We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little corner of perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Amandine

Cafe Amandine
Na Morani 1689/17, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
+420 222 524 305
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #276 of 4,249 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: French, Continental, Brasserie, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little corner of perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

From the decor, so beautifully arranged, to the rustic yet stylishly arranged tables and home made cake display, this truly is a little corner of perfection from the touristy hot spots of prague. The menu is varied enough to have you thinking, but you needn't stress; anything you decide to pleasure your taste buds with will have you reeling with delight. I had the beef carpaccio, which was delicately placed on the plate, so finely sliced that it melted in your mouth, with just enough rocket leaves and parmesan shavings to complement the dish. The home-made blini were simply delightful, though I had them with prosciutto. And on a hot humid day, try the homemade ginger lemonade, guaranteed to quench your thirst. Finally, to top it all off, the perfect espresso. As if all this wasn't enough to make me fall in love with the place, the dishes and drinks are reasonably priced, and you will walk away wishing you could take a copy of the menu with you, just so you can come prepared next time....because I promise, you will be back for more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    47
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast at the weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Located slightly away from the main tourist routes Cafe Amandine is a perfect spot for a lazy morning breakfast. There are plenty of options to choose from with fresh pastries, eggs Benedict and much more. The orange / grapefruit juice is freshly squeezed and the coffee good.
The ambiance is of course french and with a little imagination one could think that one is sitting in a cafe in Paris, only at half the price for a coffee.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Disgusting service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We went here on Thursday 10 minutes before 9 pm and sat on the outdoor garden... then come waitress and told us with hard tone - get out of here, we are closed, but their opening times was longer then to 9 pm as was stated on their website... we felt embarrassed in front of other guests...
So we went to spend our money elsewhere in Prague, there are many other better places ...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food, need to work on their service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have been coming to Amandine since it opened a few years ago. In this area, it is probably one of the nicest restaurants.

Food quality is generally of high quality. We love the onion soup and the breakfast selection. We would not recommend ordering pancakes during the weekend, as they are not freshly prepared, and simply reheated.

Service is consistently bad. This restaurant does not seem to have any management, or at least we have never seen anyone who seems to be leading and training the team. The staff is generally rude and not very friendly. It seems like they have a competition going, "who can use the least amount of words while serving a customer".

Its about time they change their menu, as it has not changed in the last year, nor has the CD with music they have been playing for years now.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great little place! 🍻”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We dined here as it was right across from our hotel while staying in Prague.
Food was beautiful. First night I had the pancake, potatoe and bacon lasagne and it was lovely! Second time I had the duck leg confit. It was beautiful! Such good value for money too!
For 3 drinks and 2 mains we paid 600 koruna. Brilliant value for money.
Service is slow but worth the wait. Waitresses don't seem particularly happy but if you can ignore that you'll be fine!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Amandine also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Cafe Amandine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Amandine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.