We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; no A/C” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Leon D'Oro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Leon D'Oro to your Saves list
Residence Leon D'Oro
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Havelska 29, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 550 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Sebastopol, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great location; no A/C”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Terrific breakfast and location. We were there when it was very warm and the lack of a/c was a problem. Functional and ok. Not fancy. No concierge and no frills. If you want help planning a trip, getting directions to a museum, getting a recommendation to a restaurant, etc. the staff is hit and miss.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    215
    57
    26
    23
See reviews for
124
143
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed in a triple room. 2 bedrooms, large bathroom and a huge window that had a view of the Astronomical clock and Cathedral!

Clean enough, and so close to everything, it was a breeze to find your way around.

The staff were friendly and helped in any way they could. So polite and efficient.

Very spacious and would definitely recommend to families along with couples!

Very happy with my stay, thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, they certainly listened to all my requests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Leon D'Oro is a comfortable place to stay without being exceptional,the rooms are warm and clean as was the bedding.The bathrooms are functional and there is always plenty of hot water, clean towels were provided every day.There is a kettle,electric rings and a fridge all which worked well,breakfast was over a 3hr period which is ideal for late risers, choice was a little limited but it was perfectly edible.The best things for me were the excellent location of the hotel for sight seeing
and the helpfulness of the staff who went out of their way to help !
I would love to visit the wonderful city of Prague again and would have no qualms about staying at the Leon D'Oro again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henstedt-Ulzburg
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have been to this hotel in January and did not pay more than 45 Euros a night incl. breakfast and Wifi. Parking is 25 Euros / night in an own garage with limited space. The parking prices are similar all over Praha.

The room had a big bath room, own kitchen and double bed. All nice and clean.

I reduced one star since the hotel is VERY difficult to reach by car. Its right at the pedestrain area at the Wenzels place. I would advise to go by taxi from the airport there. A car is not needed in Praha. (Since I was on a business trip I needed one).

I could not enjoy the breakfast since I had to leave very early before breakfast was served.

Finally I would like to recommend this hotel for city visits to Praha. BUT LEAVE YOUR CAR AT HOME!

Room Tip: Ask for room in upper levels; they are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel was aweful in so many ways, dirty room, old smelly furniture with stains and dust, dilapidated bathroom and the shower ran hot and cold, and rude staff. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, but I would never ever stay here again- there are plenty of other good options in Prague.

Room Tip: if you want a good room, choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I've just spent 5 days here and am very happy indeed.
Someone in Reception smokes in that tiny office which is very unpleasant coming and going!!
The room is huge as is the bathroom - the water pressure in the shower is great and constant as is the temperature.
Free wifi in room works consistently well.
Leon D'Oro is fabulously situated - a 2 minute walk to Old City Square where there's many shops, good eateries and the Astronomical Clock. 2 minutes in the other direction is a great market and more shops and then, it's just 5 minutes to the huge Wenceslas Square (which actually isn't a square at all). I didn't use public transport at all!!
Reception is very good (except for the stench of stale cigarettes!!). In particular, the lovely Sasha!! Nothing is too much trouble for Sasha and, if she doesn't know 'the answer', she doesn't stop until she finds out!! Sasha would be an asset to 'the poshest' of
establishments.
You can even bring your dog here - I think it's a Euro a day for the dog.
This would be fabulous for families - the rooms are huge, there's hotplates, a sink and a fridge.
Breakfast is fine - not exceptional from my point of view - I like stewed fruit n muesli myself but absolutely fine.
I'll be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I can't recognize the hotel from the reviews I read here. My room had poor lightning, small window, old furniture, odd bedroom in the middle of the room (no window). The breakfast was very basic, the orange juice had run out both mornings I was there and was not refilled. I definitely wouldn't stay here again, although the location is central.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Leon D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Leon D'Oro

Address: Havelska 29, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 550 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Leon D'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Leon D'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Leon d`Oro Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Leon D'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.