We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, tiny room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Klarov

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Klarov to your Saves list
Hotel Klarov
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   U zelezne lavky 567/12, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great location, tiny room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

This hotel has a great location - right on the river, between Prague Castle and the downtown area. Our ground-floor room was extremely tiny and had pretty much no view of anything - not what we were expecting for the price. The hotel staff was really helpful in recommending restaurants and a walking tour, though, and the breakfast was decent enough.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    75
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
35
152
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I stayed in hotel with my collegue and we were both exited by so beautiful view on Prague castle from our room window. Even room was very big, much bigger then I am used to get in standart rate.

I appreciated also parking for my car and very central location, few steps to Metro and very nice for walk in the evening to relax after busy day.

I missed complimentary water in the room !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

I think the hotel must be rather new, as it has very good standard and everything is very neat and clean. Nicely and practically furnished room and friendly staff, close to metro station.
What I could wish to improve is to increase number of TV channels (other languages) and make bigger choice of snacks in minibar.
Summary: excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed a week at The Prague Castle Hotel. Beautiful location within walking distance of the Charles River Bridge and adjacent to both the tram and the Metro. A good breakfast, a helpful desk. and a well appointed room. The only drawback was a bathtub difficult to use if you are older.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Dates of Visit: I stayed with my extended family for two nights in mid-September.
Location: The hotel is located in a great part of Prague, in the "Lesser Town". We were a 5 minute walk from the Charles Bridge, right on the river, with a view of the river and the Castle. The hotel is right in the city so there is typical street noise if you leave the windows wide open.
Accommodations: I specifically asked for rooms facing the Castle and the staff graciously accommodated my request. Looking out our rooms at night we had a beautiful view of the illuminated Castle. Keep in mind this is an old building which has been retrofitted with a small lift, which stops in between floors. This means you must walk up a set of stairs to reach reception, and either up or down a flight of stairs to reach your room level, and down a spiral staircase to the breakfast room. I traveled with my 80 year old father and elderly relatives and they had no problem with this. The spacious rooms had 12 foot ceilings, comfortable beds, great bathrooms. No air conditioning but we did not need any during our stay.
Breakfast: We were happy with the breakfast buffet in the basement level of the hotel. It included a variety of breads, jams, cereals, cheeses, etc. After spending a rainy day walking around Prague, the self service coffee/espresso/hot chocolate machine was available for use free of charge.
Restaurant Options: There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are 3 or more in the same block as the hotel. We ate at the Italian/Pizza restaurant two doors down from the restaurant, and the Czech restaurant located at the corner of the block. The food at both were excellent and the food very reasonably priced.
Staff: The staff spoke excellent English and were interested in helping in any way possible.
Parking: There is on street parking directly in front of the hotel for a fee. However, please note that during our two night stay, the City of Prague decided to do a mandatory street cleaning of that block (on a Sunday, in the rain, no less) which meant we had to move our car or it would be towed. The hotel staff only learned about it that morning, and informed us just before we were heading out for sight seeing for the day. We ended up moving our car to a public parking area but an unfortunate guest did not get the message and had their Audi towed away! The staff was very distressed at the situation but appeared to be powerless to prevent it. It was not their fault and they tried to help but I suggest checking with the staff before leaving each day and after returning to make sure your car is ok where it is.
Overall: I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zakopane
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Hi we did arrive to this hotel after 21 hours by car from UK. First parking outsite hotel 20Euros per night but on the pavement outside no security...this we knew. we menage to park in friendly hotel neear by and luckly we get last free space. next we got back and asked for restaurant- no restaurant. all near by restaurants were closed by then. only in the city center u coudl find open restaurants after 10pm. next we asked for room service-no room service. yes true we didnt check this before we arrive but we did assume that 4stars hotel shoudl have room service u cant even have cup of tea if u want one. . there was option to order take away food delivered to hotel....great !!! we waited 90 min for food to arrived and all was cold, i did menage to ask for forks and knives, and when nearly in tears the receptionist told me that ( with such a inconvienience face) that there is a microwave i can use. so we eat at 00.30. great. internet wasnt working many times. only location of the hotel is great !! nothing else. next time we want be staying there !!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Excellent hotel great location close to all the sights of prague.
Breath taking view from the hotel hotel is close to metro and tram.
Very good breakfast and spacious room.
Staff very friendly and helpful would highly recommend to anyone.
Would stay here again the next time i visit prague:)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Klarov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klarov

Address: U zelezne lavky 567/12, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Klarov 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Neoclassicism building from the 18th century in the heart of Prague. 26 romantic rooms in the UNESCO protected area under Prague Castle with high ceilings and views of Prague Castle, the Vltava river and the gardens of the Government. Klarov hotel enjoys a unique location in Mala Strana, 2 minutes walk from the castle steps, which will bring you to the Prague Castle. In 10 minutes of walking distance you will reach the Charles Bridge Museum and in 15 minutes Franz Kafka museum. Old Town Square is also located about 10 minutes walk. Hotel Klarov is located 100 meters from the metro Malostranska, which will take you in 5 minutes to the Wenceslas Square. Mala Strana offers romantic walks in the small tiny streets with many galleries, cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Klarov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Klarov, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.