We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homer to your Saves list
Homer
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Melantrichova 465/11 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 552 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such a great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Okay, was recommended this place by friends and it did not disappoint.
Staff were great, helpful going as far as fun and made it so easy for you. Exactly what you need when travelling. Stayed in the 12 bed and 6 bed dorm during my stay.
The 12 bed dorm is fine, like any other. The kitchen is large and modern. The 6 bed dorm is amazing, also with a brilliant kitchen area.
Pub crawls etc are easily found just ask the staff.
Location : sells it. Walk outside within 1 minute you are in the main square.

Fully recommend this place. Was a great stay and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: 6 bed dorm is great but on the main square. 12 bed dorm a bit less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
7
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed in the 16 bed dorm and found the rooms to be very clean, although it lacked sufficient plug sockets. We were in a separate part of the hostel and had a modern kitchen which we shared with two other dorm rooms! The hostel was very clean. The best thing about it is its location as it is literally a one minute walk from the Old Town Square!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The strongest point about this place is its location. Located in an old house in the heart of Prag's old town, you're in walking distance from the main things to see in this amazing city. More bathrooms would be nicer. I stayed in a 6-bed room with my friends and I think the security would be weaker if I was traveling alone or with we did not have a room just for us, the lockers are quite small and fragile.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Recently stayed in the 6 bed mixed dorm for 2 nights. Perfect location (couple of minutes walk from the Old Town Square), good facilities: large and clean kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Location is smack in the middle of downtown Prague. There's the best smoothie place right outside the entrance. Awesome organic store right next door with a restaurant too! The rooms are nice you share an apartment with everyone stayed in the big room with 20 people but the room is huge so it's totally fine. Also lockers are super practical.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hostel is located no more than 2 mins from the main square. The hostel was very clean with excellent bathroom and kitchen facilities. The 12 bed room was quite small in comparison to other hostels we had stayed in however the large kitchen area made up for this. Staff were helpful and friendly. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

One of our bags was stolen during the night in the 16-bed room. The manager arrived 2-hour late and solved nothing. Although there is CCTV but it does not record anything - just a paper tiger. Moreover, the staff there turned a blind eye on our problem. She didn't even help us contact the police nor ask a maid who walked through that room frequently very early in that morning. The staff in the next day told us burglary happens many times in that room which contradicts to the first helpless staff who said this has just happened for the first time.

The location is perfect, the facility is ok but we gave the weight on the security and the service mind of staff. That's why I can't recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homer

Address: Melantrichova 465/11 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 552 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homer 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We totally have the best location ever!! Our hostel is located in a historic building from the 16th century with renaissance ceilings. It's perfectly located walking distance from most of the greatest hot spots around Prague. We're 150 meters from the Old Town Square. Damn right, it's literally a stone's throw away. We're about 400m from CHARLES BRIDGE, and less than that from Wencelas square. The hostel is surrounded by some cafes, restaurants, bars, clubs, pubs and great shops.***Hostel Homer is all about chillaxing all cool. Come and meet backpackers from around the world over a nice cup of tea or wine. We have a communal kitchen that is fully stocked with all the amenities you need to prepare your food along with simple spices and pasta gratis. Our common room is furnished with a fine cinemascope for your viewing pleasure. As for getting about town our friendly staff is always willing to point you in the right direction, or give you suggestions on what places to visit. We also provide private tours about town by car, and work in tandem with guided pub crawls to the hottest bars and clubs in town.***WE OFFER:- 24h reception- FREE wi-fi, FREE lockers, FREE towels, FREE tea, FREE linens, FREE city maps, FREE slippers hire, FREE day storage after check out, FREE hairdryer hire, FREE spice and pasta- 12bed, 6bed and 5bed mix dorms- luxorious double room- 4bed deluxe female dorm with own fully equipped kitchen- Clean and spacious rooms- Immaculate bathrooms with spacious shower or bathtube- Hang out areas, common room, terrace- In cinema scope: hostel cinema- Supermarket 2 mins from the hostel- Large modern equipped kitchen- Hot shower nonstop- Book swap- Many discounts, pub crawl tickets etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Homer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.