We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchymist Prague Castle Suites

Save Saved
You added Alchymist Prague Castle Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Snemovni 8 | Czech Republic (Praha 1), Prague 118 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Complimentary Transfer
Ranked #6 of 668 hotels in Prague
Prague
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The staff are top notch, booking reservations to getting you un-lost. The breakfast is made to order, and they don't nickle and dime you with everything except alcohol being free from the mini bar or your butler which is there 24/7 for fresh cappucinos or to tell you about pragues history. Would definitely stay at again because its in the nicest part of town, quiet, yet small with only 8 rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you very much for all the kind words following your stay with us. The time of sharing your impressions is very much appreciated. All the team was delighted to read that your stay with us and especially the staff, butler service and breakfast were so enjoyable. We look forward to having the chance to welcome you back in the near future!
Please contact me personally if I can be of any assistance with a future booking.

Kindest regards,

Lucie Nizka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
138
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Gayle and I spent four days at this wonderful property. They arranged for our pickup at the train station in a BMW sedan. We arrived to a beautiful property (former mansion) located between Prague Castle and the Charles Bridge, near the British and Monaco embassies. The hotel is situated on possibly the quietest street in all of central Prague. The hotel has just 8 rooms, ours was the Topaz room, just off the Library. Beautifully appointed, spacious and with 3 large windows. The staff at the hotel is terrific...I mean Terrific....by the time you leave you will know every member of the staff...When we would arrive back to the hotel, I'd say to the Desk Manager..."We're Home!" ... truly feeling as though we were. I could go on and on about this property, but I would be just repeating what has already been posted. Bottom line is this...Do you want to feel special?

Room Tip: Any room that overlooks the front street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

thank you for the time taken to post your review on Tripadvisor. All the team of Alchymist Prague Castle Suites is truly grateful for such a kind words about our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the fullest and please do come and see us again, we hope to welcome you back in Alchymist Prague Castle Suites soon!

Kindest regards,

Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you want top service, opulence and quiet and intimate accommodations, the Alchymist is your choice. There are two other sister hotels nearby, but this has only 8 rooms, nestled in a quite neighborhood near the embassies. Each room is designated by stones instead of numbers - Ours was amethyst. Our king size bed was firm and the room was spacious as was the bath. It truly feels like you are a guest in someone's home. The hotel was renovated three years ago so everything is up to date. The opulence seemed like it would be gaudy, but far from it, it's elegant and well designed, keeping with the era of the original home.

We decided to spend the weekend in Prague after a trade show in Germany and were pleased with the city and this special hotel, which we researched on TA. From the minute you enter until you wave the hotel clerk goodbye, you are treated like royalty. Jacob basically took care of all our dining reservations, arranged our private tour guide and any transportation needed. Alex made sure we were enjoying our wine and cheese presented daily at 5pm and the staff always asked "is there anything else we can do for you?". Amazing service. The communal breakfast table was a nice way to chat with fellow guests. We also took advantage of the couples 90 min. massage in the hotel, which was one of the best. The location is walking distance from the palace and many of the lesser quarter sights...the Charles bridge and the old town is also a walk away. Overall, can't say enough about this wonderful city and hotel...start to finish.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor is excellent since the breakfast area and the afternoon wine and cheese i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking time and posting this fantastic review on Tripadvisor. Your comments about our staff, perfect location, rooms and the breakfast made all my team very happy. We are continuously working on improving our products and your positive comments are the best reward to us. Thank you again for sharing you opinion!


With kindest regards,

Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CAlifornia, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I am writing this review while lying in our incredibly opulent, comfortable bed in this hotel. We have stayed in dozens of wonderful hotels all over the world, and this ranks right up there with Locanda Orseola in Venice as our all-time favorite. Yes, everything is way over-the-top, but that's why we came here in the first place. The rooms are fabulous, the public rooms are even more so, the staff is absolutely perfect and so helpful, breakfast is great, free wine and cheese every afternoon… What else could you possibly ask for? The location is amazing… In the most quiet possible street but so close to all the action. To say that it exceeded our expectations would be an understatement. Be sure you are booking this little 8 room gem and not its larger sister hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking time and posting such an amazing review on Tripadvisor. It is an honor to read such a positive comments about the room, communal areas and breakfast. We are absolutely delighted that your experience has been so positive.

