We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga 1885

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praga 1885 to your Saves list
Hotel Praga 1885
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plzenska 29, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #293 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Long story short:
It was a pleasant stay, both times - with nice and cozy rooms, helpful staff and tasty breakfast. I recommend this hotel for a nice weekends or even for a longer stay.

Full version:
This was our second visit of this hotel. Both times we used discount packages bought through one of the discount portals. At first we chose the hotel because of its location (1min walk from event we wanted to attend) but this year we had to change the date of our visit, so we were there just to see the city. Location is quite good and hotel decorations are really exclusive. Rooms are regular sized with nice bathroom.

Staff was nice, especially one of the reception clerk who had the patience to deal with stressed girl who managed to shut her safe without setting the open code - yeah, me. She even made clear to me, that it happens quite often and I don't need to be stressed about it. Also, on both our visits we came quite late in the evening (23:00-24:00) and they had no problem dealing with check-in at that time.

We also had breakfast buffet and although it was quite the same both days of both visits, there was nice selection of cold sweet and regular meals for breakfast as well as some hot breakfast options. All nice and tasty.

Bonus tip: Not very far away from the hotel (nice short walk) is a Zlaty Klas pub/restaurant which offered some nice and tasty meals for nice price. Be warned - it might get pretty overcrowded in the evenings. Also, be sure to visit Zoo in Prague, which is really really big (so keep in mind to have enough time for the visit).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    42
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
44
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed there for only 1 night with a group of friends. We traveled to Prague by bus and it was near the bus station. Clean, quiet and a very good location. We took the bus and the metro to the center. The breakfast was excellent- we actually did not anything until late afternoon. One cool thing was the tram that passed nearby and we could hear the noise late at night. Would go again if I visit Prague

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Good location, but the room need some renovation done. We were there for only one night do to a surgery, so overall if you are not spending to much time in the hotel it is a ok hotel to stay at. The ibis would be a better choice

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here on business and got in on a Saturday evening. The hotel is very nice, clean, comfortable. Breakfast is buffet style and very adequate. The restaurant is not open on weekends for lunch or dinner, but there is a small mini mart store right next to it and a restaurant. Also the shopping mall is just 5 minutes away.
VERY friendly staff. Very helpful, they try very hard, speak English and German. There is free WIFI in the room as well as TV with Russian, German, English and Czech channels.
I would come back and can recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel is a bit more than I usually needed, pretending to be luxury hotel. As for me (I am not that luxury traveller, I must admit!) it is nice place to stay, well-connected to the old city. Good sleep quality and tasty breakfast, friendly staff. The only minus is an absence of dedicated parking place, however, I was lucky to find a parking slot in time (and didn't drove anywhere until we left Prague).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Praga 1885 2 nights and i was totally satisfied. The room was really nice and clean, people were friendly and mostly smiling, breakfast was fresh and tasty. The hotel was far from the center of Prague and we had to use the car at any case. Nevertheless, we could find parking places relatively easy near the Hotel. The only negative aspekt was that smoking wasn t really forbidden, at least not at the reception area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been accommodated in this hotel several times as returning guests and have always been satisfied until recently. What happened the last time was the following: Despite the fact that we had booked our room well in advance (on 18 July, 2013) in order to gain a reasonable price in peak season - which was one month before our arrival, on the day of our arrival we were informed that "due to technical issues our room was overbooked as one of the rooms of a whole group". We were told by the receptionist that they had booked us a room in a "nearby" hotel "of the same or even a bit better quality" - Orea Hotel Pyramida (also 4 * hotel, actually). So they called&paid the taxi for us to get there (one of the positives). Well, we agreed - what else could we have done... However, the quality of the room and the service was not the same what we had originally paid for to have at Praga. Also, the re-booked room in the other hotel was much farther from the city center on foot than Praga. Praga's rating at booking is higher than Pyramida's, which I knew from the start. It should have been Hotel Praga's first duty to inform us about the circumstances BEFORE our arrival, especially as our booking was made one month beforehand. We were not offered any discount, only an apology. What we suspect is that they had sold the room in the high season for much higher price and they just got rid of us. The whole experience shook our trust in Hotel Praga 1885 and we will have to look for other alternatives.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praga 1885? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga 1885

Address: Plzenska 29, Prague, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 1885 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Praga 1885 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga 1885, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.