We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price of admission” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Old-New Synagogue (Staronova synagoga)

Old-New Synagogue (Staronova synagoga)
Cervena 2, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
224-819-456
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 277 Attractions in Prague
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The oldest surviving example of a medieval twin-nave synagogue, the early-Gothic structure was built during the 13th century.
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not worth the price of admission”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Unless you are knowledgeable about the Jewish faith and history and can fully appreciate Jewish artifacts, skip this. It is a very small building and not much in the way of sights. We did not think it was at all worth the price of admission. I've visited many mosques, churches and synagogues and this one was disappointing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    33
    28
    27
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
1,240 reviews 1,240 reviews
1,039 attraction reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
634 helpful votes 634 helpful votes
“An ancient gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Dating back to the late 1200's (do you believe it???), this gem of a synagogue is wonderful example of a Gothic building, and it IS the most ancient synagogue in Europe.
While I did not find any trace of the famous Golem in the synagogue, walking in its two ancient naves and absorbing the atmosphere was truly a wonderful experience.
While no photography is allowed inside, as long as you keep you flash switched off – you'd be fine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing synagogue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We paid for it (400 CZK) and later we were told that if you go to pray (of course, if you are jewish), only on shabbat they do, entrance was free.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“My Favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Of all the synagogues we visited in Prague, this in my humble opinion was the one that felt most spiritual . I loved it for its symplicity, and one could feel time stand still. It really felt ancient and like a refuge, which during some of the more turbulent times in Europe must have been greatly valued. We bought the two day pass for the Jewish quarters, and this synagogue and the old cemetery accross the street were my and my wife's favourite.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced rip-off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

There is no doubting the cultural and religious importance of this building – but that can be the only reason to visit. The building is old, but lacks the architectural quality of most churches in Prague. However, the most disappointing thing was the decision to charge over £7 per person. A ridiculous price to visit what is, in effect, a small room. Unless you are going for religious reasons, don’t bother

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old-New Synagogue (Staronova synagoga)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old-New Synagogue (Staronova synagoga), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.