We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & good menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Colore

Cafe Colore
Palackeho 740/1, Prague, Czech Republic
+420 222 518 816
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 4,247 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Bakery, Central European, Continental, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food & good menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Nice setting with a good menu. We had 4 kids with us ranging from 10 to 15 and all liked it and wanted to go again.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    145
    24
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant in the Center of Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It is a very nice restaurant, with nice interior decoration and air conditioning. The menu is original and interesting. The only thing I did not like too much was the tomato soup. It was too sweet for me. But maybe the Czech people like it this way.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattens, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Be Careful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We passed by the Cafe, found it nice and sat down on a streetside table. We ordered 2 glasses of Rose wine. The wine list had only one choice, at CZK 40,- per glass. When we asked for the bill it was for 220,-. The explanation was that the waitress had brought a different wine, which was only listed inside of the Cafe. A short discussion remained unfruitful. Staff did not see any point that in case of a choice the waitress should ask the customer about the options, especially if there is a substantial price difference. We paid the bill and left, even with our drinks unfinished. Situation was wasted.

We do not mind the price ,if informed properly and ahead. The way our order was taken and the situation handled makes me feel that they are out to take tourists on a ride.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeColoreCZ, Owner at Cafe Colore, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
first I would like to thank you for yor visit to the Café Colore. Honestly I am disappointed about your review as there is a fundamental misunderstanding. You are right that we have only one rosé wine in the wine list which is placed on the tables outside. There is a basic measure of 1dcl for all wines by the glass. It is because of the fact that guests order mostly 2 dcl (similar to 1/4 in Austria) but also 0,5l etc. Price of 1 dcl rosé wine listed in the menu is Kč 40 and 1 dcl of wine you have got is Kč 55 which is not really a substantial difference in my oppinion. Your invoice showing Kč 220,- was for 2 glasses per 2 dcl so we can not compare price for 1 dcl of basic house wine and total amount for 2 glasses. There is also a manager on duty all the time at the café so we could solve your complain on the spot. In additon to this I would like to stress that we have many other different special offers inside of the café, not only wines but meals, cakes etc. Last not least, we have many regular local guests, many tourist return to the Colore after their first experience (you can read other revies) as they love to be here with the "locals" and we have no need to cheat or to steal anybody!
Thank you for your understanding and hope you enjoyed the city.
Sincerely Martin Novak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Coffee and Hot Chocolate to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Only visited here several times for coffee and hot chocolate, both were freshly made and excellent.
If I had a local cafe back home serving up as good as at the cafe colore, I was never be away from the place

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent small cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was a great place to have a lunch, we had found them to be top rated on Four Square and it didn't disappoint. Service was great, sometimes three people helping us whenever we needed anything. The food was above average. The coffee was really outstanding. And don't forget desert...was a decadent selection.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Colore also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Colore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Colore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.