We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wait for a cookcoo and nothing happens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Hall and Astronomical Clock (Staromestska Radnice)

Old Town Hall and Astronomical Clock (Staromestska Radnice)
Staromestske Namesti 1, Prague 110 00 , Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
420 724 508 584
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Special Offer
$21*
and up
Walking Tour of Prague's Royal Route
Ranked #13 of 1,243 things to do in Prague
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Completed in 1354, this seventy-meter-high tower features the famous 16th-century Astronomical Clock, an important symbol of Prague.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“wait for a cookcoo and nothing happens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

we stopped to have a drink by the clock as there were people waiting for it to strike past the hour mark and nothing happened when it did (well we didn't see anything)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,166
    1,898
    620
    111
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A piece of history...but remember, it's HISTORY.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've been obsessed with this clock since, well - since I knew it existed. That being said, anything - and I mean ANYTHING - that this clock does beyond the "telling time" function is going to be gold-plated for me. However, there are tourists who go to Prague (my husband being one of them) and have no idea what this clock thing is or why it's important. Then the clock strikes the hour aaaand...some little figures appear and a skeleton rings a bell and the display is over. I don't know if I should be sad that at every hour a HUGE group of people stand in front of the clock (standing room only, please!) and get disappointed after the display or that I should be happy that this piece of history that a lot of people don't even know about is now getting noticed. They offer tours of the tower all the way to the top, which offers the most AMAZING views of the surrounding countryside, so please - spend that additional 7 EUR or $5 or whatever your denomination is and see the amazing views and the walk through history!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tough on neck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Could not quit figure out the clock but that's Okay. Saw the apostles and the rooster. I'm easy to please. Its a should see.The story behind the clock is a good one.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Go early if you want to go to the top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Clock tower is gorgeous and attracts huge crowds at the bottom to watch the hourly display. We chose to also climb the tower (220 Kc for family of 4) which is worth doing as the views are fantastic. We were luck as we happened to go early just as the crowds were building - after which the queues inside the tower (where you can't see them from the street) are phenomenal. Is very cramped and can only move one way around the tower with very limited space for people to queue. As we left the queue was backed up down the spiral staircase and moving VERY slowly. Definitely worth seeing but go early!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clock is fascinating - see it with the Old Town Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I loved the history of the clock as well as the beauty of it. Still not sure I understand completely how it works. But don't get overly stressed about seeing it at the "top of the hour" - yes it does have some movement then but it's pretty minimal. And there will be major crowds at each top of the hour. At other times you can more easily see the clock and take pictures of it. I recommend sitting for a coffee in one of the restaurants directly across from it just before the hour so you can see the movement without having to fight the crowd.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Hall and Astronomical Clock (Staromestska Radnice) also viewed

 

Been to Old Town Hall and Astronomical Clock (Staromestska Radnice)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Hall and Astronomical Clock (Staromestska Radnice), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.