We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caruso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caruso to your Saves list
Hotel Caruso
U Milosrdnych 2, Prague 110 00 , Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Hradec Králové, Kralovehradecky Kraj, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheap but average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The price was a bit low for a 4-star hotel , so that's a good thing. Location is excelent, breakfast and stuff were indifferent . The room was in the first floor, it's a pretty old building (so is the interior of the room) , but clean as well.
Requested a double bed , didn't get one though.

So overall , it's an average hotel . Not worth it's 4 stars , but still a cheap one,propably cheaper than 3 stars,considering it's location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    68
    29
    18
    17
See reviews for
21
81
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the old town, so everything is within walking distance, but it is on a quiet street so you are not bothered when you want to rest. The hotel has changed hands and the rooms were renovated and clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I'd recommend it to anyone visiting the city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

please double check payment, hotel double charged our card! Breakfast very simple, not very tastefull. Location is good & quite. room interior simple & not interesting. bathroom is clean.
reception do not know properly the city, still was trying to be nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

we booked this hotel through one of the web-sites, paid for it month in advance, one week before our stay we have been told that the owner has changed and we will have to pay again for this hotel. we wanted to cancel our stay but we were told by the hotel that even if we cancel - full rate will be taken from our account - so we went there.

the hotel was close to city centre and this would be the only one good point to go there

hotel is a 4 star hotel but I would give them only 1 star, the room was dirty, carpets need replacement, no views from the windows, we had room 505 on the last floor and all we could see it was a wall and roof of the church

bathroom sink was blocked and to drain water we had to wait good 5 minutes, shower was a disaster – for 4 days I could not wash my hair as water was going on the walls rather the person who was taking the shower, water was dripping – not good water pressure

we didn’t have breakfast in the hotel as I read bad review on trip advisor before, hotel didn’t look friendly – there are plenty of good bars around – including Irish pub just behind the corner ;-))

one morning cleaning lady just entered our room without knocking – and we were still in bed!

the other day after all day walking around Prague we came back to our room and noticed the door has not been locked by cleaning lady so everyone could enter our room and take whatever was inside - nightmare

at the checkout we were asked by receptionist to pay again for this hotel, they were other people checking out at the same time – all of us refused and we showed them our bank transfers that we already paid for this hotel already

I can see other comments and plenty of people complained as they had to pay twice for the same room - which for me was one big fraud

Room Tip: the heighest floor possible as this hotel is surrounded by other buildings so at the last floor at l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had originally come to Prague for a day trip, then decided at last minute to stay the night. Tried a couple of hotels by the river and they were full, then found this one, and they did have a room. Attractive building from outside, and close to the old town, so we thought we were lucky. Price (70 euro one night inc. breakfast) seems fair for "walk up" rate, it may be cheaper booked online. Room was quite big, but let down by very old carpet with several stains, and the furniture was a bit dated, however the bed was very comfortable. There was a flat screen tv, but very small. Bathroom was reasonably big. The street was quiet apart from one or two inconsiderate tourist groups making a lot of noise. Breakfast (in basement) was average quality. Overall, not a bad place, but if some more renovation was done, it could be really nice. ps. for car parking, you can park in the spaces marked by white lines (NOT in the blue lined area) free until 8am, then you have to pay 1.20 Euro per hour (the meters also take euros)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The location of the hotel is great, right in the middle of everything and very easy to get to. The hotel was clean and comfortable although a little warm and the air conditioning didn't work. We were on the 5th floor so we left our windows open at all times. Breakfast was included, it mainly consisted of cakes, some cereal and buns. There was also a choice of scrambled eggs and sausages which didn't look very appealing. There's no restaurant and only a small bar next to reception which we used on one of the nights. Overall good for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Our room was too hot, no air con. Infested with black beatles, flushed about 30 of them down the toilet. Wifi didnt really work in the room, had to go to the lobby. Bathroom was missing the venting just a dirty black hole in the ceiling. On the positive side the location is great but that's all that's positive. Rude clerks at the check in. I can go on and on. If location is all you care about then by all means stay there. I wont again. Will try to upload pictures.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caruso

Address: U Milosrdnych 2, Prague 110 00 , Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: In an ideal location for visiting Prague in absolute comfort in the heart of the Jewish Quarter 30 m away . from the Spanish Synagogue, 3 minutes walk from Namesti Starometke, 100 m. from Via Pariska, famous for its beautiful art nouveau buildings and the shops of the most prestigious brands in the world, housed in a liberty building of 1908, the Hotel Caruso, with new Italian management, offers elegant interiors and well furnished, rooms equipped with every comfort, minibar, safes, free Wi-Fi, flat screen satellite TV, direct dial telephone.The breakfast buffet, including delicious sweets mostly home-cooked, with cheese andItalian salami and Czech, salads and fruit, definitely represents the added value of the hotel.The bar offers an excellent espresso coffee ,a wide range of cocktails and Italian wines.A fine restaurant with excellent Italian cuisine is located in the cellar , where it is possible to book half-board with fixed menu or a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.