We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good local restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U Semika

U Semika
Vratislavova 36, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic (Praha 2)
+420 221 965 637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 4,199 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Praha 2
London England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A really good local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was a hotel restaurant around the corner from our apartment and feccomended by them. The food was truy delicious and beautifully presented, with the feel of a local place not ravaged by tourism that is apparent in the centre of Prague. The prices are reasonable and I went there twice on my three night stay it was so good. Lots of Chech dishes and trout with buttery potatoes that was so great I had the me thing again. The puddings were also novel and tasty and the beer and wine selection good. I hope it never changes it was memorably first rate.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    42
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good typical czec kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We ate there twice during our city trip to Prague. The food is delicious, typically czec. Duck with red cabbage, goulash, ... we tasted a lot and everything was very good. The atmosphere of the library is very cosy, the service is very good. Highly recommended. Moreover the price is very attractive. 2-courses + wine + coffee = +/- 35 euros for 2 people ...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Typical czec atmosphere, good quality/price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The restaurant is furnished like a library, with bookshelves on the walls, the staff is very friendly, the food typical czech and of excellent quality, the athmosphere very romantic and "old Prague".

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“A nice lunch in the garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had asked at our hotel for somewhere near Vysehrad to have lunch and U Semika was the recommendation. They were cleaning the library area so we ate in the garden area outside. It was probably cooler here than inside. My husband had fried pork, which was a pork schnitzel, with potato salad while I had a vegetarian potatoes with spinach and cheese. With a large beer and a soft drink, our meal came to a little over $17. The food was good and the portions reasonable. Service was a fine. The location was perfect for us to return to the fort for the casements tour.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Romantic, otherwise just average+”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

It used to be the best restaurant under Vyšehrad...until the "U Kroka" restaurant opened about 200m down the street. The restaurant by itself is very nice. In the first room the walls are decorated by books of all kind, that you can read and even exchange, if you leave a book of a same style. The second room is more cosy, romantic, with a fire place (great place in winter!). The food is just good, nothing more. So, If you are staying in the area and want to have a romantic dinner, it is the place to go. Otherwise, walk 200m down the street. (You can have a look on my review on U Korka if you like)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Semika also viewed

 

Been to U Semika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Semika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.