We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Strahov Monastic Brewery (Klasterni Pivovar)

The Strahov Monastic Brewery (Klasterni Pivovar)
Strahovske nadvori 301 | 118 00, Prague 11800, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)
+420 223 353 155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Ice Cream in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Hradcany & Letna
Description: This is already listed as an attraction, but it is a bar and a restaurant.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Very good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place is a must visit in Prague. Been there for lunch on 31st December and the place was busy. We stayed on benches outside and were provided with blankets to cover ourselves and there was a heater next to every table.
The food was excellent (love the pork meat with potatoes and vegetable for 160 Czk) and the beer just excellent.
The service was excellent, the waiters were polite, quick and efficient and we never had to wait for long.

Top tips: 1. Drink beer

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    215
    52
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novorossiysk, Russia
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Nice brewery, tasty beer, friendly service staff)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

If You happened to visit Strahov monastery, I really recommend this brewery (with the real atmosphere of a brewery) to have tasty meal and top-quality beer (they have only 4 different sorts, by they all very tasty))).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The Strathov Monastic Brewery (Klasterni Pivovar) well situated to rest for a while an escape from the cold!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We traveled with my husband to Prague to spend Christmas there.The Conciergue of our Hotel recommended this pub.
Is just opposite the Strathov Monastery, you arrive there with the tram 22, stopping in Pohorelec Station. Cross the street, walk 100 meters and you will find the entrance of the Monastery. Is a typical place where you share the tables, the food is OK and the beer is fantastic, specially the Christmas Pivo. We were there twice. Prices are very good. Once we were served by a man and the attention was more than good, but the women there are not friendly and very nervous. We finished our food, and we were taking some pictures inside the bar when one of them came to us shouting that we had left our globes and scarfs on the table and there were people waiting for it. We haven't noticed, but she could have said in good manners, and not shouting like if we were stealing something!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Second visit not so welcoming!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Came here in October and found a table outside, our server was very welcoming and tried a few of the beers and some food that where good. Service was good and fast even though they where busy. Visited again over Christmas and found a seat inside, not as busy and felt ignored and very unwelcoming for 5-10 minutes until we where eventually served. The beer was not as good as a few other places we tried this time, but better than some. Prices are a little higher too than most places. Easy to get too on the 22 tram and a short walk or head up from the castle area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great beer, but quite the hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went here with friends as one of them insisted on a return visit from his previous trip. Not a problem as we all love beer! Quite a hike from our hotel, but once we arrived---beautiful view of Prague, delicious beer and food and definitely worth the trip. Dined outdoors, but there were plenty of blankets and heat lamps so being chilly wasn't an issue. If you like beer, definitely a must try if you're up for the hike!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strahov Monastic Brewery (Klasterni Pivovar) also viewed

 

Been to The Strahov Monastic Brewery (Klasterni Pivovar)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strahov Monastic Brewery (Klasterni Pivovar), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.