We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best three hours of our four day trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Insight Cities Prague

Insight Cities Prague
U Studanky 30, Prague 17000, Czech Republic
+420 777 039 515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 243 Tours & Activities in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walking Tours
Yorkshire
1 review
“The best three hours of our four day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Having pre booked a free city tour and have no one show up twice, we decided to pay for a tour with Vadim on our last morning and it was the best three hours of the whole trip. Having already seen many of the sights, Vadim was able to tailor our tour to our interests and we learnt so much about the social history, political struggles and architecture, it totally was fascinating . Were so impressed by his passion, insights and intellect, if we had longer we would have booked another tour with him.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
“An unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

What an extraordinary introduction to a great city! We spent two days (four hours per day) walking around Prague with Vadim, and came away with a real sense of its rich though troubled history and an appreciation for the ironic perspective of Czech artists and intellectuals (we will never forget King Wenceslas on his upsidedown horse hanging from the ceiling or the 20th century architects immortalized on the frieze of St. Vitus Cathedral). Vadim is very knowledgeable about religious history and its impact on Czech cultural life. He is also particularly good at pointing out details that distinguish one style from another and showing us how an artist pays homage to a previous style while creating something new. Prague is indeed a palimpsest as Vadim told us in his introduction. Pity the poor tourists wandering around Prague in big groups, taking pictures of themselves at famous sights and returning home none the wiser.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best city walk in Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My wife & I went on a 2 1/2 hr walking tour with Vadim. He's one of the free tour guides in Prague and you can find him in front of the Tourist office on the main square (behind the Hus statue) in the center of the city (yellow umbrella). Our tour started at 2.10 PM.
We learnt a lot on the history, the people, the arts and architecture of the country and of Prgaue itself. Lots of interesting details and considerable amount of info that we would not have picked up otherwise. Our guide Vadim was both informative and entertaining and very nice company to walk through town! We can highly recommended Vadim. We enjoyed his company and explanation very much. Tour has no set fee but we made donation because we appreciated his guiding. Next time we'll go to Prague I definitely will contact him again.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
“Vadim's tour is a must in Prague if you want an intimate understanding of the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Vadim was our tour guide in Prague this September. He provided a walking tour of Prague for us and another couple. It was our first day in Prague and Vadim gave us a tour based on our interests. He was extremely knowledgable and really succeeded in providing us all the information we needed to get an appreciation and understanding of Prague. Vadim is extraordinary because he brings his fascinating background to play with his tour. He is originally from St. Petersburg, Russia when it was the Soviet Union, whose family was allowed to move to the United States when he was thirteen years old. He is a graduate of the University of Chicago. He knows first hand life in a Communist and Capitalistic society. Vadim's tour is a much more intimate tour than the usual 'free tours' you see promoted. You will learn more about the history and what living in Prague is like.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon
1 review
“Best city tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Without question the most interesting tour of any city we have been. Vadim is articulate and well informed on the architecture, politics and history of the area. He is adept at drawing out his tour members so that he can make the tour relevant and responsive to the interests of the group. It may have been the best 2+ hours my wife and I spent on a 30 day trip to central Europe.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Insight Cities Prague also viewed

 

Been to Insight Cities Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Insight Cities Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.