We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U Betlemske kaple

U Betlemske kaple
Betlemske Namesti,251/2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
+420 222 221 639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,212 of 4,272 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Came across this restaurant by chance and liked it so much we went back. The food was pretty basic but good and not at all expensive, we had a meal including dessert and a couple of beers and still payed around £14 for both of us. The service was good and the waiter very friendly, I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    57
    18
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Beer Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Very nice restaurant in very central location,
We ordered sausages and potatos and beer.
Good taste and a bit chilly
Friendly service
Very good atmosphere
Reasonable prices for the central part of the capital

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Traditional Czech fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had an evening meal in this pub/restaurant. The food was homely and well prepared. Recommend trying the ubiquitous pork-knee with grated horseradish. Interesting carved wooden wall panelling give this place a rustic feel. Service efficient if not particularly friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Food is good but service is not so good (slow) maybe because of amount of people and only 1 servant (NY holidays).
Wanted to try goulash in bread, but the bread was finished(

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First-rate traditional Czech cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by several guidebooks, as well as in this forum, so I went with high expectations, and I wasn't disappointed - in fact, I went back there to eat the next day. On my first visit I had a traditional Czech dish - pot-roasted beef with a creamy sauce, cranberries, and sliced bread dumplings - topped with a spoonful of whipped cream, and accompanied by a fresh green salad. It was delicious - and with a glass of Pilsner Urquell cost just 213 CZK - excellent value. On my second visit I had cheese and garlic soup (another traditional dish) followed by carp sauteed with garlic, served with potatoes, grated carrot and pickled red cabbage. Once again it was delicious - the fish fresh and sweet and beautifully cooked, and the bill (with a glass of beer and an espresso) just 214 CZK.

The menus here are worth mentioning - easy to read, and each dish is illustrated with a good clear photo. Great for anyone sampling traditional Czech dishes for the first time. Also, as a solo diner I was treated courteously by the waiters and didn't feel rushed - sometimes when a restaurant is as busy as this one was you feel that they can't wait to get rid of you to seat a larger group.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Betlemske kaple also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to U Betlemske kaple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Betlemske kaple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.