We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from the top; teaser library view leaves you wanting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Klementinum Praha

Klementinum Praha
Marianske Namesti 5, Prague, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
420 222 220 879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 1,243 things to do in Prague
Attraction details
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Great view from the top; teaser library view leaves you wanting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went for the combination concert/tower tour package during our visit to Prague. The billed "Christmas concert" was really mostly non-Christmas music with one or two pieces seasonal pieces included. That seemed to be the case with many of the concerts. Still, the music was enjoyable and the concert hall certainly interesting to see.

The performers and tour guide/concert "host" were almost mechanical in their presentations.It felt sort of like an assembly line-get people in the seats, give the concert, give the tour, get them out. I'm pretty sure that we could have haggled for a cheaper price because the sales guy at the ticket counter seemed to be trying to get as many people in as possible.

Still, the experience was worthwhile. There was not as much to see on the way up the tower as I would have liked. The view of the city from the very top is worthwhile though, and we were not rushed. Disappointing was the view of the library. It is gorgeous, but we were allowed only to enter about 2 meters into the room. I could have spent hours in that library!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    73
    21
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“absolutely stunning view of prague!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Clementinum is a complex consisting of tower, chapel, and library and situated in Old Town area. We have to buy ticket and go for a 1-2 hours tour to go around the buildings. Firstly, there is the Mirror Chapel which is usually used for concert hall. Another highlight of this tour is the Baroque Library. The interior of the library is very luxurious and classic. However we cannot enter the library and we are not allowed to take any picture. In the tower, we can also observed many astronomical equipments.
The most stunning feature of this tower is the observation deck at the top of the library. There are so many stairs and it is quite exhausting to climb all the stairs. But once you get to the top, the view was completely amazing!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Library is the highlight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Worth seeing for the library with its globe collection. Just a gorgeous space. Not impressed with our tour guide who was difficult to understand and appeared bored. Also not impressed with the Mirror Chapel so we were glad that we did not see the concert there. It is very small and not that attractive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Amazing view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Imagining the 18th century genius astronomers gazing through the lens, mapping the moon surface on this place is an amazing feeling. The library is whimsical, too bad pictures aren't allowed. Climb the stairs to the top of astronomical tower and you'll get 360 degree of Prague's stunning view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Magical place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Amazing library in Harry Potter style.Fantastic concert in Mirror Chapel.
Out of this world experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klementinum Praha also viewed

 

Been to Klementinum Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klementinum Praha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.