We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Taurus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Taurus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Taurus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vinohradska 105, Prague 12000, Czech Republic (Praha 3)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #382 of 668 hotels in Prague
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Taurus for a night during our trip in Prague. It is constructed of several connected and redecorated old apartments. The layout was slightly confusing at first, but once we figured it out, it added to the characteristics to the hotel.

Our request for antique furniture was accommodated and the staff were friendly. Upon check-in we found our next door neighbours were a bunch of loud teenagers. We talked to reception about this, and they immediately found us a quiet room on another floor; they were professional and courteous as well.

The hotel is stated as 4 stars, but don't get your expectation too high; it felt more like a 2-3 star hotel. The room and bathroom was nice and clean, and offered a great price for a night's stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    59
    46
    36
    19
See reviews for
20
53
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koblenz, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Can't complain about the deal and hotel itself. Location is good. Just breakfast buffet has no many options and there are not many tables. and rooms are cleaned after lunch time (a bit late for my taste). but in overall I liked it and would go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subotica, Serbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed in Taurus for 3 days in October 2012. When i made the reservation over the phone, the lady on the other side was very polite. It was the same when i got there. Unfortunately several disapointment were following. The cleaning lady gave me the impression that she will take out her axe and chop my head off, just for asking her to hold the door. The hotel parking was so small and narrow, that i needed about 5 minutes to get it in the parking place. The room were nice and clean, but the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. I had back and neck pain the next few days. The brakfas was nice, although the small restaurant they have in the basement seems not big enough as it has only a few tables. The location of the hotel is good, two metro stations from city center. Overall, its acceptable, but not a place i would go back to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is not even 3 stars hotel!
unsupported and USELESS Staff. What you see on booking website is not always true. I booked quadruple room but was given triple room with extra-bed (btw, one bed was broken another was unusable). Staff told "Sorry we cant do anything all other rooms are booked". Сompensation was not even question since I payed room over Expedia. When I requested to talk to manager they told he is not there and they are not allowed to give me his phone number.
Old, dirty room. Half of breakfast menu finished in the mid of breakfast time and staff didn't want to cook more. Parking is dangerous since too small and not chance to get in or out without trouble. Meanwhile staff was pushing to use it for 12 EUR/day referring that outside parking is not free however they didn't mention that over weekend and holiday it is free. and lying staff is worst what you can have.

Worst hotel I have ever seen!

Room Tip: Better choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lourdes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

the star rating in a hotel kinda build expectations. So, if you go by international standard, this hotel only deserves 1 or 2 stars.
But on the other hand, I paid only around 60 euro per night. Which international 4-stars standard costs with that price?
If you have been looking at this hotel, it means you are concern about your budget and most likely you are a tourist that like to see as many Prague as you can. Then this hotel has very good location. It is really near Metro and only 2-3 stops then you reach Old City.
Room is not small, but definitely too many unfitted furniture.
But I must complain about the bed/mattress. It was worn out and thin, which makes it very uncomfortable (don't expect anything ergonomic)
Breakfast is quite good. It met the standard and at least it varied.

Fazit: concern about money? Then this hotel is giving you budget hotel standard. Don't expect 4-stars. You will be dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I'm not sure where this hotel gets its 4 star rating from because I didn't feel like I was staying in a 4 star hotel. The 'bar' is a fridge behind reception from which you can purchase drinks to consume in the reception area where there are some comfortable seats. The dining room is quite small for the amount of bedrooms the hotel has, the 'hot' breakfast choice is either sausage or bacon, scrambled egg and beans, the continental breakfast choice was reasonable. We stayed in an 'antique' style room and looked like cheap tatty furniture made to look antique and the bed was very hard. The photographs of the antique bedrooms are quite flattering. The cleaner had not been into our room when we returned from our first day out and showed up at about 5:00 pm. She changed the bed ding and towels and went, no cleaning in the bathroom or hoovering the carpet. The hotel is situated on a tram line where only the No.11 tram runs and takes you to the top of Wenceslas Square, when you get off you are in the middle of a busy road with no signs to tell you which way to go. When you go anywhere else there are a few tram changes involved to get you back to the hotel. The underground station is 100 mts away from the hotel but the escalators down into the station are very steep, you can't see the bottom when you get on at the top. There are a couple of restaurants close to the hotel, including a very good Chinese restaurant straight across the road which was also excellent value and a supermarket so I hardly think it's as close to 'restaurants and shops' as the website suggests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a 3 star hotel and not 4 star.Having said that we had room 201 which was one of the better rooms with the old fashioned furniture and was spacious clean and more than adequate for a 2-3 day city break,and contrary to previous reports our towels and bedding were replaced every day.we found the breakfast was also more than adequate with everything from hot dog style sausages and scrambled eggs,cold meats,cereals,yogurts,fresh fruits and a selection of teas coffees and fruit juices.What more do you want for breakfast?Hotel location is also good about 1.5km from old town square.Subway station jiriho z podebrad is about 300 metres from hotel and it's 4 stops to starometska which is the subway station for the old town square.Tram stop is also about 300 metres from hotel and you take tram number 11 and it's 3 stops to the museum at top of Wenceslas square.Subway is a lot easier and quicker.You can buy a 24 hr pass which covers you for all public transport but here's a top tip,nobody ever checks your ticket.we were in prague for 2 days and travelled on 4or 5 trams and 4 subway trains and never got asked for a ticket!
The red bus city sightseeing tours are way over priced!500 Czech krona about £18.50 for a 48 hour pass which sounds reasonable but as soon as you get on the bus you just get given a set of headphones and the commentary is not very educational.Better to buy a good guide book and use the free public transport.Tram 22 takes you up to the castle which is a must,but allow a whole day as there's so much to see.Charles bridge is another obvious must but go early before bridge is full of tourists.Another place worth a visit is the zirkhov tower which is literally around the corner from the Taurus hotel.On a clear day you get amazing views of the city from the 93 metre high viewing gallery,there's also a cafe at 66 metres and prices are reasonable about £1.80 for a coffee.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Taurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taurus

Address: Vinohradska 105, Prague 12000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 668 hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Taurus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel TAURUS * * * * is situated in the centre of the city right in the METRO underground station, just a few minutes from the Wenceslas Square, the National Museum and the Old Town, in the superb quarter of Royal Vinohrady.There are many shops and restaurants and a modern Flora shopping centre near the hotel or the New Jewish Cemetery, where also the world-famous writer Franz Kafka has been buried.Do not miss the view of Prague from the nearby Zizkov TV Tower, either from the restaurant (66m) or from the observation cabin (93m).The hotel provides accommodation in 57 rooms. Most rooms are equipped with antique furniture from the turn of the 19th century and some rooms are equipped with modern furniture. Each room provides a bathroom with a shower and toilet, an LCD TV set with a satellite receiver, mini bar, wifi connection, direct phone, safe deposit box, hair dryer, toiletries and aids for making tea and coffee (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Taurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Taurus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.