was a nice touch, and made us feel like we were having a "Champagne" breakfast.

It's a very good hotel. It's a shame it's quite far from the main sights.

There is a spa at the hotel, but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Let me first agree with all the other reviewers on how nice of a property this is. The buffet breakfast is outstanding and the hotel is gorgeous. Our room was nice, however, they tried to first give me a room without wifi, I did have to wait while they changed my room to one with wireless. They first told me there was only wireless in the lobby. The only complaint I had about the room was that the mattress was so hard I felt like I was sleeping on a box spring and they had forgotten to put a mattress. A/C was very weak and the room was hot at night. By the third night we just opened the window. It's very quiet. And an old tube t.v., quite odd for such an upscale property but it didn't matter to us as we never turned it on. The complimentary mini-bar was a nice touch. The lighting in the bathroom was excellent and extremely clean with lovely toiletries.

However if i had to do over I would have chosen a hotel closer to the center of town. We were able to find the hotel using public transportation (we asked for a cab at the train station T.I. and we told "no one in Prague takes cabs." )

Knowing that the hotel is a distance from town, I was shocked they could not provide simple, clear instructions on the best way to get from "A" to "B".
There is no concierge and we expected a little help with directions and getting around town. This is not in a 'touristy' part of town but it's quite far to the metro/tram, around 15 minutes. That might not seem far but after walking for hours in town (on hilly, cobblestones streets) you might be tired and want to home back to your hotel and rest before your next activity. The metro is quite deep and we timed the escalator alone at about 3 minutes. The neighborhood around the hotel is a working class one, there are no amenities for tourists. The area is not well lit but we never felt unsafe because people there don't have handguns like the U.S. but it's not an upscale area. We did take a cab into town one night but it took about 40 minutes (traffic). We never used the car service because the times were inconvenient, no service after 4 p.m.

If we asked for help they pulled out a map so small you need a magnifying glass. To get an idea of how complicated the map is, the best way I can describe it is some one dropped pick up sticks and cooked spaghetti together. In short, the streets are not on grids. On three occasions we got very poor or wrong directions on using transportation. We asked for recommendations for local restaurant, we were sent to a depressing neighborhood dive. The hotel restaurant was quite pricey, we were charged $12 for a bottle of water. But the final straw was we asked for a wake-up call for 4:30 a.m. to go to the airport, the call never came.

Room Tip: ONly some of the rooms have wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePalaisPrague, General Manager at Le Palais Art Hotel Prague, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Le Palais for your recent stay in Prague. It has been our pleasure to have you in our hotel.

I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.

It is our plan to extend the WIFI connection to all rooms, as well as to install flat screen TVs.
We were surprised to learn about the working class hotel neighborhood as the Vinohrady district is considered as an upscale residential area of Prague with many restaurants, bars and small shops in the vicinity.

Your comments about the wake up call and lack of concierge services inspire all of us to evolve to a higher level of professionalism and deeper understanding of guest needs in everything we do.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to share your experience and comments for our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Jana Jeschek
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked this on the strength of other reviews on Tripadvisor. Never been emailed by a hotel manager prior to a trip before! We used the airport pick up service and experienced excellent service from all staff from that moment on. Service was truly 5 star in a beautifully decorated hotel. The breakfast selection is wonderful to start your day off and we loved having a turn down service which was a special treat to return to after some lovely meals out in the evenings. Set in a quiet area it is delightful to come back to after a busy day spent sightseeing. We enjoy walking so we did not mind the 15 min straight walk to the top of Wenceslas Square but as already mentioned they do have a free car service. All in all we would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this quality hotel as a fantastic base to explore Prague.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Mark Luxury Hotel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Deco Imperial
Art Deco Imperial
#36 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#22 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palais Art Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palais Art Hotel Prague

Address: U Zvonarky 1, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Palais Art Hotel Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1841, restored from 1888 until 1897, the luxury Le Palais Art Hotel is a striking example of Belle Epoque architecture. The historic ornamental stucco and magnificent wall paintings help to create an unforgettable impression. A special atmosphere can be found in the spacious rooms and suites at our luxury hotel in Prague. The intimate size of le Palais (72 rooms) guarantees a different approach to our guests, a personal, refined approach in every single detail. This attention to the details, the personal touches and guest oriented assistance distils in a uniquely Italian artistic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Palais Art Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Palais Art Hotel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.