We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meat/beer combo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cestr

Cestr
Legerova 57/75 | 110 00 Praha 1, Prague, Czech Republic
+420 222 727 851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 4,243 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good meat/beer combo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Prolly the best place in prague to get a fresh pilsner and solid meat dish. Good menu offer with starter, side dish and selection of meat. I'll stop in just for a beer sometimes. Service is above average, which is hard to find in prague.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    138
    23
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Czech Meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We went here on our second night in Prague and I was so glad we did. The ambience and decor was cool and rather unique from most of the places we went to in Prague. Just looking around the place and seeing the diagrams of cows showing the different cuts of beef I know exactly what we needed to order. The steak was tender and cooked to perfection- delicious. The fries were pretty good as well. Then to cap things off we had the beer flavored ice cream which was not only different but actually really good.

All in all a wonderful dinner in Prague.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For beef lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Beef , Beef and beef . All kinds of fantastic cuts from Simmental beef . Was there with a group of friends and everyone enjoyed. Home made fries were excellent . It's a non smoking restaurant but they have a lovely terrasse with a view on the national museum where you can sit , drink , eat and smoke. I recommend it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir Province, Turkey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“There are better places to eat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We went there to eat steak, but it did not meet our expectations. The meat was very thin, dry and tasteless. We have eaten very good steaks in different countries before and I can say this was the worst.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good, but a little over-rated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

... I would say the place was good- but not great. It appears that it is what it claimed to be-an authentic czech steak restaurant. The steak I received was tasty but, how can i say it,, "chewy". The price of the entire meal was about 30 american dollars which was great! The presentations and menu were quite interesting, but it just wasn't for me. I would gamble to say there may be better steak houses out there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cestr also viewed

Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Cestr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cestr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.