We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Visit to St. Cyril & Methodius Church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Cyril and St Methodius Cathedral

St Cyril and St Methodius Cathedral
Resslova 9, Prague, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 1,345 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Visit to St. Cyril & Methodius Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Found this Church relatively easy. Did not realise before I visited that it had a small exhibition and you could enter the crypt. Got interested in this Church after learning the story about Lidice and I planned to visit both places on our four days at Prague. My partner did not know about the connection with Lidice and we nearly didn't visit, due to a lack of time. The cost of entry was 150 Kc, bargain!

The exhibition had all the information on boards on the wall and there were a few leaflets and books for sale. It was awsome and quite moving. When we left the Church, my partner told me about a film he'd seen years ago that he thought was about the Germans and the Polish and he realised that this was the actual Church in the film. As soon as we arrived home I ordered the film 'operation daybreak' and that put the icing on the cake. I must admit to not knowing much about the story of 'operation Anthropoid', but we came home from Prague more informed, thanks to our visit.

We will return to Prague and will definately visit again. Brilliant!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    111
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Know some history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very powerful and moving place to visit. We were first made aware of this event from reading Madeleine Albright's book Prague Winter. This is really a must read for anyone traveling to Prague and the Czech Republic. We also saw the 1975 movie based on these events called Operation Daybreak. Facinating movie, but the attendant at the church said the movie doesn't stay true to the real events and makes it very "Hollywood". Either way, it's so important to understand what you're looking at in cities like Prague and how it relates to the hear and now. Otherwise it's just a bunch of old stuff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Goosebumps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A fascinating place to visit, especially when you read up on the brutal History of the Place, and being able to touch the bullet holes on the wall, its an emetional place to visit, but worth the walk and taking extra time out of your trip to visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolute must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Prepare to be moved to tears. The crypt is where the heroes sent to rid the world of Reynard Heydrich died after being betrayed. Heydrich was Hitler's henchman and presided over the Wannsee conference which decided and organized the destruction of European Jews. Long live the memory of those brave young Czech men.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The site is not very well publicised but it is well worth a visit to recall and pay respects to the amazing bravery of the Czech freedom fighters. The church is close to the river, only about 15 minutes walk from Charles Bridge. In the entrance to the crypt the story of the assassintion of Heydrich and its after effects is told, in both Czech and English. The church itself is not open but can be viewed thoughr glass doors.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Cyril and St Methodius Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St Cyril and St Methodius Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Cyril and St Methodius Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.