We would me more than happy to welcome you back in the near future and please contact me personally if I can be of any assistance with your next booking.

Kindest regards,

Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites for 3 nights a couple of weekends ago. Hotel in a quiet square between the castle and Charles Bridge. Unprepossessing façade but wonderfully opulent inside. The hotel website photos are representative. Staff all young and keen to please. All speak English which is essential as even simple Czech phrases are too difficult to pick up on a weekend break.
Hotel has sister hotels in Prague. Recommend you write down name and address of hotel and keep with you throughout your stay to show to taxi drivers/locals for directions.
8 rooms, all individual. Well equipped. Bed v comfortable - I like a firm matrass. Only negative, lighting went off (not sockets and only our room) but staff sorted this immediately, presumably by throwing the trip switch.
Breakfast is at a large table in a beautiful double room. Very nice arrangement as it would be churlish not to talk to fellow guests and this is immediately a major plus. All nationalities staying and sharing experiences. Food fine. Reasonable but not extensive choice.
Cheese and wine at 5pm every evening included and worth doing at least once. Here you can pick up with fellow guests. Adds to the feeling of being a house guest rather than a paying customer. Don't believe the hype re Czech wine. It's not challenging the world order today!
Very much a place for well-heeled couples (sic).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

thank you for the time taken to post your review on Tripadvisor. All the team of Alchymist Prague Castle Suites is truly grateful for such a kind words about our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the fullest and please do come and see us again, we hope to welcome you back in Alchymist Prague Castle Suites soon!

Kindest regards,

Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a lovely and unusual hotel. There are only seven or eight rooms, all of which are unique and beautiful. The rooms are thoughtfully furnished. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was huge and the tub was wonderful for soaking. Breakfast was very good and there were tables outside on the balcony which was delightful.

The hotel is located in a quiet spot in the shadow of the castle walls. I found the location to be one of the best things about the hotel. All tourist spots are within easy walking distance but even during the extremely busy tourist season when Prague is most crowded, the little square in front of the hotel is quiet and peaceful.

The staff work incredibly hard to ensure all guests' needs are met, which is remarkable because there are so few of them. It seemed like they were working literally day and night and if I could change one thing it would be to add an additional person or two to the staff to give the hard working team there a break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for choosing Alchymist Prague Castle Suites for your stay in Prague and thank you for your time taken to post such a nice review. I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and especially the room, hotel’s location and staff was to your liking. It will be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you back at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites soon.

Kindest regards,

Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just back after 3 nights at the Alchymist. Splendid place to stay, just below Prague Castle and 5 minutes from Charles Bridge. This is a quirky 'hotel'. It is really a big ostentatious house, with reception staff and butlers! Staff are great and very helpful, they just couldn't do enough for you, advising and booking restaurants, to ensuring transport back to the airport was arranged.
Breakfast around one big table was a new and interesting experience and we met some very pleasant people. The breakfast service was the sole glitch - the butler could become overwhelmed and one one morning it became a bit chaotic, but please be assured that this was a minor point in an excellent base for a stay in a lovely city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you very much for all the kind words following your stay with us. The time of sharing your impressions is very much appreciated. All the team was delighted to read that your stay with us and especially the staff, butler service and breakfast were so enjoyable. We look forward to having the chance to welcome you back in the near future!
Please contact me personally if I can be of any assistance with a future booking.

Kindest regards,

Lucie Nizka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Boutique, City...
Show More
Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
Praha 1
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#5 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#8 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
City Center, Ro...
Show More
Praha 1
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#4 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Boutique, City...
Show More
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Prague Castle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Prague Castle Suites

Address: Snemovni 8 | Czech Republic (Praha 1), Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 668 hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alchymist Prague Castle Suites 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, located in a sensational historical mansion in the Malá Strana (Lesser Quarter) in Prague, provides you with the possibility of experiencing something truly unique and exclusive. This privately owned historical mansion, with the intriguing name of "At the Turk's Head," has been lovingly restored to suit a brand new concept of luxury accommodation in Prague. It is therefore with the utmost pleasure that we present you with the following invitation: You are hereby invited to become personal guests of the owner, Giorgio Bonelli, and to enjoy a stay in this magnificent 15th-century mansion, featuring 8 suites, a music room, library, fireplace room, spa and enjoying the services of a private butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alchymist Prague Castle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.