We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate European Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchymist Prague Castle Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alchymist Prague Castle Suites to your Saves list
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Snemovni 164/8, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Ultimate European Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This hotel/ mansion is the ultimate European experience and from a hotel perspective excellent. I stay in many different hotels throughout the year, including luxury brands and I would say that this property topped them all.

The mansion is tucked away just under the castle, a quiet beautiful building on a cobble stone street in the old European section of Prague. The furnishings and interior design are absolutely breathtaking and the room had every amenity, including a free non-alcoholic mini bar.

Staying here, (after staying at another hotel in Prague), made the whole experience of Prague wonderfully alive.

Both front desk and the "butler" are at your service all day- and wonderfully appropriate in being helpful and yet not too obtrusive. The breakfast was fabulous. The service was just great- they recommended the best (out of the way) restaurants we had eaten at during our stay in Prague.

So I would say that if you desire a great European Prague experience stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

I would like to thank you, for taking the time and writing such a positive review. It was our pleasure having you and I am truly glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us; I hope to welcome you in the near future. It makes the staff and myself feel great knowing that we topped off all the other hotels you visited in the past. Nothing is better than knowing that we are the “unlimited experience” :-).

Warm regards,
Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    11
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
184
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had an excellent honeymoon week.

Thanks everyone for the excellent service.

From our arrival till the moment we left it was excellent.

Thank you very much,
Michail - Elina from Greece

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us on such a special occasion such as yours. The staff and I wish you lots of love, happiness and many years together. We hope to see you back in one year to celebrate your anniversary with us.

Kind regards :-)

Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

First let me start by saying that we really did enjoy our stay in this hotel. It was a stop on our 3 week Europe holiday, and by far the nicest place that we stayed.

The airport pickup service was great - there was no need to worry about finding a taxi. Especially since we got in late, it was nice to not have to worry about it.

On arrival we were shown our room, which was off of the breakfast room, so that was easy to find. The entire place is beautifully done up and decorated. There is a fireplace room.

The location is great, we were able to walk most places and the staff was happy to direct us to anywhere we needed.

The room was amazing. Daily turndown service with chocolates. The bathroom was gorgeous. The bath product was L'Occitane.

In the basement there is a sauna, available on demand (needs to be turned on) and a "spa tub" (which is really just a jetted bath tub that they can either fill for you or you can fill yourself).

Now for the mediocre:

- Breakfast service depended on which staff was working. The second day we had a new butler and were offered eggs! We didn't even know that was an option the first day. We suspect because we looked and acted a bit more relaxed, we weren't even offered it.

- The aperitif selection was disappointing. I had never heard of most of the liquor. Since I was unfamiliar with the drinks provided I was hoping a drink would be made for me. No such luck, I was directed to the glasses on the table.

- The biggest disappointment of this trip for me was the fire place. In multiple locations (website, welcome materials) the staff suggest you can unwind after a long day by the fire and enjoy a glass of red wine. It was raining our entire time in Prague and I was seriously looking forward to the warm fire. I called down to the front desk to enquire and was told that he would have to call his boss and check. I waited for approximately 30 minutes. He called back and told me, "The fireplace is only for decoration." Wow. That was so disappointing. I asked if I could get some red wine, and he said he would have to look. 30 minutes more and he called back to let me know he couldn't find any red wine, but maybe I would like some white.

Overall an amazing hotel. Could use a little bit of consistency between staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for your feedback and detailed summary of impressions you had while on your stay.

Your kind words pleased us, and the critical points which you have pointed out were evaluated and also very much appreciated. We are always trying to improve our services for our customers and any feedback, positive or negative is always accepted and welcomed.

I look forward to your next visit in the near future at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites in order to offer you our undivided attention. You will also be able to enjoy the relaxing time by the fire place and a glass of red wine.

Yours faithfully,
Lucie Nizka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We spent a long weekend in Prague to celebrate a 60th birthday with all the family, we decided to reserve 3 bedrooms in a small hotel in centre town. We selected the Alchymist Prague Castle Suites for its position, the style and the special reviews it received from other guests. I can say that everything is completely true and our stay was absolutely excellent! We have appreciated everything from the transfer service (even if the driver didn't arrived with the right signal "Happy Birthday..."!!!!) to the helpful and lovable staff. We select with them the rooms before our arrival so everything was planned to perfection. During our stay the breakfast has been good and with quality food. the rooms are large and luxurious. A piano is at guest disposal, the location is absolutely perfect, especially if you already have been in Prague and you know what is the best area for you ! A mark? If possible I'd give to them a 11!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

First, let me tell you that we travel a lot and my task is to do a researsh prior to booking a place to stay and I was considered as really good in it. But this hotel was simply recommended by our friends, who visited Prague at the end of summer 2011. We listened to their advise and to say they we were not disappointed is to say nothing. The hotel was superb! The best we stayed ever! The unique atmosphere, absolutely delighful and welcoming staff, cosy interiors, all contribute to this amasing place. The location is more than convenient - quite and a very cloase proximety to places you need to visit in Prague. Food was excellent, service - impeccable and overall - this is proven 5+ stars hotel which you do not want to miss. We are planning to come back and stay there again and already recommended this gem to all our friends in NY.

Room Tip: There are all together 8 suites in the hotel, we stayed on a second floor and our friends on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manresa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We have stayed in praga only for two nights in your hotel, and it's really the best we have ever been. The situation, the staff, the services and of course the room. Thanks for these excellent days. Montse Puig and Jordi Guitart

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Alchymist Prague Castle is so new that some taxi drivers have not yet learnt of its whereabouts, but once there the suites are very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Because there are only 10 rooms the hotel feels very quiet and intimate, but the spa facilities are available if you wish at the Alchymist grand a few minutes walk away. The hotel is in a small square below the castle, with no passing traffic so very quiet, but all the best sites are within easy walking distance so we did not need taxis or metro to get around. If you did need the metro, the nearest station is only 3 minutes walk away.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful in arranging restaurant reservations, taxi's etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucielow, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review, we appriciate it dearly. We hope you enjoyed your stay here with us and will come back soon to visit us once more. The staff at Prague Castle Suites is more than willing to help you have the best vacation.

Kind regards,
Lucie Nizka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#10 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,264 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
#16 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Prague Castle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Prague Castle Suites

Address: Snemovni 164/8, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Prague Castle Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, located in a sensational historical mansion in the Malá Strana (Lesser Quarter) in Prague, provides you with the possibility of experiencing something truly unique and exclusive. This privately owned historical mansion, with the intriguing name of "At the Turk's Head," has been lovingly restored to suit a brand new concept of luxury accommodation in Prague. It is therefore with the utmost pleasure that we present you with the following invitation: You are hereby invited to become personal guests of the owner, Giorgio Bonelli, and to enjoy a stay in this magnificent 15th-century mansion, featuring 8 suites, a music room, library, fireplace room, spa and enjoying the services of a private butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Alchymist Prague Castle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.