We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Zlaty Hrozen

Restaurant Zlaty Hrozen
Zelezna 7 | Staré Město, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #321 of 4,242 Restaurants in Prague
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stumbled upon this place for lunch and a great find. The service was very good, and a nice broad chice of lunch options from a set or a la carte menu. Very reasonable prices - I had the traditional sausage etc not very adventurous but really nice. I can't couch for the other options, but looking around seemed to be a good size and quality. Best of all Staropramen unfiltered on special offer. Make the effort to avoid the tourist places we did and enjoyed it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“nice place close to Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited this restaurant as we needed warming up and fancied a hot drink and not food. The staff did not put pressure on us not wanting to eat and were very friendly.
There was a great atmosphere in the restaurant and it was packed. The smells were amaziing and the food that were served to other guests tables also looked welcoming.
Try it. Their range of wine was astounding. Only wish we found this place sooner as was our last day :(

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Quality Czech Food Within Short Walk of Old Town Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a late dinner here on a Friday night after walking around the Old Town. They have a pretty wide menu with a lot of choices and plenty of beers including Pilsner Urquell. I had a light dinner of Goulash which came with bread-like dumplings. Prices were reasonable and service was quick and polite, but at that time, it wasn't very crowded. The restaurant is located out of the very busy center but still within the old town and worth the short walk down the twisting side streets.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A Must - brilliant food and brilliant service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We headed for this restaurant after seeing good reviews and were so glad we did!! The restaurant is slightly off the beaten track so you may not just stumble across it, but it is in throwing distance of Old Town Square. Brilliant food and brilliant service.

We were served by a really nice waiter, who spoke brilliant English. He made recommendations for us, was chatty and friendly, but not overbearing. All 3 of us in our party ordered the duck for main and it was absolutely delicious. By far the best meal we had in Prague, and at a very reasonable price.

I would definitely recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Tallest burger ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Really glad we came across this restaurant - it had a great selection of beers, tasty food (Czech and international) and efficient service. I ordered the double burger and it looked like the gastronomical version of the Leaning Tower! It tasted out of this world. Zlaty Hrozen offers an extensive (and not expensive) A La Carte menu, and a very reasonable set menu. Would recommend anyone to eat here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Zlaty Hrozen also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Zlaty Hrozen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Zlaty Hrozen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.