We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definately go again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga 1885

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praga 1885 to your Saves list
Hotel Praga 1885
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plzenska 560/29 | Prague 5, Prague 15000, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I would definately go again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Praga 1885 2 nights and i was totally satisfied. The room was really nice and clean, people were friendly and mostly smiling, breakfast was fresh and tasty. The hotel was far from the center of Prague and we had to use the car at any case. Nevertheless, we could find parking places relatively easy near the Hotel. The only negative aspekt was that smoking wasn t really forbidden, at least not at the reception area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
49
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulyanovsk, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited this hotel this august with my girlfriend. We both really like it. However there was one main disadvantage, there is no air conditioner so if you close the window it will be hot and if not you will listen trams and cars but we lived with view on a littke street so we didn't really hear the noise from the main street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Plus
Short distance to the metro
Some good restaurants around (see tripadvisor list of hotels)
The best bed we had on our three week holliday
Nice continental breakfast

Min
No airco (with 30plus degrees thats no tnice)
Since we had no airco we opened the window but that meant streetnoise ++++

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were lucky and got a free upgrade as all the standard rooms were booked, so had a superior room. It was very clean, we liked the decor and there was a balcony. The trams going past were loud and some people in the night were noisy going past the hotel, but I slept fine with my earplugs on. Bed was very comfy. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine but the heat wave in Prague at the time of our visit was a bit problematic, a lot of the things on the breakfast buffet looked like they had spent too much time in the heat so I ate only a few things. Other than that, the selection was quite okay. Location is good, we liked Smichov "centre" about 5min from the hotel. Metro station there, shopping possibilities (including Tesco for food) and nice restaurants.
All in all, for the price, a great hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the street have a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Four stars do this hotel no justice.

Room is very clean, has Internet, safe deposit box, mini bar, TV (which you probably would never turn on, but nevertheless it's there). The staff changes the towels daily.

Room decor is very pleasant, and in the 1885 mood. Breakfast is always delicious, with great variety of food, from cornflakes to eggs with bacon.

Location of the hotel is fantastic, regardless of the fact that it is located in district 5. Andel metro station is nearby, and the tram station which takes you to the city center is only 20 meters away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
364 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

fine hotel about 5 minutes from andel metro station ,and tram stop a 2 mins walk,old world decor which we love service was not very smiley as has been said before except the breakfast lady who was very nice, our room was large very clean and comfy but we were on the front so there was tram noise but with windows shut it was no problem,very nice varied breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

A little distance from the main city sights but it was no hardship for a 5 min walk for either a tram, bus or metro, ticket system very easy to master. The room was clean and comfortable with daily maid service, the buffet breakfast offered a wide choice and the decor inside the hotel was a nice susprise, as a single traveller it offered everything I wanted

Room Tip: I slept at the rear, the front could probably be noisy but what do I know I'm deaf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
D'Angelo Hotel
D'Angelo Hotel
#374 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#259 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Praha 5
Central Hotel Tiepolo
Central Hotel Tiepolo
#300 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 10
Hotel Agricola
Hotel Agricola
#340 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Praha 5
NH Prague City
NH Prague City
#177 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Praha 5
BEST WESTERN Hotel Kinsky Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga 1885? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga 1885

Address: Plzenska 560/29 | Prague 5, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 1885 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Praga 1885 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga 1885, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.