We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi for a landlocked country!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Sushi

Mr. Sushi
Mala Stupartska 645/3, 110 00 | Praha 1-Staré Město, Prague, Czech Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,179 of 4,243 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
North Carolina
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great sushi for a landlocked country!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Recently dined at Mr. Sushi in Prague on New Year's Eve while visiting with friends. The atmosphere was very nice...smooth jazzy music and contemporary decor. Everything we ordered was delicious! We had rolls, sushi, miso soup, and tempura...all excellent! The only small complaint is the service was VERY SLOW, but it was a busy night for them, apparently with take-out orders as the restaurant wasn't busy at all. But, this wasn't a major problem...we were just hungry. :-) Overall, a nice place for Japanese cuisine in Prague!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfort
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“YUM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wonderful Sushi, wonderful service. They offer delivery and to go options, we enjoyed it thoroughly. The only down side is that their prices were quite high. Watch out for the fancy rolls, you could end up paying quite a bit for them!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Qute restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We were couple and orderd the California Roll, Mr. Sushi soup and Giuza.

The food was great but the soup was SUPER HOT. The sushi was absoloutly good and the Giuza was awsome!

We had a great meal for about 670 kcz.

Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“decent food, but rubbish service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Get take out from here, as the service is so offensive, you'll spoil your dinner if you have to sit in and experience it for any length of time.

From the moment we walked in to the moment we paid our bill, the service was really poor - we were ignored more often than not, and the service and delivery of food was very very slow... waiting for simple things like hot water fill up to a pot of green tea took 15+ minutes! I could probably boil some water using angry words in that time...

The restaurant manager (guy) was probably the worst offender - he was totally unhelpful, and at one point actively ignored me repeatedly asking if we could have a table for two. This is beyond incompetent, this is ignorant and offensive. If the owner of Mr Sushi reads this, fire this guy immediately, he is ruining your business.

Food wise, what we had was fairly decent, though several mistakes - overcooked edamame beans, really heavy tempura batter (which kind of defeats the point of tempura), and the sashimi was probably the worst cuts I've had in a sushi restaurant in the last year or so.

The menu was quite good - lots to choose from, and promised plenty. The prices, however, raised my expectations so much so that I was expecting a fine dining level quality with service to match. Niether the food or service reached this level at all, the food could get there with a more refined hand in the kitchen, but I think the service aspect needs a lot of work to change the attitudes.

Quite rudely we were told about tips being separate, and how to pay them several times. Sorry, but you don't get paid extra to treat me like rubbish!

The place itself was nicely decorated though, and it has potential if the front of house staffed are replaced and the kitchen focuses more on execution.

My advice: avoid. There are other sushi places in Prague, in walking distance too. You'll probably have better luck at any of these.

If I had been rating this on food and decor/setting, it would have got a 3.5/5 but the service really spoiled it, so overall it gets a 2/5.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food not so bad, spoiled by service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Walking in to this restaurant, I was impressed by the decor, cool comtemporary Japanese style,clean crisp and a nice big fish tank, but it ended about there.
We stood in the entrance for a few minutes and no one came to us finally a man in a suit came over, we asked to see the menu and were given a take away menu to look at! once we decided that we would eat here we went over to the bar we stood infront of the man (manager maybe?) and he ignored us, the waitress rolled her eyes deciding maybe she should do something and looked up, finally we were shown to a table and left to it, the man in the suit seemed more pre occupied with the other few patrons rather than paying us any attention, the waitress was not that much better, our food came out and I will say at best it was average, the tuna was sinewy and the tempura batter was pretty heavy and would have been more suited to fish and chips than vegetables.

Apart from that the menu is vast and the portion sizes are generous, the Nigiri we had was nice and the rice was soft, the maki rolls we had were good although I picked the batter off this special roll as it was too heavy for the dish, the food is presented well but a bit pricey I think for the quality, I think it tries too hard to be something it is not.

Throughout the meal we felt like we were an inconvieniance and that we were being looked down on. Both me and my partner are frequent travellers and have been to many establishments, rarely feeling how we were made to feel in this place. At the end the waitress was a little demanding for a tip, and we were quite happy not to leave one having felt that one was not deserved, Go here if you want to pay high prices for poor service and average sushi but there are loads more better restaurants in this city!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Sushi also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Mr. Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.