We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical view of recency Czech history. Loved the bunker.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prague Special Tours by Ivan Galik

Prague Special Tours by Ivan Galik
Male Namesti 11/459, Prague, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
+420 777 172 177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 274 Tours & Activities in Prague
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Prague Special Tours was established by Ivan Galik,who himself has been a tourguide for more than a decade here in Prague offering tours for Prague visitors with a different focus on this city, more than the general sightseeing but going deep under the skin,or under the ground in some cases providing tours, which in general no other companies have in the offers. Focus on specialised topics with a direct approach made us to one of the fastest growing companies in tourism business in Prague.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great historical view of recency Czech history. Loved the bunker.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Jan our guide took us around the communist and cold war era parts of Prague including the bunker. Absolutely fascinating.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    15
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very interesting topic and knowledgeable tour guides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We did three tours with this tour company, The Prague Underground Tour, The Prague Communism Tour and the Ghost Tour and enjoyed them all immensely.

The Prague Communism Tour takes you on a historical tour of the quieter parts of the city to show that there are still buildings from the Communist time being used today before a short tram ride out of the city to explore one of the still in tact bunkers. Our tour guide (Alexis) was very knowledgeable and was not afraid to discuss his ideas and thought about Communism.

We also took the Underground Tour. This tour was also very interesting and showed parts of the city I am sure even the natives have forgotten about. Our tour guide was again knowledgeable and happy to answer any questions. It was wonderful to see such a wonderful part of the city and so well preserved, despite all the recent (and not so recent) floods.

Our last tour with this company was the Ghost Tour, a shorter tour and mainly aimed at children. Our tour guide really engaged the children and it was a fun, light hearted tour.

I felt we were well looked after by this tour company and would recommend them but make sure to look out for the 33% off promotions (which you should be able to get through your hotel) as this discount made the price of the tour reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent tour with Darina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved our tour with Darina. I can't remember what it was called but the tour was of three underground sections. Darina was wonderful! Very knowledgeable, friendly, excellent English! It was so good we booked the ghost tour that evening. It was a different tour guide (a woman) who was also very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“horrible welcome at the office”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

we really looked forward to book a tour with prague special tours (underground or ghost tour) after a short visit in their ticket office in the city we decided not to book one with this company. Why? Because the guy behind the counter (after some digging online we discovered that he owns the business) was the most unfriendliest salesperson we've ever met. He seemed completely disinterested in helping to explain the tours and times to us, didn't even looked into our faces, because he was busy doing something on the computer, he was rude and extremely customer unfriendly. The whole experience left a bad taste in our mouths and we were not keen to see wether the guides of the tours are like this aswell. apparently your company doesnt need our money Ivan?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan Galik T, Manager at Prague Special Tours by Ivan Galik, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello,
as the manager of Prague Special Tours I am responding to the text written above.
Of course it is an unfortunate this happened, I do appologize if from their side this happened, but it is not exactly described in full detail. I do not work at the office at daytimes or sell tickets,i do come out of office hours instead to finish work as checking all daily papers, counting the cash register, take bills to the bank and make sure of this this this, which needs to be done properly and office should be closed so no inteeruptions happen. When people pop-in out of our opening times, You have 2 options: send them away? and tell them to come after we are opened, or somehow, without possibly trying to loose the things done and at least finishing the next step, try to answer any question. That is not really easy, believe me. It looks like these german people maybe wanted more attention than usual, but that was in that given conditions not possible, unfortunately, everybody blame me. (Or was better to say: Sorry, not now, please do come tomorow. while sitting there with paperwork on the lap, notes, computer running,etc?) As nobody took any money from this people at all and they have not been no any of our unique tours, for next time I must make sure that out of the operational hours the office will be locked and kindly ask people to return some other time, instead trying to do 2 things at the same time.
Best Regards
ivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Ghost tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We did the Ghost Tour and it was really fun and entertaining. We absolutely loved it. The guide was really funny.. Too bad my stay in Prague was short, otherwise i wouldve done the underground tour, it sounds interesting :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prague Special Tours by Ivan Galik also viewed

 

Been to Prague Special Tours by Ivan Galik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prague Special Tours by Ivan Galik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.