We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't charge what you don't give” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Cafeteria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mike's Cafeteria
Hlavsova 27, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,549 of 4,249 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Czech
Restaurant details
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't charge what you don't give”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

What my daughter did not state was that the wine we finally managed to order after half an hour tasted as it it had been open for weeks - it was vinegar - and for chec standards quite expensive. I am absolutey sure that the cheaper french wine was available but we were not offered it when the waiter realised that we had already eaten (it was 10.00 pm).
The drinks meny did not state any service charge, but we were charged - beware it is in very very small print at the bottom of the food menu.
After reading other reviews I am glad that we did not have any food there.
The lady beside us for charged extra for her dumpling.

The music was delightfull and for roughly one pound per person (including the service charge on this as well) worth it. My suggestion:
Go there, sit down, wait and enjoy the music until the waiter finally wants to take your order, then excuse yourself and leave - you will have 30 minutes of delightful balcan music for free.
During that time to may inform other customers of the hidden service charges...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    5
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaasa
1 review
“One of the worst meals of my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the nice live music, this place is terrible. I ordered the chicken snizel which was served with cold french fries and without any vegetables. The chicken tasted like a frozen snizel which had been reheated. When we got our bill we were surprised that it included a "service fee" (about 10% extra to the bill). Avoid this place at all costs.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
“Only for experience factor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I came here with my mum and was attracted to the atmosphere by the music aside to the 'charming' courtyard. It was stated that we would have to pay a contribution to the live music which we didn't mind - had it been worth it. Coming from a usually biased waitering perspective I soon realised We were blatantly ignored several times by the waiter until we were given the menu. However the ride service made it uncomfortable to stay longer than a drink. Which we were disgruntly told was not available and had to chose an alternative double the price! The drinks list does not state service charge although we were charged 10% ontop
Of this and 10% extra for the live music contribution. Luckily my mum and I took it in our stride and as an experience but overall it's a waste of time and money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I never had such awful food like here. Stop, if you really have to, have beer maybe and go wherever else. Seriously

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Looks nice but food poor - avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Want a nice quiet spot just out the bustle? Find somewhere else, this was a ripoff, moreover the pork knuckle was very chewy and cold inside, just like other comments. Wish I'd read TA first.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Cafeteria also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Cafeteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.