We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yans' Residence

Yans' Residence
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yans' Residence to your Saves list
Yans' Residence
Cerna 15, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 550 Specialty Lodging in Prague
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

Great location, felt very secure, check out the electronic lock on the front door, lovely rooms with everything you need. Excellent rates for central prague would highly recommend. We booked a transfer from the airport through the same company and it was a great service, a guy was stood waiting for us with our name displayed when we arrived and he took us to the office to check in, waited for us then took us to our apartment all for £13.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

On arriving from Krakow, we duly arrived at the office to collect our key to be told that the company had decided to change our apartment due to building works going on outside. The apartment that they gave us was 'Cerna'. It is very well situated on the outskirts of the old town. Close to a number of reasonably priced bars and restaurants, and situated on a very quiet street. The apartment itself was very spacious and clean, however, no safety deposit box, iron or ironing board were provided. in our original booking with the company these items were listed. I also noticed on return that we had in fact been given a 3 star apartment although we had actually booked a 4 star apartment. The staff in the office were more functional than helpful and we were only told on check-in that we would have to pay a 5000pln security deposit. We had been given no notice of this and had also had money witheld from our account on point of booking, again with no notice. this money was released on check-in. To recap, Prague, The apartment and the location were all terrific, however Prague City Apartments have alot to learn about communicating clearly with there customers and providing facilities that they have promised.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of facilities that had been listed as available
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed in Studio Apartment 42 at the Residence Cerna in Prague for 9 nights. The studio is ideally equipped for two people and we absolutely loved it! You simply cannot beat the price, location, cleanliness and convenience of this place.

The apartment was extremely clean and a cleaning person came every third night to vacuum, change the sheets & towels, etc. The location was SUPERB - it was in new town, less than a 5 minute walk from the central Narodni Trida metro stop and less than a 10 minute walk from old town. There were also plenty of excellent restaurants and bars nearby, as well as a Tesco department store (and supermarket) at the Narodni Trida stop where we conveniently bought groceries. Despite this central location, the actual apartment is on a VERY quiet side street!

The studio was on the 3rd floor (yes, there's an elevator) and had a comfy queen size bed, a great kitchen (fridge, stovetop, sink, toaster, microwave, plates, bowls, cups, pots, pans, utensils, and more), a washing machine and drying rack (being able to do laundry was a life saver!) and a very nice bathroom. The price was extremely reasonable and the staff at their nearby office were extremely professional. They all speak English, are extremely courteous and work hard to help you in every way they can. We even got free pickup from the train station when we arrived!

In short, this is a top-notch place to stay. The only two (minor) issues we had were that the washing machine was a bit tough to figure out (trial and error does the trick though) and that you have to go through *four* locks (using your key card) to get into the apartment: the front door (with it's high tech whirring robotic lock), a gate before the elevator, a door into the suite that includes our studio and finally the door into our actual studio. We were worried this might indicate that it was not a safe neighborhood, but we found absolutely NO evidence of this and we never felt worried walking there at night (nor did the many other tourists and Czech folks living in the area).

Two thumbs up!

  • Liked — Location, price, convenience
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

Would definitely recommend the accomodation and services here. The apartment was small (the bedroom, kitchen and living area all being in one space), but was fitted out well, was very clean, and had everything we needed, with a good bathroom and kitchen. Security was very impressive, with electronic door locks throughout the apartment block. There was maid service on several days. Generally the apartment was very quiet, with no traffic noise or bars nearby. Occasionally other guests' voices echoed around the stairwells at night, but nothing too disturbing.

It was very well situated in the New Town, and convenient for shopping (Tesco was round the corner), the tube and tram, and for several good bars and restaurants. It was a fairly short walk to Wenceslas Square, and anywhere in the City could be reached easily by public transport.

The service with Prague City Apartments was very smooth, with airport transfers sorted out without fuss, and all staff we came across were friendly and spoke good English.

Someone spending a long time here may find the apartment we stayed in a little claustrophobic, but we had no problems whatsoever and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Liked — Great service all round
  • Disliked — Kitchen and bedroom in same room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kparizek, Marketing executive at Yans' Residence, responded to this review, June 18, 2008
Thank you for the positive review of our residence. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location and that our staff exceeded your service expectations. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjaya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

When I saw in the website that this was a place suitable for children I did not hesitate to book it for my stay in Prague.

It started with a pickup service from the airport to the checkin office and then delivered us to the doorstep of Cerna. Note: the taxi even had ready a child's booster seat for my little girl. I was impressed already to say the least.

We discovered that we were mere walking minutes away from Tesco supermarket, a lovely pastry shop and halal butcher for fresh meat. Best of all it was also a short walking distance from my daughter's apartment (she is currently a 2nd yr student in Charles Univ 1st faculty of medicine). We hardly ever used the tram except to visit Prague castle. Even my 9 year old had no problem walking all the way to Charles Bridge and back.
She especially loved the unique layout of the bedroom of apartment no 11 and has made me promised to book this same apartment next time we visit Prague.

We had cleaners coming in every day with fresh towels. There were times when we felt that the heater was not working properly and even though it was a Sunday, someone was sent over promptly to deal with it and he patiently explained to us the workings of the heating system..(ahem..we from the tropics need our heat above average always)

Our taxi to the airport also arrived promptly as arranged with the ever efficient apartment office staff.

I would gladly return to Prague and stay in this apartment complex again.

  • Liked — location location location
  • Disliked — cant think of any
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

This was the best location and one of the best places I have ever stayed. The service was excellent and the people were friendly and willing to work and accommodate any of my requests. I even asked for extra firewood and they delivered it up to the fourth floor! I would defintely stay and recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a great time and worry free place to stay and relax and enjoy your time in prague.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kparizek, Marketing executive at Yans' Residence, responded to this review, June 18, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Cerna residence. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yans' Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yans' Residence

Address: Cerna 15, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 550 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Cerna is located in centre, close to the waterfront and to Prague main boulevard Vaclavske Namesti. It offers accommodation in 11 very spacious and comfortably equipped apartments of several sizes: from studios to two-bedrooms. Two apartments on the top floor are penthouses. Besides usual hotel services we also provide transfer from the airport and at each apartment you can enjoy fast internet connection - both for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Yans' Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yans' Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.