We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem that's easy to find and hard to forget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corso Cafe - CLOSED

Corso Cafe
V Celnici 4 | Praha 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))
+420 224 281 137
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International, Mediterranean, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Description: The philosophy of Corso Cafe is based on perfect service, first-class coffee and excellent food - all enjoyed in an unforgettable atmosphere. Head chef Jan Ehrenberger prepares original dishes made from high-quality, fresh ingredients.An important component of a modern, healthy lifestyle is low-calorie dishes that please the palate, with tastes that complement each other. We feature freshly prepared salads, small dishes and pasta, and a wide assortment of homemade desserts to go with coffee. We have also placed great emphasis on breakfast. Our menu includes a Caprino salad with melted goat cheese, Marinated pork with dewberry and gorgonzola sauce, an outstanding homemade goat's-cheese cheesecake and freshly prepared tiramisu. For breakfast, in addition to modern cereals and yogurts, you can, of course, order baked ham or bacon and eggs.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem that's easy to find and hard to forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We knew from the first glance that this place was going to be a winner. The design of the cafe is contemporary and well thought through so that it can easily transition from a bright and airy breakfast or lunch place into a lovely candlelit dinner. The service was outstanding due to the friendly and helpful nature of the staff. To top it all, the quality of the food so exceeded our expectations that we returned two days later for another round. We recommend this charming place to anyone who enjoys fine dining at a reasonable price and in a cozy yet modern atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    108
    10
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went here because it was very close to our hotel and got good TripAdvisor reviews. We weren't disappointed - the food was very good and the bill was reasonable. If, like I did, you're wondering whether it's open in the evening (in the UK a cafe isn't usually), it is and has a nice modern, relaxed feel to it in the evening.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Corso Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great inexpensive breakfast. Eggs & bacon with fresh squeezed OJ, greens and French bread! Service was friendly and competent too! Nice cafe like decor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty interior, nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Right next to the Palladium shopping center. Pretty interior. Very friendly service. Simple, tastful food. I had the pork medaillons with mushrooms, very good. Reasonably priced: main dish , beer, dessert, cappucino for 400Kc, tip not included. Definitely worth while.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valetta, Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, friendly service, and good food makes for a pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Playing the accidental tourist one early evening, I came upon Corso Cafe quite by accident, but walked out an hour or so later happier and sated. The atmosphere is bright and airy, it has a very open feeling to it, and I love the menu they have written up on the wall that spans over the entire bar area. It was my last evening in Prague and I asked the waitress, who was very friendly and accommodating by the way, to suggest a traditional Czech dish. A large portion of the menu is Italian but they do offer some traditional dishes and tonight they had a special, beef tenderloin dish served in a brown creamy sauce that had a slightly sweet and fruity taste to it. Either way it was delicious served with traditional dumplings. I splurged that night and topped it off with an espresso and white chocolate cake which was delicious. All in all it's not that it was the best food I ever had or the best location and so forth. But it was the combination of great service, hearty homemade food and a welcoming decor that made it a good experience. I would definitely visit again next time in Prague.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corso Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corso Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.