We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place..would stay here again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Klarov

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Klarov to your Saves list
Hotel Klarov
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   U zelezne lavky 567/12, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place..would stay here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Loved our stay here! The staff was very helpful and even offered us their umbrellas during our stay because of the rain. The breakfast spread is a great start to your day! It is a 10 minute walk to the Old Town Square and about 20 minutes from Charles Bridge- very conveniently located. It takes about 45 minutes from the hotel to the airport by the tram and bus which was very convenient. We would not recommend taking the 23 euro taxi that the hotel offers as it was a complete rip off and the taxis in the main town would be about 10-12 euros cheaper. We however did not have a choice as the sub stations were closed due to the floods the day we arrived. We stayed on the 4th floor, and had a great view of the river and the bridge!The beds were 2 beds joined together and were not very comfortable as they were at different levels. I would stay here again as it was a hotel with great service, value for money and centrally located.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klarov, Manager at Hotel Klarov, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear VBK-26,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. It is so exciting for us to get to know our guests more personally, learn preferences and keep them coming back. Please feel free to contact me directly next time you stay if there is anything else we can do to make your stay more comfortable.

Best regards from Prague,
Alena Dandarova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    75
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
35
152
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were very impressed with this place, the location is perfect. It's just across the bridge from old town, a very short walk. There is a subway station across the road and it's also quiet at night being slightly set back off the main road. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable, we stayed on the bottom floor and was very quiet. The breakfast was good with a very good range for a small breakfast area. Will definitely be back here and helped make the Prague experience so good!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday with my fiancée, fourth time in prague and absolutely loved the hotel, location and quality! Looking forward to returning! Very greatful for the room upgrade, worth staying in executive suite views are Devine!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Chose the hotel following tripadvisor recommendations and we weren't disappointed. Hotel is well located near to Charles Bridge and the P Castle and only a shortish walk into town. We had a junior suite which was quite large and had superb views of the castle and the river/Charles Bridge if you leaned out of the window. Breakfast was a nice surprise as there was lots of it and plenty of choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful and arranged airport transfers for us. We visited in April and the room temperature was fine but given lack of aircon I imagine it would be a bit uncomfortable in high summer as the sun will stream in all afternoon. The price was very reasonable and we would definitely recommend and hopefully visit again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klarov, Manager at Hotel Klarov, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Mike W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your kind comments. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Alena Dandarova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Prague Castle Hotel ist a good one on the Castle Hill. The rooms of course are not to big because this was a monastery and so they had to deal with the big walls, the windows and all this stuff. But I also like the breakfast and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel Klarov was a very affordable hotel and we were happy that we chose to stay there. It is based on the Castle side of Prague and is only a short (and very pleasant) walk across a bridge to Old town square. The staff were pleasant upon check in and offered us advice on tours around Prague. Our tickets for the Nutcracker ballet were also kept at reception for us which we appreciated.

The room was nicely decorated, modern and for the first time in my life; the mini bar in the room was cheap! It made us laugh that beer was cheaper than water but that seems to be the way in Prague. My other half was very happy about this. I loved the bathroom; it was really big and very clean. I enjoyed using the bath after a freezing cold evening in Prague (-7 degrees)


The tram & underground station is right across the road from the hotel which was very convenient and we used it on a regular basis. It was enough of a distance away to not be noisy - the best of both worlds! You can be whisked away to any landmark within a short space of time. We didn't need any taxis the whole time we were there (not even for the airport!)

For the price, the breakfast is fine. Nothing amazing but we weren't expecting culinary delights anyway. We were happy enough, it kept us full for a morning & there was a good selection of food.

On our last day we wanted to check out & spend our final few hours before the flight at Charles Bridge. The hotel kept our bags for us which made this possible. We appreciated it.

My only complaint: When researching Prague hotels, one of the main selling points on the website is the views from the hotel. If your room is facing front, this is probably true but I was a bit disappointed to open our window & look out onto a building & could see into an office room. "A stunning view from every room" is claimed on the website but this isn't the case for all rooms and the quote isn't true in the case of our room.

Overall, I would stay there again for a trip to Prague & recommend it as a clean, comfy, cosy hotel in an excellent location.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for it. It isn't guaranteed, as the website would make you think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klarov, Manager at Hotel Klarov, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear designlady,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit this great review on Tripadvisor. It makes us happy hearing that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We will be more than happy to welcome you back soon :)

Warm regards,

Alena Dandarova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a room at the front with a view of the castle. The location is so convenient for walking to almost all major attractions. Breakfast room was small, lower ground floor so no view, but provided good variety of fresh food to start the day. Hotel staff very helpful, suggested places to eat and options for tours, concerts and other cultural events.
However, even with the park directly outside it was a bit noisy with trams and normal traffic especially in the mornings. Our room was not air conditioned and we were in Prague during a heat wave, so the fan provided in the room was used every night. We would definitely stay here again when returning to Prague.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Klarov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klarov

Address: U zelezne lavky 567/12, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Klarov 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Neoclassicism building from the 18th century in the heart of Prague. 26 romantic rooms in the UNESCO protected area under Prague Castle with high ceilings and views of Prague Castle, the Vltava river and the gardens of the Government. Klarov hotel enjoys a unique location in Mala Strana, 2 minutes walk from the castle steps, which will bring you to the Prague Castle. In 10 minutes of walking distance you will reach the Charles Bridge Museum and in 15 minutes Franz Kafka museum. Old Town Square is also located about 10 minutes walk. Hotel Klarov is located 100 meters from the metro Malostranska, which will take you in 5 minutes to the Wenceslas Square. Mala Strana offers romantic walks in the small tiny streets with many galleries, cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Klarov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Klarov, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.