We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous interior, excellent service,amazing food. I will come again. Thanks to you all for a wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sapori

Sapori
Americka 20, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
(+420) 222 523 533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 2,849 restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous interior, excellent service,amazing food. I will come again. Thanks to you all for a wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Gorgeous interior, excellent service,amazing food.
I will come again.
Thanks to you all for a wonderful experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    26
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect in so Many Ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were on a Prague/Vienna/Budapest tour with my son's band field trip and as my wife, daughter and I were on our own for food we looked for a high-quality restaurant near our hotel (the Ametyst Hotel). Sapori popped up in online search and sounded good (mediterranean/Italian) so we went. No reservation, but they graciously found us a table for 3 in the small but beautiful dining room which quickly filled up around us. Service was attentive warm and friendly but not overbearing, and the staff spoke English quite serviceably (as seemed to be the case in much of Prague). The atmosphere of the room is quite romantic, and although we took our teenage daughter, this is more a place for couples or quiet meals with friends or for business.

The food, though, was the absolute highlight. First, although this is an "Italian" restaurant, it is NOT your heavy pasta and tomato sauce cuisine, and certainly no pizza! -- much more seafood and meat oriented, but of course with several delicious-sounding pasta dishes. They had several fresh fish on display on ice at the front of the restaurant, including a Sole which was not specifically listed on the menu. I asked if they could prepare it whole with some vegetables on the side and when the final dish came it was spectacularly pan-fried with some sort of Rosemary herb infusion that gently permeated the whole fish (which the waiter carefully deboned table-side before serving) and a combination of grilled red and yellow peppers, zucchini, and eggplant on the side. Just spectacular!! (even though I don't personally like eggplant) I shared an appetizer of tender marinated grilled octopus with my daughter, who had a duck breast dinner, while my wife had a tomato and mozzarella appetizer (tomatoes were "alright for March") and enjoyed a Monkfish pasta entree.

The value is great fro such a high-end meal, as Prague in general is a very affordable city even for top-end goods and services.

An absolute treat and worth finding when you are in Prague!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth exploring beyond Prague's old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely Italian restaurant in the increasingly fashionable neighbourhood "behind" Prague's old town. Easy to reach by subway or even on foot, if you fancy working up a bit of an appetite. Excellent Serbian chef with a good palate and a delicate touch. Well-thought-out menu, simply and appetizingly presented dishes, accurate seasoning. A real treat and a relieving change from the prevailing Czech cuisine, which can weigh very heavy on the stomach. Service was charming and efficient, the wine list excellent and they also offer good wine by the glass. Small, cozy and - for those of us who still indulge - the luxury of lighting up after dinner. A real trip down memory lane. So if you don't smoke and can't tolerate it, book an outside table or find somewhere else. Expensive for Prague but cheap by the standards of any other major European city. A real treat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Smoke is in your eyes...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Another Italian restaurant run by others, this one is, we believe, in Serbian hands (this info is unverified.) Unlike Il Giardino around the corner, their outside seating is on the sidewalk on a small (admittedly pretty) square with a fantasy fountain. But there is too much car traffic there and the place is too smoky inside. So despite their decent food and wine selection, to choose with caution unless you really like your dry cleaner.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little place away from the hustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What I liked most about this place was the unrushed service, the food was very very well cooked and the prices were extremely reasonable for the high quality.

Like some of the best places it is away from the centre point of Prague yet a short taxi journey gets you to this lovely little restaurant. At no point did we feel forgotten about by the attentive staff and if we were staying in Prague for longer it would've been one place we'd revisit without a moments hesitation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapori also viewed

 

Been to Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.